Interview with Cantonese Cuisine Master Max Wo of Silks House Taipei

Cantonese cuisine emphasizes techniques and there is no standard procedure. It usually takes years of hard work for a chef majoring Cantonese cuisine to master the essence of it. Chef Max Wo, a celebrated graduate from the famous fine dining spot Lei Garden in Hong Kong with over thirty years of culinary experience, has welcomed renowned chefs both from Taiwan and from other countries at Silks House in Taipei since he took the helm from 2019. It has not picked up a Michelin star yet but it is my No. 1 Cantonese cuisine restaurant in Taipei.

Before he came to Taipei, he held important positions in Hong Kong’s Lei Garden Group, Singapore’s and Thailand’s Crystal Jade, Macao’s Sand Macao, and many more places. In 2013, he led XIANG TAO at Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Osaka, Japan to earn one Michelin star. His culinary journey around the world has allowed him to utilize Cantonese cuisine’s cooking techniques to demonstrate the characteristics of ingredients from all around the world.

Pastry Chef

Chef Wo has shown great talents at a young age. When he was a teenager, he learned pastry making working part-time at Maxim’s Caterers in Hong Kong. In two years, he became familiar with almost all kinds of pastry production methods and was regarded as one of the youngest and most promising talents within the company. On top of training with Maxim’s top pastry chefs in various fields, he was in charge of producing Maxim’s major festive product – Mid-Autumn mooncakes – every year. Later on he switched from pastry to Cantonese cuisine and was introduced by a friend to Lei Garden.

J-ping Wang Chef Owner of Solo Pasta/Author/Max Wo the Chinese cuisine Head Chef of Silks House

Focusing on classic Cantonese dishes, Lei Garden has been a breeding ground for some of the world’s most celebrated Chinese chefs, earning itself nicknames including the “West Point” of Cantonese cuisine for its harsh style in the kitchen – hard work that rivals military training at times. Recalling the three years training there, Chef Wo describes Lei Garden as a place that “crashes your ego before teaching you how to cook”. He jokes about his feelings towards Lei Garden as being “on the edge of love and hate”, but admits that if he hadn’t loved it, he wouldn’t be who he is today. It seems hard work does pay off.

World Traveller

The rigorous training at Lei Garden has ensured chefs are graduated with solid knowledge of Cantonese cuisine. After leaving Lei Garden, Chef Wo worked as a sous chef at Crystal Jade in Singapore, before being relocated to the Bangkok branch as the head chef. But it was in Japan that Wo received his first Michelin star.

Chef Wo recalled how he succeeded in the interview with the Ritz-Carlton Osaka. When the General Manager of the hotel questioned him about the kitchen sanitation of Chinese restaurants, he mentioned a blue signal light in his kitchen that serves to remind staff to wash their hands every 30 minutes. It was the ability to observe the surroundings during a busy schedule that finally got the nod from the General Manager of Ritz-Carlton.

Deep-fried Shrimp on Toast with Sweer and Sour Dressing

Chinese cuisine has a focus on stir-frying and heat control, thus requiring a lot of preparation before getting down to the wok. Unlike Western cooking which usually has exact recipes and standard procedures, a Chinese kitchen can hardly compete in terms of cleanliness and tidiness. For example, a Chinese kitchen would have a team dedicated only to preparing ingredients, and the chef would stack bamboo baskets loaded with ingredients on top of each other to save space in the wok area, simply because there are so many ingredients to manage at the same time. It may look messy but there is order amidst chaos. This is the world of Chinese cuisine, sometimes serving a dozen courses all together and sometimes giving you a menu with a hundred dishes. For Japanese chefs who are usually meticulous about cleanliness in the kitchen, this is something they find “exotic”, even incomprehensible.Chef Wo received a star in just five months after arriving at the Ritz-Carlton Osaka. Later, he went to Sands Cotai Central in Macau and was invited to Taipei in 2016. Like many Hong Kong chefs, he talked about how much he loves the warmth and hospitality of Taiwan people.

A Great Chef Must First Be a Great Person

We talked about an accident he dealt with in Hong Kong, and I was impressed by his ability to solve problems in emergency. One year when he returned to open a restaurant in Hong Kong, the big boss had a falling out with the then head chef and fired him the day before the opening. As a result, the head chef left but taking with him most of the kitchen staff. Chef Wo stood up and called for help from his former colleagues in Lei Garden and other friends. The restaurant successfully opened the next day. A great chef must first be a great person, said Chef Wo.

