Classic trattorias near Milan that are worth a stop

In Italy, apart from Michelin-starred restaurants, there are also old-fashioned yet popular restaurants that locals love to visit, though they are no less difficult to get a table. Centered around Milan, we drove to a number of “hard-to-book” trattorias in the surrounding towns and ran into many delicious encounters. 

Trattoria Ostreria Fratelli Pavesi

The location is about 20 minutes from the center of Piacenza. Walking through the gravel entrance (preferably with flat shoes) you will be greeted by the famous Ostreria Fratelli Pavesi (Three Pavesi Brothers).

Overlooking a 20-century large courtyard typical of the Bassa Padana area, the building that houses the restaurant used to be a rural cooperative. The concept is simple: classic dishes, deceptively simple but in fact very refined with great emphasis to seasonality.

The name of the restaurant (a play on the word “osteria”) refers to the Italian word for three (“tre”) brothers who share the work in the kitchen and front of house.

The Pavesi brothers run the restaurant with their respective talents: Giacomo speaks good English and has spent some time in Taiwan and Japan, and he knows about hospitality, wine and humour; Pepe is in charge of the kitchen and Camillo is responsible for the commercialisation of the restaurant’s products such as canned pickled vegetables.

Pavesi三兄弟@giacomo.pavesi1984_instagram

Giacomo’s study in local Coppa Piacentina ham is worth mentioning. You can also find a variety of handmade pasta dishes, such as spaghetti with venison sauce, or rabbit ravioli with veal breast and Madeira wine sauce, so rich and delicious that it’s hard to decide which one to order. It would be nice if you can come with four or five people.

Coppa Piacentina/Rabbit Ravioli

Here is a recipe that has almost disappeared from Piacenza: la bomba di riso col piccione (pigeon rice bomb), which is a real rarity. Perhaps it is the combination of morel, pigeon and red onion that gave it the texture of a rice cake. (Risotto is fried or slow roasted until the outside crunches between the jaws like crispy rice.)

Giacomo has a wonderfulwine cellar. In addition to being a Burgundy fan, he stores a wide variety of interesting wines from Italy and France, some also at affordable prices.

La Bomba Di Riso Col Piccione

It was difficult to choose a main course—we finally decided to order the grilled sturgeon with seasonal vegetables. Italy is well known for caviar production, although it’s not the most sought-after place of origin. The local sturgeon was firm and plump: outstanding for the pairing vegetables and mushrooms and concentration of flavour. Initially I was worried if the sturgeon would be fishy, but it was surprisingly exquisite and umami.

Giacomo joked that we could have lunch until 7 in the evening. We left at around 5pm and drove back to Milan in an hour. To be honest, if the weather had been cooler, staying until 7pm would have been pretty easy.

Trattoria Ai Due Platani

Located just 20 minutes from the center of Parma, Ai Due Platani serves one of the best traditional cuisine of the Emilia Romagna region. The historic and welcoming décor and a local cuisine based on the territory are the characteristics that have always distinguished Ai Due Platani.

Ai Due Platani’s philosophy is evident in its freshly made pasta, cured meats from small artisan producers, dishes prepared in an authentic way, and a well-thought-out wine list. In addition to fresh and stuffed pasta, recipes based on farmyard meat and game are also translated with high standards.

Tortelli

In Italy, every city has its own pasta dish. In Coloreto, you can taste the famous tortelli dei Due Platani, which has been on the menu since 2005, and a dish almost everyone who sits down at the restaurant would wait in line to order.

Starting with a variety of salumi served with hot gnocco fritto (puffed, golden, diamond-shaped fried dough), which is meltingly good as the dialogue between fat and thin sublimated into irresistible pleasure. Next up was the unforgettable tortelli with summer cherry and ricotta or the traditional tortelli with herbs, with a thin wrapping and a generous, well-balanced filling. Green handmade spaghetti with guinea fowl stew and chanterelles was al dente and aromatic. The quail risotto was a wonderful combination of gravy and rice. The main course was no less impressive, succulent roast pork shoulder was coupled with apples, baby potatoes and sweet and sour brandy sauce. If you’re a pasta lover like me, consider sharing the main course may be a good idea.

