Generic selectors
    Exact Matches
    Search in title
    Search in content
    Post Type Selectors

    Have a Cup of Tea with the Founder of Xin Rong Ji

    Author:Jocelyn Chen

    Preface:

    The last time I visited Xin Rong Ji Taizhou was before the pandemic. I could still recall the beautiful time I spent at the restaurant. New venues have been introduced in the past two years: four sub-brands in three cities in 2020; another four brands in four cities this January. Xin Rong Ji has gradually developed its own universe with its level-headed expansion and true craftsmanship. As a frequent visitor of the restaurant, I trust myself in testifying the sense of satisfaction brought by its delicious seasonal ingredients, consistent performance and warm service.This time I had the chance to interview Mr. Zhang Yong at Xin Rong Ji Linghu in Taizhou. Before I even started, Mr. Zhang had already introduced to me a brand-new world of Xin Rong Ji.To date, Xin Rong Ji has received a total of 12 Michelin stars across its eight locations in Beijing, Shanghai and HongKong. In terms of high-end restaurant groups in a global scale, Xin Rong Ji comes at the fourth place, after the most-starred late chef Joël Robuchon, followed by Alain Ducasse with 17 stars, Pierre Gagnaire with 14 stars, and alongside Martin Berasategui in Spain with 12 stars as well. Without doubt, Xin Rong Ji is a precious gem for Chinese cuisine.Let us now once again unveil how Xin Rong Ji was born.

    Mr. Zhang:We are now in my birth place, Linhai, Taizhou. The first Xin Rong Ji restaurant was opened here in this city on the 1st of October 1995. The place we are now at is in the new town. The first restaurant was in the old town. It was only a few hundred square meters.The reason I opened this restaurant was that I love good food. Back then I couldn’t afford to open a big, beautiful restaurant, so I thought owning a compact one, where I could cook good food for friends and other guests, would also be great.

    Why is it called Xin Rong Ji? I was in Guangdong most of the time, and I saw many restaurant names ending with “Ji” (showing ownership in Chinese). I thought maybe I could use “Yongji” (i.e. the owner’s name), but “Yong” (being brave) is a bit ordinary. “Rong” (meaning thriving) and “Yong” are homophonic in the Taizhou dialect, but “Rong” is more elegant. With the addition of “Xin”, which means new and thriving, we had Xin Rong Ji as the name.

    JocelynSo, it’s been 27 years now?

    Mr. Zhang27 years. We started the business because we really love what we do.

     

    1

    Taizhou – Xin Rong Ji’s Universe

     
    Jocelyn:What are the geographic conditions of Taizhou?

    Mr. Zhang:Taizhou is part of the East China Sea, which is close to Ningbo, Zhoushan, Taizhou and Wenzhou in Zhejiang Province. These are the four major cities along the East China Sea coastline. Then if you go further south from Ningbo, there is the South China Sea, which is next to Fujian. People tend to think that the seafood from the East China Sea is different from the seafood in Guangdong. But why? Does the seafood from the South China Sea taste any better?

    The winding, rugged coastline of the East China Sea, especially the part near Taizhou, harbors a lot of islands where smaller forage fish group is abundantly produced. Bigger seas are home to larger predator fish. The sea here is not as clear as the South China Sea, as you know Hainan Island is very beautiful, right? The sea here is a bit turbid. What determines whether the seafood is good or not? The temperatures, the salinity, and the currents passing by. Seafood from the East China Sea easily die once harvested, but they have very good aftertaste. Many people used to go to Chaozhou to place seafood orders, and now they come to Taizhou.

    Jocelyn:I think so. They have a fresh, clean taste. But it’s quite nuanced.

    Mr. Zhang:When we were selling seafood in Hong Kong, the local people were full of doubts to us, because we were selling dead fish at a higher price than living fish. For example, dead yellow croaker was sold at a higher price than coral grouper and napoleon fish, and many people couldn’t accept that. Then in Hong Kong there is also a local yellow croaker, which they call Huanghuayu, which is very cheap, a few hundred HK dollars a kilo. But the price can vary a lot if the originating sea area is different. Nowadays, Hong Kong diners are willing to pay for the yellow croaker dish when they come to Xin Rong Ji.

    At the end of the day, customers either from Hong Kong or from other places, will come to realize what good stuff is. Especially Hong Kong people, they will eventually accept what you do if what you are selling is good enough.

     The seafood from the East China Sea is dependent on the coastline. But of course, I won’t say only the seafood there is the best. You also have the South China Sea, the Bohai Sea and the Yellow Sea. It’s not that the sea changes everything.

