Generic selectors
    Exact Matches
    Search in title
    Search in content
    Post Type Selectors

    The Return of André Chiang : Sichuan Cuisine in The Palace|TastyTrip

    Author:Jocelyn Chen

    Located at Wynn Palace Macau, Sichuan Moon, with Chef André Chiang as its Culinary Director, has reimagined Sichuan cuisine by fusing local and international ingredients to create a range of home-style and classic dishes. Sichuan Moon was listed in the “Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants” in 2020 and has been awarded two Michelin stars for two consecutive years.

    Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants was holding its awards ceremony at Wynn Palace Macau when Sichuan Moon first opened in 2019, and we visited the restaurant twice, once for a formal dinner and then for a midnight hotpot spree after the awards ceremony. Originally it only invited two tables of guests, but the restaurant ended up being filled with world-famous chefs for what should be one of my most memorable late nights of a lifetime.

    After visiting Restaurant ANDRÉ’s farewell dinner in Singapore, it was already clear that his dishes were a collection of beauty, high complexity, balanced flavours, bold and artistically colourful plating, and compelling, highly finished masterpiece. Perhaps because it was a farewell menu, there were two dozen courses in total, which seemed a bit dominating and yet justifiable – after all, you don’t want your guests to miss out on any of the classic dishes.

    André’s approach to Sichuan cuisine is infused with his own understanding, combined with his experiences in Chengdu and over twenty years in France and Singapore. It’s easy to imagine his uncanny ability to learn and grow. Having known André for a few years now, I have always admired his unlimited creativity. If the sky is the limit, then André’s reinterpretation of Sichuan cuisine has retained its DNA while expressing it in a language that can be understood by the whole world.

     

    Before Sichuan Moon

    It’s been two years since I last visited Macau, and I couldn’t wait to see André as he just got out of a three-week quarantine. When I arrived at the entrance of Sichuan Moon, I was greeted by an elaborately carved golden leather door and a spacious lobby decorated in an elegant beige colour scheme with a custom-made chandelier composed of over 700 Italian Murano glass butterflies.

    I was amazed by the magnificence of the dishes the first time I was introduced to the restaurant’s menu. Although slightly aggressive, the dishes are undeniably delicious and teemed with creativity, especially the aesthetic. Many young chefs look up to André as a role model and hope one day to become a chef like him. But success knows no shortcuts. How many potatoes did André peel in France? How much time did André spend practicing speaking French and English until full fluency?

    As I search my memory there are a few dishes that have left a deep impression for me, such as the King Crab Leg and the Ma Po Tofu. They were completely brand-new experiences but the aesthetics interpreted by Sichuan Moon were almost refreshingly eye-opening

     

    This life

    The menu was actually designed before the pandemic. André thought about what it would be like to eat Sichuan cuisine in a palace, and with this in mind, he convened the entire menu. What’s more, the menu is designed using different colours for each dish to present the flavours in a sensually delightful way, which was also new for André.

    After the previous head chef, Zor Tan, returned to Singapore to start his own business due to the pandemic, Wilson Fam joined Sichuan Moon as Executive Chef. With nearly 20 years of experience and superb culinary skills in interpreting both Chinese and Western cuisines, Chef Fam has his own perspective when it comes to ingredient selection, leading an extraordinary team to perfectly showcase André’s vision. Born and raised in Malaysia, Chef Fam started to cook at the age of 19. He worked as a Junior Chef at the prestigious Raffles Hotel in Singapore, before he came to Macau and met Cantonese cuisine Master Chef Tam Kwok Fung, who had a profound influence on him.Chef Fam has managed various establishments offering Chinese and Western cuisines, creating an open and innovative style with refined and varied cooking techniques. He also worked at the Michelin-starred Yí Macau before Sichuan Moon. André mentioned that Wilson is not afraid of sharing his ideas and is a great partner to work with.

    Left:Executive Chef Wilson Fam  Right:Culinary Director André Chiang

    The long-awaited new menu was kicked off with a luscious, unprecedented whirlwind of starters as one can feel that André is a sturdy pioneer in transforming the way of presenting cold dishes. I have tasted his farewell dinner in Singapore, and a common point with the original menu at Sichuan Moon was the intensive load, which took me five hours each to finish both times.