Six years in Taiwan has seen Chef Wo become increasingly familiar with the characteristics of local ingredients. At Silks House, soups are made with natural spring water sourced from the Jinmian Mountain of Yilan County in Northeastern Taiwan, so that the slightly sweet and pristine taste of the spring water can accentuate and harness the best of the ingredients.

Limitations of Local Produce

Chef Wo understands the inherent limitations of local ingredients. Due to restrictions on production and lack of consistent quality, it is difficult to obtain enough local produce to supply a restaurant of this capacity. Although it is trendy to go local on everything, he does incorporate imported ingredients if necessary, according to the same strict standards as he would select local ingredients. I remember once when we were making a reservation, Chef Wo insisted on confirming the catch before finalising the menu the day before the meal.

Steamed Ped Yeast Rice Roll Wrapped with Shrimp and Crispy Pice Paper/Consisting of green choy sum and boneless frog leg
Classic Cantonese Cuisine

Chef Wo aims to provide traditional, pure Cantonese cuisine at Silks House. His personal favourites on the menu are the lavish Xishi Soup Rice, skill-based Deep-fried Chicken, and the iconic Char Siu Pork.

A seasonal specialty was Steamed King Crab with Egg and Shaoxing Wine. Hokkaido king crab was steamed in high-grade Shaoxing yellow wine. An orange-coloured stock made with crab leg and shell was used to steam free-range eggs from Hualien, paired with crab roe steamed again in Huadiao wine to produce a long-lasting aroma.

Steamed King Crab with Egg and Shaoxing Wine

The Signature Crispy King Crab Meat boasted a secret recipe from Lei Garden – a meringue batter that thinly enrobed the crab shell to give it a crunchy surface that locks in the juice without feeling the batter in the mouth. Another dish featured premium fish maw from the Middle East, stewed in chicken and Jinhua ham consommé with dried matsutake mushrooms. Next up was Sautéed Pomfret Fillet with Chinese Mustard Cabbage. Wild Japanese pomfret was enhanced by mustard cabbage from Chaoshan in Guangdong province, local corn shoots and water chestnuts from Zhanghua on the west coast of Taiwan, to add texture and complexity.

Signature Crispy King Crab Meat/Double-boiled Fish Maw, Chinese Cabbage & Matsutake with Chicken Consommé/Sautéed Pomfret Fillet with Chinese Mustard Cabbage

A signature dish on the menu, Xishi Soup Rice presented a stunning soup base made with lobster, mud crab and white prawns simmered for three to four hours to bring out the essential seafood umami. Before serving, dried scallops and king crab meat from Hokkaido, Australian king prawns, Canadian mussels, and seasonal vegetables were added to make the vibrant, dark orange soup even more luscious. When the crispy puffed jasmine rice jumped into the bubbling red sea, I felt every pore in my body open up as vital fragrance danced on my nose.

The Deep-fried Radish Pastry also stood out. Sweet and juicy Japanese white radish was peeled and shredded to be filled in a hundred golden layers of paper-thin, crispy pastry crust. Even the bottom was fried to perfect neatness, a must-try at Silks House.

Xishi Soup Rice/Deep-fried Radish Pastry

Cantonese cuisine is so vast and profound that some special cookers alone are captivating. Chef Wo believes that the soul of Cantonese cuisine lies in fresh ingredients, seasonality, and heat control for stir-fried dishes. Chef Wo’s emphasis on drilling and his well-rounded skills reminds me of Chef Tam Kwok Fung of Wing Lei Palace in Macau. Perhaps because of their globetrotting experience, the chefs are amicable and humorous in the dining room, but can be strict and demanding in the kitchen.

A True King Without a Crown

Having been awarded a Michelin star in the highly competitive Japan, Chef Wo must have wanted recognition for his team at Taipei as well. He is a gentleman who loves humour and surfing, a hobby that befits his courageous character.

The restaurant is always packed with diners and has become the top choice of many Michelin-starred chefs in Taipei. In my opinion, Silks House’s quality ingredients and refined cooking should have earned it at least two stars already.