     

    “……we are open to what we

    consider as good.”

     

    Jocelyn:What percentage of Xin Rong Ji’s ingredients are coming from Taizhou?

    Mr. Zhang:At the beginning, it was basically all of them. As we expand, we now source quality ingredients from across China and the world. Initially we mainly used seafood from the East China Sea but now it’s all over the country. Of course, we are still very much focused on Taizhou produce because we know them the best, but there doesn’t have to have geographical boundaries – we are open to what we consider as good.

    For example, we handle very well Yunnan mushrooms and Italian white truffles. Caviar and foie gras are less used. At first, people couldn’t relate white truffles to Chinese food, as they are supposed to be seen in French or Italian cuisine. They thought truffles should have nothing to do with Xin Rong Ji, a Chinese restaurant specializing in seafood dishes. But actually, we did sell it quite well.

    Jocelyn:Next time I should order more truffle dishes here.

    Mr. Zhang:Back then our customers would say something like: “Why go to Xin Rong Ji for white truffles? I should just find a French or Italian restaurant.” The way we interpret white truffles is different from western restaurants, and now customers flock at our door when it’s white truffle season.

    Jocelyn:The Home-style Radish dish goes well with white truffles.

    Mr. Zhang:You were the one who brought up this suggestion to me right? I think it’s you. You said radish and white truffle should be an interesting pair.

    Jocelyn:It’s perfect for fried rice, because in Italy they put white truffles in risotto and eggs. Xin Rong Ji combines rice with eggs and white truffles, so perfect combination.

     

    “This flavour is universally 

    accepted by customers.”

     

    Jocelyn:Many people ask, “What is Taizhou cuisine?” Even the eight major cuisines are not widely acknowledged nowadays, how do you go about telling people what Taizhou cuisine is, what features it has or what strengths it’s got?

    Mr. Zhang:Many used to think that there was no Taizhou cuisine. There were two cuisine types that were most popular in Zhejiang province, one being Hangzhou cuisine, which is the representative of Zhejiang cuisine, another being Wenzhou cuisine, which was also called “western” cuisine because of Wenzhou’s economic prosperity and abundant seafood. There was no Taizhou cuisine at all.

    But is Taizhou cuisine good? It is very good now. Taizhou cuisine has only been around for a relatively short time. It has incorporated elements from elsewhere and formed its own style with limited creation of its own.

    Mr. Zhang:What are its features? The key lies in the ingredients. Backing the mountains and facing the sea, Taizhou has warm summers and cold winters, so the local produce is very distinctive. This is nature’s bestowal, not something you can acquire.

    Second, Taizhou cuisine is mainly rich and umami. This is my own conclusion. Ningbo seafood is salty and umami because it relies heavily on salt. Chaozhou seafood is also salty, but the flavour is enhanced more by fermented sauces like fish sauce, Puning bean paste, sour lime and salted lemon. To be honest, I would think this is a higher level of seasoning than just using salt.

    Taizhou is right in the middle between Ningbo and Chaozhou. Taizhou cuisine is umami and full of rich flavours. The richness here is not referring to the heavy use of oil and soy sauce, but rather a sense of well-rounded, full-bodied lushness. Home style and braising dishes are considered full and rich in Taizhou cuisine. This flavour is universally accepted by customers. For example, we were well received by the locals when Xin Rong Ji opened in Beijing. I’d say ingredients are the secret recipe, but the dishes are flavoursome. Taizhou cuisine does not typically use sauces for seasoning, such as oyster sauce, XO sauce, Chu Hou sauce or seafood sauce; it only uses salt, sugar, monohydrate, ginger, onion, garlic, cooking wine and soy sauce. Pretty simple. Now, you may see oyster sauce in Taizhou cuisine, but there is still very little sauce.

    Jocelyn:Simply put, the original flavour of the ingredients.

    Mr. Zhang:Yes, that’s right.

    Jocelyn: Would you say this is the biggest strength of Taizhou cuisine?

    Mr. Zhang:Rich, umami and pure. You can never get bored by original flavours.

     

    “Everybody orders it,……

    Our customers really love this dish.”

     

    Jocelyn:What are the must-order dishes at Xin Rong Ji? Or do you have your personal picks?
     
    Mr. Zhang:First thing I recommend is anything that has “home style”, which means this dish is going to be rich and umami, such as Braised Yellow Croaker, Home Style or other fish from the East China Sea. Yellow croaker is the best you can get from the East China Sea, kind of like napoleon fish or humpback grouper in Guangdong. Braised Yellow Croaker, Home Style is a must-have for it does not let any additional seasonings hinder the true, original flavours of the fish.
     
