A Jewel in the Sand: Three-starred Restaurant Uliassi

It might be a bit of a cliché, but the story started when a boy fell in love with a girl.

“I started working as a cook when I was seventeen and that was a lot of years ago. Before doing catering school, I did a technical school. But this school was not suitable for me, also because to find a girl was like finding a needle in a haystack. I was very young with my hormones totally out of control. When I went to catering school, it was a great party for me, because eighty percent were girls.”

After finishing school and several experiences in high level restaurants, he attended university and had the luck to teach in a catering school to maintain his studies. He decided at that time that he didn’t want to be a professional cook because it was a very hard job and he wanted to continue studying.

“But in the summer of 1983, I fell in love with a girl and when she asked me to cook for her birthday party and for her friends, I cooked with the greatest passion. I cooked, like in the movie Babette’s Feast and for the first time I discovered how wonderful it was to see the pleasure and happiness of others.” Cooking for her birthday party reignited his passion for cooking.   

 

 

Three-starred restaurant on a resort beach

After ten years of teaching in catering school, Mauro Uliassi opened the Uliassi restaurant in 1990 with his sister Catia, and his son later became the restaurant’s maitre. Family remains the foundation of the business. For thirty years, the restaurant has sat on the beach front of Senigallia, a charming seaside resort on Italy’s Adriatic coast. He believes that only in this beautiful place he could develop his career as a chef. Hidden away in an unassuming white wooden structure by the sea, Uliassi welcomes guests with its contemporary interior design and decorative artworks hinting to changing seasons. It is both a restaurant and a gallery where you can have a stunning view of the white, sandy velvet beach just outside. 

Catia Uliassi, sister of Mauro Uliassi

 

The restaurant soon becomes an authentic gourmet restaurant. “Meeting the great masters of Spanish cuisine Ferran Adrià and Martin Berasategui was another turning point in my career”, he says. He is now fully committed to refined cuisine dedicated to the no-frills, uncompromising enhancement of flavours.

With his eponymously named Ristorante Uliassi, Mauro Uliassi became the tenth chef in Italy to be crowned with three Michelin stars by the 2019 Michelin Guide Italy (there are currently 11 three-starred restaurants in Italy).  , including ranking at 52 on the World’s 50 Best Restaurant list in 2021 and shooting to No.12 on the list with its first-ever entry this year. Three years of Covid did not become an obstacle, instead he has been riding rocket to success.

 

Surf meets turf

 

I had heard a lot of good reviews about Uliassi, but I usually wouldn’t praise too highly when it comes to tourist-packed beachfront restaurants. As a result, Uliassi completely broke those stereotypes and the food was way beyond my expectation.

Although the restaurant is just a few steps from the Adriatic port, proximity to the coast is not necessarily a guarantee of top-quality seafood. Uliassi’s ability to source the best produce from its suppliers should in no way be ignored – it excels in not just seafood, but also game dishes.

Mauro’s cooking is incredibly sophisticated, but he keeps his dishes looking clean, vibrant, and impeccable like the velvet beach outside the window. We ordered the newly crafted Lab menu which places more emphasis on smell this year.

The first course was a crunchy tart with cuttlefish ink, cold sea urchin, tangerine and safflower. The natural sweetness and creaminess of the sea urchin complemented the refreshing tangerine while each stood out distinctively on its own.

Served with green tomato, pollen and dried black olives, the raw cuttlefish had a crisp and tender mouthfeel like sushi, soft but at the same time chewy. Black olives can taste strong and are not easy to use in cooking, but the green tomato balanced its impact and the picturesque plate was visually pleasing.

 

 

The red shrimp dish was a beauty as well. Uliassi is celebrated for its outstanding treatment of shrimp brains. The dish was further composed of orange peel, cinnamon and ginger, placed against a persimmon-hued, twig-patterned background made of rich, umami sauce.

The smoked eel was coupled with apricot, bay leaf and horseradish that opened the nostrils to the breezy scents in a memory of Japanese mustard. The snails were fried to perfectly crispy on the outside and plump inside, harmonised with deep-fried friggitello pepper, oregano, and puffed herbs.

 

 
Land products such as feather game and other meats of rare virtue like rabbits and snails can be found here, a typical element of the gastronomic tradition of the Marches on the east coast. It is unusual to serve game dishes in a seafood restaurant, “but it’s a local tradition as the fishermen of the Adriatic coast hunt as a sideline”. The seared wood pigeon from the mains featured perfect tenderness and a hint of tobacco. No matter it’s seafood or game, Uliassi is always on the lookout for innovation and perfection.
 