    But this time, the dishes were more matured and refined, without any sense of showiness or condescension. It’s still dazzling, though. I reckon that André wanted to cut back on the first year’s menu at Sichuan Moon, the same 20-odd courses as the farewell dinner in Singapore. He said it was difficult for him to do so because some dishes may have been presented for the last time at the original restaurant.

     

    The Show of Strength

    The Old Altar Pickles was a glorious array of twelve golden plates lined up in a circle on the table, and as André said, it was like eating in a royal palace. Each plate featured its own distinctive flavour and the ultimate pursuit in detail.

    The 88 Fortune Treasures is a complete revamp of the traditional lacquer box dish in Sichuan cuisine, offering just the right sense of culinary rituals. Self-deconstruction followed by rebirth with endless creative thinking, only André can surpass André.
     
    Each plate comprising the delightful 88 Fortune Treasures was impeccably produced with amuse-bouche standard. Although being appetisers, it would make perfect sense if they were to be served independently as formal courses. André is well aware of the tradition of not leaving the table empty in a Sichuan meal, hence serving them all at once. I could not help but be amazed by all those details.
    Cod Fish with Chillies Paste – American Alaskan cod is cooked at a low temperature of 55 degrees, slathered with a special Sichuan Erjingtiao green chili sauce and garnished with green, red and yellow peppers. This dish is on the spicy side but with the original juicy, tender cod.

    88 Fortune Treasures/Cod Fish with Chillies Paste

    White Bait Flavoured with Yellow Chilli and Soy Bean Sauce – Needlefish is wrapped in fermented soybean sauce and chopped yellow chilli, served with cucumber nori rolls, pickled crosne,turmeric oil, JapaneseGinger flower, and drizzled with bromelain for a spicy and sour sensation. The Yuzu Ice Plant features fresh ice plant and Thai yuzu garnished with jelly made with ice plant and chicken stock. The savoury ice plant is complemented by the sweet yuzu honey and wine, a perfect alternate to refresh your taste buds from the spicy cod.

    While Century Egg with Burnt chillies is a common Sichuan cold dish, here the century egg is completely deconstructed, with the egg white turned into a jelly, the yolk mixed with pickled baby ginger and made into a mousse. Then it’s served with roasted pepper sauce, finely sliced, crunchy cucumber, roasted Erjingtiao red pepper paste and green pepper. This is a dish that overturns your perception on the century egg.

    Chicken foie gras Rolled with Black Truffle Sauce is like a mini French chicken wrap. The chicken breast and deboned thigh are cooked at low temperatures to maintain the tenderness, and then seasoned with chili oil and wrapped with French duck liver, spinach and black truffle, a spicy, fresh and tender result. The next dish is the Milky Yam with Spicy (Mala) Jelly and Bean Curd – Chinese yam is steamed and added with milk to give it a creamy, buttery texture. Homemade chili dried beancurd is produced using a traditional Sichuan Suining recipe that seamlessly blends in with the taste of the Chinese yam.
    The Deep-fried Cordyceps with Truffle is a favourite of André’s – Yunnan cordyceps are deep fried at low temperatures until crispy and crunchy in the mouth. The fish-flavoured lobster roll boasts slow-cooked French blue lobster wrapped with pickled watermelon radish and baby lotus root, a shiningly delicate dish that you can’t take your eyes off.

    Cod Fish with Chillies Paste/ White Bait Flavoured with yellow Chilli and Soy Bean Sauce/ Yuzu Ice Plant / Century Egg with Burnt Chillies/ Chicken foie gras Rolled with Black Truffle Sauce/ Milky Yam with Spicy (Mala) Jelly and Bean Curd / Sweet and Sour Cordycep Flower/ Sweet and Spicy Lobster Roll

    Completed in one go, the eight cold dishes were as fine as amuse bouche, before I was introduced to the first hot dish.

    Truffle with Traditional Chicken Mousse and Consommé is presented with Sichuan traditional chicken mousse placed on top of chicken consommé while beneath white truffle bird’s nest confit. The dish is a new item on the menu and was originally a French culinary sensation called “Memory” created by André in 1997. The main ingredients were foie gras and truffles, the former being replaced by velvety chicken mousse floating in the consommé for a Chinese twist.

    Out of curiosity, I asked André how he did it and he told me it’s a “secret”. “Maybe the consommé is different? The dish was intensely rich with a distinct umami, fatty flavour of the chicken”, I thought to myself.