Salumi with Gnocco Fritto/
the Tortelli with Cherry and Ricotta/
the Quail Risotto/Roast Pork Shoulder

Ai Due Platani is undoubtedly one of the best kitchens in the area; the food is of superb quality, including the finale of the meal— homemade gelato creamed with an authentic “Carpigiani” from 1964, caramelised hazelnuts and other spirits from Alba, served from a trolley by the gelato chef. The only problem is that it is always full, especially for dinner, so you need to book weeks in advance.

“Carpigiani”

Ai Due Platani is a place that has a vocation for hospitality in its DNA; and we are talking about the first half of the last century—it offered refreshment and shelter in times of war. The Trattoria ai Due Platani, born with the name Belvedere in the 1920s, took its current name in 1935 when the then owner Carlo Schianchi planted these two wonderful plane trees in front of the restaurant to celebrate the birth of his son. Different names took over the management after him.

Since November 2005, Giancarlo Tavani, Gianpietro Stancari and Mattia Serventi carry on the history of the restaurant. Feeling the deep-rooted urge to protect the history and techniques, they believe it is their greatest responsibility to preserve the tradition of the restaurant as one of the landmarks in the Parma region. The dishes speak for themselves and, without doubt, speak of the heritage they have carried with them all along.

the author and Ai Due Platani’s owners

Ostreria Fratelli Pavesi

Address:SS45, 8, 29027 Gariga, Podenzano PC, Italy

Telephone : 39-0523-524077

Ai Due Platani

Address:Strada Budellungo, 104/a, 43123, Coloreto PR, Italy

Telephone : 39-0521-645626

-END-

Article/Photo:Jocelyn 华姐

Cover:ostreriafratellipavesi_instagram

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 176

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
In Search of the Best Pizza in the World – Pepe in Grani

There is no pizza like Franco Pepe's. Nowadays everywhere is accessible, but the best pizza in the world still gets...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】米兰周边城市 哪些人生值得的传统馆子

在意大利除了米其林星级餐厅之外,本地人更喜爱拜访的传统小馆子,美味不在话下,然而预定困难程度不亚于星级餐厅,我们以米兰为中心,开车拜访几家周边城市的“预定困难”小馆,遇见许多惊人的美味。

Trattoria Ostreria Fratelli Pavesi

距离Piacenza市中心大约二十分钟距离,走过土壤地(最好穿平底鞋)来到远近驰名的Ostreria Fratelli Pavesi(Pavesi三兄弟餐馆),是一位难求的餐厅。

俯瞰Bassa Padana地区典型的二十世纪的大庭院,过去是一个类似农会(合作社)的建筑物。餐厅理念很简单:经典菜肴,貌似粗犷但实际上非常细致,尊重时令。

这家餐厅的名称(对”osteria”一词的演绎)指的是在厨房和屋前分担工作三兄弟的意大利文“三”(”tre”)押韵。

经营餐厅的Pavesi三兄弟一样:Giacomo说得一口好英文,还在台湾以及日本待过一小段时间,是个标志人物。他深黯待客之道,懂酒,幽默风趣,而Pepe是主厨,Camillo负责餐厅的产品商品化,例如腌制蔬菜罐头。

Pavesi三兄弟@giacomo.pavesi1984_instagram

Giacomo对本地特产的Copp火腿的研究就值得一提:Coppa piacentina。各种手工意大利面,例如用鹿肉酱意大利面,或兔肉饺搭配小牛胸腺以及马德拉酒酱汁,既浓郁又美味,很难决定要点哪一道菜,如果能够四五个人一起来,品尝来会更尽兴。

Coppa Piacentina/兔肉饺

这里还有一个几乎在Piacenza消失的食谱:鸽子米炸弹(la bomba di riso col piccione),真正少见。也许是羊肚菌与鸽肉以及红葱头的错觉尽然有米糕的错觉。(Risotto用油煎或是慢烤的方式,大饭团外皮象是锅巴一般。) 