Deep-fried Sesame Ball with Brird’s Nest & Almond Juice/Rice Dumpling with Black Sesame and Ginger

-END-

Author:Jocelyn 华姐

Photo:Peray

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 176

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Staff Shortage is the Biggest Threat For F&B in industry in London (1/2)

The impact of covid on the UK people's life has become trivial as they can continue to live and work...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】对谈台北晶华轩粤菜大厨邬海明:做菜先学做人!

粤菜讲究功夫菜,没有标准流程,作为粤菜厨师需要经年累月的苦熬,才能掌握精髓,呈现传统粤菜本色。而来自香港,出身粤菜黄埔军校之称的香港利苑,累积超过三十年经验的主厨邬海明,2019年主掌台北晶华轩三年来,难以置信的没有摘星,许多中西餐名厨已是座上宾,说是无冕之王,也是我心中台北最佳粤菜餐厅。

来台北之前,邬海明待过香港利苑集团、新加坡及泰国的翡翠餐饮集团、澳门金沙酒店,2013年还曾带领日本大阪丽思卡尔顿酒店的香桃粤菜餐厅获得米其林一星,也是他生平第一次摘星。游走各地的厨艺生涯,让他能透过粤菜的烹调技法,彰显各地食材特色。

西点小当家

邬海明年轻时就展现过人长才,十几岁时在香港美心食品打工做西点,两年下来几乎熟透各种西点制作方式,在内部被视为最年轻且最具潜力的人才,也追随过美心各西点领域的顶尖师傅,每年也担纲制作中秋月饼的重责大任,后来从做西点转向粤菜,经朋友介绍,进入军事化训练出名的香港利苑。

Solo Pasta行政主厨王嘉平/Jocelyn华姐/晶华轩中餐厨艺总监邬海明

香港利苑做的是经典粤菜,要求严格,号称粤菜界的黄埔军校,但也培育许多优秀的粤菜名厨。邬海明在利苑前后待了三年多,他说利苑的军事化训练是先「推倒你的尊严,再教你做事」,他笑称对利苑的感觉是介于「爱与恨的边缘」,也坦言若不爱,也没有今天的他。但听起来可以感受到当时他也是吃足了苦头的!

周游各国

利苑稳扎稳打的严厉训练,让熬出头的厨师每个都练就扎实的老粤菜工艺。离开利苑后,他在新加坡翡翠集团旗下餐厅做副厨,接着被调去曼谷分店做主厨,邬海明第一颗米其林星却是在日本摘下。

到大阪丽思卡尔顿工作前,最后取得面试决胜关键的竟然是一盏每半小时闪烁一次的蓝色灯号。邬海明回忆道,当时丽思卡尔顿总经理质疑他对中餐厅厨房卫生的看法时,他提到餐厅里一盏提醒每半小时要求工作人员洗手的蓝色灯号,他在忙碌的试菜当下还能够观察环境,是获得丽思卡尔顿总经理点头的关键。

怀旧多士虾

中菜本身重快炒,火候,备菜繁多,在卫生先天条件上无法与材料少,烹饪过程多重标准程序的西餐同比。譬如中菜厨房里切菜是一群人负责,在热炒区因为食材太多,厨师会把材料放在竹篓中夹成迭放在旁边,看似凌乱,但其实乱中有序,且中菜一出就是几十道,菜单甚至上百道都有,这就是中菜的世界,对整洁要求一丝不苟的日本人而言,是完全不能理解的事。邬海明到大阪丽思卡尔顿才短短五个月,就在日本摘下一星。后来邬海明转战澳门金沙酒店,2016年又受到邀请来到台北,与许多香港人一样,邬海明很喜欢台人的热情与好客。

做好菜先学做人

我们谈到他过去在香港有个件突发状况,也反应邬海明能急中生智,具备解决难题的能力。有一年新加坡回到香港开店,大老板与当时的主厨交恶,在开幕前一天开除主厨,主厨带走八成厨房员工,当时邬海明找来自己在利苑的前同事、朋友来帮忙,隔日仍然顺利营业,这段时间靠以前同事休假时来帮忙,餐厅也获得好评,这一切都可以感受到江湖豪情,他也提到要做好菜必须先学会做人!