    Second is the Crispy Cutlass Fish. The fish itself is critical. Now many three-starred and two-starred Japanese chefs are studying what has made our fried cutlass fish so delicious. In Japan, it is known as tachi-uo (sword fish), and people in Shandong also call it “sword-fish”. We only put some salt to marinate the fish, nothing more, not even flour, and deep fry it directly. The quality of the fish determines the quality of the final product. 

    If you want to venture for something heavier, go for Braised Sea Anemones with Sweet Potato Noodles. Everybody orders it, but after all these years I am still a bit hesitant about it. Our customers really love this dish. Personally, I prefer yellow croaker, although the meat is not as delicate as the fish from the South China Sea. The unique flavour of yellow croaker is the most precious thing about it.

    What’s so great about white truffles? It’s the charming, earthy, pungent aroma. It doesn’t taste any better than potatoes, but strange thing is, if you mix a bowl of rice or noodles with warm yellow croaker sauce, it works even better than abalone sauce.The originality and richness of the flavours is reflected in these three dishes, I think.

    Jocelyn:They are also must-orders for me. Last time I was in Shanghai and I didn’t get to order the crispy cutlass fish as it was already sold out.

    Mr. Zhang:We choose different cutlass fish for different seasons. Cutlass fish is a delicacy that’s given to us by nature. In summer, when we can’t trawl, we go fishing in the sea. Sea cutlass fish is relatively small, about 300g-350g in weight, and it has this scale-less, silky, shiny skin. This kind of cutlass fish is very good.Another kind of cutlass fish, which is also very good, is the kind harvested around the winter solstice. That’s when it’s at its fattest and reaches puberty or maturity.

    Jocelyn:It’s interesting because we can eat good quality cutlass fish during banned commercial fishing periods.

    Mr. Zhang:Cutlass fish is really good during the banned periods because of the sea fishing. It may not be as fatty but the taste is splendid.

    (To be continued…)

    Interivew / Edit:Jocelyn Chen

    Edit:Ivy Zhu

    Photo: Ye Shi

    (Visited 62 times, 1 visits today)
    Read previous post:
    Relishing A Bite of Spring at The Hut|TastyTrip

    Focusing on crafting creative new Huaiyang cuisine, The Hut is known for having insisted on sourcing best quality ingredients and...

    Close

对话新荣记创办人张勇:过去、现在和未来(上)

作者:陈庆华 Jocelyn Chen

前言 :

上次拜访台州新荣记,已是疫情之前,当时的感动记忆犹新。(相关阅读:中国大陆唯一中菜三星,新荣记将中菜推上世界巅峰)随着这两年新店陆续开出,犹记2020新荣记,在三个城市同时开辟不同品牌四店,而今年一月份,也在四座城市再度四店齐开,不断的开辟疆土,新荣记仿佛有了自己的宇宙。这几年新荣记也没有少吃,时令食材一出,总是让人惦记安全感、菜品稳、丰俭宜人。然而,这次到台州新荣记灵湖店访谈荣叔,他却谈起太极拳。当我还在当头棒喝的震撼之中,他已经从起势谈到收势。到目前为止,新荣记在北京、上海、香港三城的八家门店共摘揽十二颗米其林星。以全球高端餐饮集团来看,目前位居世界第四。已故名厨Joël Robuchon旗下餐厅依旧稳占世界第一,其次是Alain Ducasse 17颗星,Pierre Gagnaire 14颗星,新荣记与西班牙Martin Berasategui的12颗星同居世界第四。说是中菜之光的确是毋庸置疑。就让我们重新再一次了解新荣记的诞生是怎么样的过程?

荣叔我们现在就在我的出生地,台州的临海。新荣记第一家店是在95年10月1号创立,就开在临海,现在所在的地方是新区,我们最初是开在老区,那时候是一个几百平方的小排档。为什么开店呢,还是我喜欢美食,那时候也没有能力去开一个很漂亮的大餐厅,所以想有个小店,自己可以吃点美食,或者招待客人,招待朋友的一个地方。

为什么叫新荣记呢?当时我在广东比较多,都看别人是什么记,所以就想叫作勇记。勇就是觉得俗了一点,荣和勇在台州的方言里是一个谐音,荣稍微雅一点,加个新,欣欣向荣的意思,所以新荣两个字就是欣欣向荣的谐音。

Jocelyn所以现在是第27年了吗?

荣叔:第27年了。我们真的是因为喜欢才做餐饮。

 

1.