 
At Uliassi, ingredients are fresh, finely flavoured and thoughtfully chosen. Compared to some Michelin restaurants in Italy, whose dishes tend to be more French-inspired, Mauro’s cuisine is very much Italian, cutting edge in his own way, and always with his character. The portions are well designed as well – moderation is an attitude and that’s what hearty dishes offered by many three-star restaurants in Europe and America fail to achieve. The meticulous cooking, the picturesque presentation, and a not-so-full stomach at the end of the meal, all contribute to this unforgettable encounter.
 
Lab menu – not a real lab but the spirit of research
In addition to the menu Classico and the menu Caccia, the popular Lab menu has also attracted many gourmets. The restaurant only open nine months a year (closed from 27th of December till the end of march next year). In the three months when the restaurant is closed, they travel for a month, searching for best flavours around the world, before return to the Lab (a creative R&D effort) where the entire team gathers to come up with new, exciting ideas – a discussion process Mauro calls “brain sailing”.
During “brain sailing”, the team would spend eight or nine hours a day reflecting upon past experiences and throwing out new ideas. “In February, we are back to the kitchen.Our brain sailing (we are on the beach so there is wind) takes about 40 days and it is a beautiful period because in this time we discover and we live just what creativity means.”

 

The results from discussion would be tasted and evaluated by the Uliassi family before they become the new Lab menu for the year. When people ask him whether his dishes are traditional or innovative, he says that there is no difference between them, because innovation is tradition that renews. “The food that we cook is modern, because we use the latest techniques but at the same time it is food that comes from the knowledge of tradition.”

As a latecomer to three-starred Michelin restaurants in the Italian culinary scene, Mauro is very positive about the future. “Food and love are the foundations of life without which you could not live. I cook to give pleasure, and I like seeing the ecstasy in the eyes of my guests, and with ecstasy you have the possibility to create a unique and magical moment.” Perhaps it is the power of love that lights up the road to this beach restaurant. For tourists it is a great stopover in the journey, but for me it’s a treasure of surprise that I fell in love at first sight. Uliassi is a place I’ll always want to return to.      

 

Mauro Uliassi and Jocelyn
 

-END-

 

Article/Photo:Jocelyn 华姐

Cover:maurouliassi_instagram

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 159

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Pietro Zito and His Ancient Flavours

There are places you pass by and places you stop for, and Pietro Zito's Antichi Sapori is certainly the latter....

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】世界50最高新进榜餐厅 意大利三星Uliassi

故事是这样开始的……有一点老套 , 当一个男孩爱上女孩。

“我十七岁开始做厨师,那是很多年前的事了。在到餐饮学校前,待过技术学校,但不适合我。找一个女孩,就像大海捞针一样。当时我很年轻,荷尔蒙完全失控,餐饮学校对我来说是一个很棒的选择,因为百分之八十是女孩。”

Uliassi他在自述里这么说。在完成学业后,他上了大学,同时在餐饮学校任教,以维持学业。当时他决定不想当专业厨师,那是一份很辛苦的工作,他想继续学习。

“但83年夏天,我爱上了一个女孩,为她的生日聚会做菜时,我用最大的热情做菜。就像在电影《Babette’s Feast》一样,我第一次发现看到别人的快乐和幸福是多么美妙 。”为她制作生日大餐而重拾对料理的激情。

 

 

观光海滩上的三星餐厅

 

主厨Mauro Uliassi在餐饮学校任教10年后,1990年与妹妹Catia合开Uliassi,伫立这片沙滩上已30个年头,在意大利东部紧邻亚得里亚海一个小镇Senigallia,儿子也在餐厅担任经理,家人是餐厅的根基。他说只有在这美丽的地方,才能发展他的厨师生涯。即使隐身在海边白色建筑群中,外观不起眼,但内部别有洞天,白色主色调中依照季节变化有不同的艺术品点缀,是餐厅同时也是一个展厅,座位上可以望见游人与一片细白的天鹅绒沙滩。

 

主厨Mauro Uliassi的妹妹Catia Uliassi

 

Uliassi很快就变成了美食家们专程拜访的餐厅。“我与西班牙大师级主厨Ferran Adrià和Martin Berasategui的相遇是我职业生涯的另一个转折点”,他说道。他目前致力于简洁、不妥协的风味来提升美食的精致度。

随着《2019米其林意大利指南》出炉,凭借同名餐厅Ristorante Uliassi,他成为意大利第十位被加冕米其林三星的主厨(目前意大利三星餐厅为11家)。30年来餐厅也从传统上不断进化,19年摘下三星,21 年世界 50 榜单排名第 52,今年首次进入世界50便一举前进到第12名。也就是说疫情这三年来反而是他人生的大转折,犹如坐火箭一般。‍