而在台六年多时间,邬海明愈来愈能掌握本地食材的特性,如晶华轩的煲汤取自宜兰头城金面山的地底天然涌泉,水质的纯净甘甜彰显浓缩食材精华的汤头。

本土食材的瓶颈

但他也了解先天限制而不强求,他说本土有好食材,但因为产量限制,缺乏一致性的规格,很难取得大小相同的食材,餐厅的体量,所以,虽然使用本地食材是潮流,但他不在本地食材上坚持,也选用进口食材。他对食材确实很讲究,有一次预订菜单时,主厨为了确认渔获,主厨前一天才决定菜色。

红裳脆皮虾肠粉/玉簪田鸡腿
经典粤菜

邬海明希望晶华轩能呈现传统、纯净的粤菜,而他个人最喜欢晶华轩菜单上的菜色是奢华又美味的西施泡饭、考验师傅功夫与食材要求的炸子鸡,以及粤菜的代表,叉烧。

这个季节的菜色则有花雕玉液鳕场蟹,使用来自北海道的鳕场蟹,以绍兴酒驱螃蟹的寒气,加上花莲来的放牧蛋,以蟹脚蟹壳熬成汤来蒸成橘红色带有蟹味蒸蛋,而蟹卵会使用花雕酒再蒸一次,使其香气持久。

花雕玉液鳕场蟹

油盐焗蟹身也是使用鳕场蟹的蟹身,这道菜采用利苑传承的独门秘技蛋白浆,让外皮薄如蚕翼,口感非常脆,可以锁住汁液,入口不会感觉面浆的存在。另外一道炖花胶是使用胶质丰厚的中东白花胶,以鸡与金华火腿熬煮成汤,搭配干的松茸,极大挥发汤的鲜美。第四道是古法榄菜鲳鱼球,取自野生日本白鲳鱼,使用潮汕的咸榄菜带出鱼鲜,外焦内嫩,搭配台湾玉米笋与彰化盐埔乡荸荠,增加口感层次。

油盐焗蟹身/松茸菜炖花胶/古法榄菜鲳鱼球

晶华轩的红牌西施泡饭,精华来自于它的汤底,主厨使用龙虾、沙公以及白虾一同入锅熬煮3至4小时,让海味尽出,起锅前加入北海道干贝、北海道鳕场蟹肉、澳洲帝皇虾球及加拿大贵妃蚌等顶级食材,再加以季节蔬菜提甜增鲜。精心熬煮后的汤底泛着橘红浓郁色泽,倒入经过酥炸的泰国香米,酥香的炸米碰到滚烫的汤底,纷纷跳起舞来,鲜明的香气扑面而来,太迷人。

而晶华轩的萝卜丝饼也是我心头好,使用中筋面粉揉进猪油做成近百层次的酥皮,萝卜丝使用日本白萝卜,外皮甚至底面都做得非常干净不带油渣,入口汁水饱满甜美,堪称完美,是晶华轩必点菜色。

西施泡饭/萝卜丝饼

在外国人眼中,粤菜博大精深,光是一些特殊炉具,就足以引人入胜,让人啧啧称奇。邬海明认为粤菜的灵魂是食材新鲜与季节性,以及炒菜技法上生熟拿捏的火侯掌控。讲究练功也有真功夫的邬海明,让我想到澳门永利宫的主厨谭国锋,也许因为都是周游列国, 在厨房里像魔鬼,到了食客面前却又谈笑风生。

无冕之王

邬海明即便能够在米其林竞争激烈的日本摘星,却在台北被忽略,肯定会有失落感,聊到希望为同仁争取荣誉,想必是每一位领导厨房的主厨所想做到的。他是个幽默风趣的人,热爱冲浪,或许带着冲浪那勇于征服难关的性格。

晶华轩一直以来座无虚席,甚至成为台北众多米其林星厨心中的首选中餐厅,在我看来,晶华轩至少有二星水平,是我心目中中台北最佳粤菜无误。

燕窝杏汁煎堆仔/姜茶汤圆

-END-

文字:Jocelyn 华姐

图片:Peray

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 176

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:2023成都米其林榜单公布;Reale被评2023最佳意大利餐厅

米其林指南前进马来西亚;美国首位米三星女...

关闭