台州——新荣记的宇宙

 
Jocelyn:如何说明台州的地理环境?
 

荣叔:台州在中国海的海域里面属于东海,东海从我们这里开始,浙江的宁波、舟山、台州、温州。这几个就是东海海岸线里面最明显的四个地方,然后一往东,宁波往下就是南海,连着福建,宁波浙江是连着福建的。那么东海里面大家就会觉得,东海的海鲜为什么跟广东的生猛海鲜不一样,难道南海的生猛海鲜就好一点吗?

东海的海岸线尤其是台州这一块,它的海岸线在地图上蜿蜒的地方岛屿多,容易出小海鲜。一望无际的大海里面就出不了小海鲜,小海鲜生长在岛屿和周边,所以小海鲜好吃点。我们这边的海域水质反而没有南海那么清,比如说海南岛的海水很漂亮,但我们靠近海里面是有点浑浊的。海鲜好不好是由什么决定呢?海水的温度、咸度、水流都决定,而且东海的海鲜都是见光死,一出海就死掉了,但是余味特别足,鲜味特别好。所以很多人去拿潮州的海鲜,每个人都觉得自己家乡好,但现在很多人都跑到台州来拿海鲜。

Jocelyn:我感觉也是这样,吃起来比较干净,形容不了的美味。

荣叔:我们在香港卖海鲜的时候,香港人一直对我们很抗拒,就觉得我们把死鱼卖得比活鱼还贵,说黄鱼是死的却卖的比东星苏眉还贵,他们就很抗拒。然而在香港也有这种黄鱼,他们叫黄花鱼,很便宜,几百块钱一斤,但海域不一样,价格完全不一样。但现在的香港客人觉得来新荣记就应该吃黄鱼。

香港的客人也好,哪里的客人也好,都是懂吃也会吃。尤其香港人,他最终还是认同你的东西。

所以东海的海鲜是海岸线区域来决定。当然我不觉得只有东海是最好的,南海有南海好的东西,渤海有渤海的好的东西,黄海有黄海的东西,不是说一个海域把所有东西都包括了。

 

“新荣记把好食材作为自己的主打,

但现在已经没有边界,什么好用什么。”

 

Jocelyn:很多人都会好奇说:“新荣记这边的食材大部分,来自台州的百分比是多少?”
 

荣叔:刚开始发展的时候,基本上全部以台州的为主。随着往外走,现在我们是全中国,甚至是全世界好的食材都用。我们基本上用的都是东海海鲜,那现在已经是东南西北中都用的。当然我们的主要食材还是来自于台州,对台州的食材我们是最了解的,也会把台州的好食材作为自己的主打,但现在已经没有边界,什么好用什么。

比如云南的菌菇、意大利的白松露现在新荣记用的很好,但是鱼子酱、鹅肝这些我觉得也就一般吧,但我们白松露还是卖的挺好,大家一开始不敢想象,中餐怎么可能用白松露,白松露就是应该是法餐、意大利餐会使用的,跟新荣记做小海鲜没什么关系,但实际上我们真的把白松露卖得挺好。

Jocelyn:下次在新荣记多吃一点。

荣叔我们当时客人也会说:“来新荣记吃什么白松露呢?我应该去法餐、意大利餐去吃啊。我们的演绎方式不一样,现在客人都接受了,反而到了白松露季节的时候他自己会追的。

Jocelyn:你们的家烧萝卜也很搭白松露。

荣叔:上次是你给我建议的,好像是你给我建议是吧,萝卜应该搭白松露。

Jocelyn:炒饭是很合适!因为意大利人本来就是白松露会搭烩饭还有搭蛋,您刚好把米跟蛋结合在一起,然后又放了白松露,所以刚刚好完美组合。

 

“台州的味道叫做浓鲜。

……这种味道,基本上五湖四海的都接受。”

 

Jocelyn:很多人很好奇台州菜是怎么样的菜系,八大菜系有很多人已经不理解了,如何去告诉大家台州菜是什么样的味道?它有什么特征?它的优点在哪里?