 

海鲜与野味的共存

 

听到许多Uliassi的佳评,但我对观光海滩餐厅期待并不高,但拜访后确实颠覆我的刻板印象,料理上也远超过我对海边餐厅的想象。

首先是选材,虽然餐厅临海,得以仰仗亚得里亚海港口直送最好的海鲜,但事实上海鲜质量仍视海域而定,临海并非取得顶级海鲜的保证,最终质量仍仰赖餐厅的采购能力,而Uliassi这方面功力非常杰出。令人惊讶的是不只海鲜,野味也拿手。

在调味上也非常精细、不重口,摆盘色彩多彩多姿,但适度、干净,如同窗外那丝绒沙滩一般无瑕。我们点的是Il Lab菜单,这份菜单是Uliassi每年的新作,今年更重视气味。

 

 

第一道菜是含有墨鱼汁的脆塔,内有海胆、橘子、蕃红花,海胆鲜甜、橘子与蕃红花风味清新,每个味道都各自独立。让海胆的鲜甜、与柑橘的清香在舌尖上交融。

接下来是墨鱼,搭配青西红柿、花粉、干黑橄榄,墨鱼口感宛如寿司脆糯,软嫩中带有爽脆与弹性,而黑橄榄味道强烈不容易运用,配上青西红柿如减轻了重量,视觉上也有如一幅画作。

 

 

红虾料理也是一个美字形容,Uliassi著称于虾脑的处理,搭配橙皮、肉桂、姜,酱汁如树枝图腾一般。

他的烟燻鳗鱼搭配杏桃以及辣根,如日本烤鳗鱼搭芥末一样有解腻作用。炸蜗牛处理的干净,外脆内饱满,搭配酥脆的炸甜椒以及牛至与香草,平衡而协调。

 

 

“野味”扎根于东岸马尔凯大区Marche的传统,在Uliassi菜品里也令人惊艳 ,野禽、野兔、蜗牛皆可入馔。海鲜餐厅中出现“野味”很不寻常。“但这是本地传统,亚得里亚海岸的渔民以狩猎为副业。”主菜菸草燻烤的鸽肉熟度完美软嫩。Uliassi一路推陈创新、追求完美,不论是海鲜还是野禽,都能料理出新奇的意趣。

 

Uliassi的菜入口新鲜、调味精细、选材高明,相比有些意大利米其林餐厅偏向法餐,他的菜依旧是明显的意大利风格,看得见创新,思路大胆,不妥协与众不同。此外菜单份量刚刚好,节制也是一种态度,但在欧美多数三星餐厅做不到这点。烹饪手法细致,摆盘如画,用餐之后仍有余裕留给回忆,是一场意外的收获。

 

Lab菜单—并非实际的实验室而是其实验的精神

 

除了经典il Classico和野味la Caccia两套菜,广受好评的il Lab套菜也勾起不少饕客的兴趣。每年餐厅休业三个月(12月27日到隔年3月底开放) ,从旅行中寻找创意泉源,教师经历让他埋首学习与实验而举办Lab(研发计划),其中一个月周游世界、品尝各地餐馆,另外两个月则与团队讨论,Uliassi称之为“brain sailing”。

在“brain sailing”的过程里,Uliassi与团队每天闭门讨论八到九个小时,从经历中提炼新想法。“二月份我们关在厨房里,反思所有的经历。我们的大脑航行(在海滩上有风所以是航行)大约需要40天”, 他认为这是一段美好的时光,来发现创造力的意义。

 

 

成品由Uliassi家人品评后,编成新一年的il Lab套餐。当人们询问他的菜品是传统还是创新时,他认为没有区别,因为创新是更新的传统 ,烹制的食物使用了最新技术,而食物来自传统知识。

作为意大利三星餐厅的后进者,Uliassi很积极,他说,“食物和爱是生活的基础,没有它们就无法生存。我喜欢做菜是为了给人带来快乐,在客人的眼中看到狂喜,创造一个独特而神奇的时刻。”或许是爱的力量太过强大,点亮了这座海滩小屋。对游人而言这里是一个很好的暂留点,对我而言则如一场意外惊喜,一旦遇见就很难忘,Uliassi是我会想回访的地方。

 

Mauro Uliassi和Jocelyn

 

-END-

 

文字/图片:Jocelyn 华姐

封面:maurouliassi_instagram

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 159

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
【Jocelyn专栏】让荒芜大地回春的意大利灵魂料理 Pietro Zito和他的古早味

有些地方是路过的,有些地方你为他而停留,...

关闭