Giacomo有个奇妙的酒窖,除了他是勃艮第迷,也能在此以实惠的价格挑选到意大利或是法国一些相对有意思的酒。

鸽子米炸弹La Bomba Di Riso Col Piccion

主菜很难选择,我们点了烤鲟龙鱼配时令蔬菜。意大利也产鱼子酱,虽然不是名列前茅,本地鲟龙鱼胶质饱满,搭配的菌菇以及蔬菜都极为出彩,远本担心鲟龙鱼腥气重,但品尝来意外的细致鲜甜。

原本Giacomo打趣说午餐可以吃到晚上七点,最后我们大约五点离开,驱车一小时回到米兰。说真的,如果天气更凉快,到晚上七点绝对不是难事。

Trattoria Ai Due Platani

Ai Due Platani餐厅距离帕尔马(Parma)中心仅有20分钟路程,供应Emilia Romagna大区的传统美食。历史悠久而温馨的装饰和以本地优质食材为基础的美食是Ai Due Platani的特色。

Ai Due Platani理念很容易概括:新鲜制作的意大利面、特选腌肉、以传统而地道的方式处理的菜肴、精心设计的葡萄酒单。除了新鲜的意大利面饺、以农家肉类和野味为基础的菜肴亦是高水平演绎。

意大利面饺

在意大利,每个城市都有属于自己的意大利面。在Coloreto,可以品尝到著名的tortelli dei Due Platani,自2005年以来就一直在菜单上,几乎所有来餐厅的人都会排队等候。

一开始的各类火腿腊肉Salumi搭配热呼呼的Gnocco fritto(蓬松酥软的中空方形炸面团),火腿脂肪瞬间融化,满口咸香。接下来是令人难忘夏日的樱桃Ricotta饺或是传统Ricotta香草饺(Tortelli),面皮薄,馅料如此均衡饱满。绿色手工意大利面条配珍珠鸡炖肉和鸡油菌,充满嚼劲又香气逼人。意大利烩饭配鹌鹑,肉汁与米粒搭配无间又美妙。主菜也不遑多让,烤猪肩肉配苹果、小土豆和白兰地酱,酱汁酸甜和谐,烤猪肩肉丰腴多汁。如果你跟我一样是Pasta热爱者,可以考虑主菜分享。

Salumi配Gnocco Fritto/樱桃Ricotta饺/
意大利烩饭配鹌鹑/烤猪肩肉

Ai Due Platani无庸置疑是当地最好的厨房之一,菜肴都达到了极好的水平,而压轴大戏非常壮观,是由冰淇淋师傅配上手推车仪式,1964 年的地道的自制”Carpigiani”香草冰淇淋,搭配来自阿尔巴的焦糖榛果或其他烈酒。唯一的问题是他们总是客满,尤其是晚餐必须提前几周预订。

“Carpigiani”香草冰淇淋

Ai Due Platani的DNA中以“热情好客”为使命;我们谈论的是上个世纪上叶在战争时期提供了茶点和避难所。Ai Due Platani于1920年代以Belvedere命名开店,1935年更名为现在的名字,当时的老板在餐厅前种植了这两种奇妙的植物来庆祝他儿子的诞生,中间经手过不同的老板。

自2005年11月由现任老板Giancarlo Tavani、Gianpietro Stancari和Mattia Serventi开始经营。感受到源自悠久历史的责任,他们表示把保护Parma地标之一的餐厅传统视为最大的责任。在每道菜里可以看到传统的体现,无一不让人感动。

作者和Ai Due Platani餐厅主理人

Ostreria Fratelli Pavesi

地址:SS45, 8, 29027 Gariga, Podenzano PC, Italy

电话 : 39-0523-524077

Ai Due Platani

地址:Strada Budellungo, 104/a, 43123, Coloreto PR, Italy

️电话 : 39-0521-645626

-END-

文字/图片:Jocelyn 华姐

封面:ostreriafratellipavesi_instagram

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 159

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:丹麦Noma快闪活动延期;首届多伦多米其林指南于9月发布

丹麦Noma快闪活动延期;首届多伦多米其...

关闭