荣叔:很多人以前认为没有台州菜。以前在浙江有两个菜系最出名,一个是杭帮菜就是浙菜,浙菜的代表是杭帮菜,杭帮菜产于鱼米之乡。还有温州菜,叫瓯菜。温州经济好,海鲜也很多所以叫瓯菜。但那时候根本没有台州菜。

但是台州菜好吃吗?现在的台州菜好吃。台州没什么菜系,沉淀下来时间很短。所有的菜都是这边学点,那边学点,然后到这里变种,自己创造的沉淀的东西非常少。

荣叔:有什么特点呢?最关键是原料。台州四季分明,它一边是靠海一边靠山,所以它的原材料是非常有特点的。这个是老天赏饭吃,不是说是谁努力出来的。

第二个,台州的味道叫做浓鲜。这个是我自己总结的。宁波也是海鲜,叫咸鲜,它靠盐,用盐特别重。潮州也是叫咸鲜,潮州的咸鲜更多是通过调料发酵,比如说鱼露、普宁豆酱,酸柠、咸柠,通过各种酱料来提它,它不是只有用盐,坦白来说它更高级点。
 
但是台州刚好在中间,它又鲜又没有那么清淡,比较浓,这个浓不是说放在浓油赤酱的上海这种浓。它是味道比较浓,比较厚重。在台州菜里面的话就有家烧、红烧,就是比较浓的,这是在台州的味道。那么这种味道,基本上五湖四海的都接受。比如我们新荣记到了北京,很多北京的客人都接受。还是靠食材来作为主打,但味道会偏浓厚一点。台州菜里面是没有调料的,就是酱料。我们说以前台州菜最早的时候是什么蚝油、XO酱、柱侯酱、海鲜酱都没有,它就是盐、糖、味精、姜、葱、蒜、酒和酱油,它很简单,在台州的大排档里面你找不到酱。现在随着大家的发展后会用点蚝油,但还是很少有酱。
 
Jocelyn:简而言之就吃食材的本味吧。
 
荣叔:对,就原味了!
 
Jocelyn:所以这是您认为这是台州菜最大的优点吗?
 
荣叔:浓鲜,再加四个字,原汁原味。只有原汁原味的东西永远吃不腻。

“我自己吃这么多年不太喜欢吃了,……

但不给客人上这道菜,客人还要骂。”

Jocelyn:有没有哪几道来新荣记一定要吃的菜,或是您自己特别喜欢的菜?
 
荣叔:第一,在新荣记的家烧一定得吃,家烧就代表浓鲜,比如家烧黄鱼。家烧所有东海的鱼,代表东海的,大黄鱼是最好的,相当于广东的苏眉、老鼠斑。家烧黄鱼一定是要吃的,它能代表原汁原味和浓鲜,里面没有加任何的调料。

第二个,就是黄金脆带鱼:炸带鱼,它靠的就是原料。现在很多日本的大厨,三星两星大厨,在研究我们的炸带鱼是怎么回事。日本带鱼叫银刀,或者叫太刀。我们就叫带鱼,在山东这边就叫刀鱼。我们没有任何的调料,就放了盐来腌制,控制时间点,直接炸,没有拍任何粉,加任何东西。带鱼本质决定了最后黄金脆带鱼的品质。

那么再浓点的,比如像新荣记做的沙蒜烧豆面。每一个客人都来吃,我自己吃这么多年不太喜欢吃了,你让我吃沙蒜烧豆面我可能有点抗拒,但不给客人上这道菜,客人还要骂。客人三不五时就会想吃黄鱼,它虽然细腻程度没有南海的好,黄鱼独一无二的这种香味是它最珍贵的一点。

白松露好在什么地方?就是它迷人的香味,怪怪的。口味跟土豆比,还没土豆好呢!但是你用黄鱼汁来拌一碗饭或者下一碗面,比鲍汁还好。

原汁原味和浓鲜,应该就是这三道菜就能体现出来吧。

Jocelyn:这些也是我必点的。上次在上海,黄金脆带鱼没点上,我去的时候常常都卖完了。

荣叔:我们不同季节选的带鱼不一样。带鱼是老天赏给我们,恩赐给我们的美食吧。夏天禁渔期的时候我们不能捕鱼了,我们是用海钓,海钓的那个吊带,小小的,大概一条带鱼六七两,海钓钓起来它的表面很漂亮,锃亮锃亮的跟不锈钢板一样,这个带鱼非常好。

另外一种带鱼是在冬至前后的带鱼特别好。那时候刚好是它最肥美的时候,一种是青春期的,一种是成熟期的。

Jocelyn:很奇妙。反而禁渔期的时候,我们会吃到品质很好的带鱼。

荣叔:禁渔期一定要吃带鱼是因为海钓,它可能油脂没那么香,但口感特别好。

 

-采访下篇待续-

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
marketing
文章: 884

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:清酒“十四代”藏主逝世;2022亚洲50最佳酒吧颁奖4/28曼谷举办

清酒“十四代”藏主高木辰五郎逝世;202...

关闭