    Truffle with Traditional Chicken Mousse and Consommé

    André has always had a penchant for truffles, whether black or white, as they always have a place on his menu. This time it was white truffle bird’s nest confit, lavishly layered on the top. Served with freshly shaved French black truffles, it is a sublime Sichuan version of André’s “Memory”, a further step forward with a dense, melt-in-your-mouth texture and a rich, unforgettable aroma that lingers along.

    Eye-opening Creation about Timeline

    The Ma La Lobster Zhong Dumpling was the first to have amazed me.

    André told me the dish was about the timeline. He thought about how it would be like to go back to the moment before the sauces were mixed. So, in the end, right different sauces, deconstructed and sublimated, become vivid colours converging on a silver plate.

    “Ma La” Lobstr “Zhong Dumplings”

    The Zhong Dumpling (named for the family who first made them in Chengdu around 100 years ago) was presented “open-faced”, as though pulled back in time before the sauce was mixed and the dumpling wrapped. Open dumplings are common in both Italian and French cuisine. Underneath the dumpling wrap was an extravagant potion of Japanese lobster sashimi marinated in a spicy sauce, probably the most magnificent version of Zhong dumplings ever. A surprisingly delightful dish with potato soufflé and cold tofu to balance the spiciness. André’s French background serves him well in deconstructing the dish and giving Sichuan cuisine a new look.

    This dish is groundbreaking. The way of thinking will influence the mindset of the younger generation of chefs. Many want to become celebrated chefs such as the Italian chef Massimo Bottura and Grant Achatz of Chicago’s Alinea, who are expert in splashing colors onto their culinary canvas. But most of the time I see experimental, primitive results, which is often undesirable. An example is the overuse of powered ingredients, common nowadays but simply unnecessary. The road to success is not supposed to be easy. André has mentioned the lack of aesthetic training in modern cooking education.

    Secret Recipe-King Crab Leg

    The Secret Recipe King Crab Leg is a dish from the first version of Sichuan Moon’s menu, and a dish with flavours that no one would say no to. Inspired by the Cantonese dish – king crab with garlic and breadcrumbs, the dish blends in Sichuan chili paste and is chargrilled in homemade tuna brisket oil and basil sauce. André says he wanted Sichuan Moon to have dishes that honour local flavours and Sichuan impressions. With a mixture of saltiness, sweetness and spiciness, the firm and juicy crabmeat inside the crispy shell is so naturally elevated with the pairing chilled Tsingtao original beer.

    Perigord Black Truffle Rice Pancake with Salted Egg

    The Périgord Black Truffle Rice Pancake with Salted Egg is a wickedly delicious snack just by looking at the name. Made with Sichuan round glutinous rice and ingredients including Qingchengshan cured meat, Spanish Iberico pork and Japanese matsutake mushrooms, the rice patties are pan-fried until golden brown before smeared with salted egg yolk sauce, and finished with lavish Périgord black truffle shavings, macadamia nuts and sea salt, and brushed with homemade salted duck egg sauce. It’s a combination of all the great flavours you can think of – savoury, sweet, sticky and crispy, and a decadent indulgence to lure you in even when you are just thinking of it.

    Green Peppercorn Flavoured Chicken Soup Noodles with Fish Maw

    One of the strengths of André is that he can transform ordinary food into elegant beauty with lusciousness and attention to detail while retaining the original DNA of the food. Diners would have the sudden revelation: “No wonder!”

    The Ma Po Tofu uses two kinds of homemade tofu: the smoky black tofu and the silky firm tofu to offer different mouthfeel. They are coupled with meaty sea crayfish and a Wagyu beef sauce made with the mouth-numbing Chongqing Jiangjin green peppercorns and the aromatic Hanyuan Dahongpao peppercorns. The tofu is served in a hand-woven bowl made with spiced bay leaves, another detail exuding the sense of royal dining.

    Masterpiece -Ma Po Tofu/Cocktail: Tribute of Paddy

    The final highlight was a rice dish – the Claypot Rice with Crab Roe and Sea Urchin. Boiled broth from Macau’s local virgin crabs, Northeastern Wuchang rice, crispy pork lard and mullet roe are brought together in a copper pot to simmer, and when the rice is cooked, crispy rice, green onions and chives are stirred in as well as a lavish potion of crab roe and Japanese short-spined sea urchin. Even the serving copper vessel of the dish is an import from Kyoto. It’s more of a wicked rice dish that all Asians will love than just a Sichuan local flavour. How could such a combination not be delicious?

    Claypot Rice with Crab Roe and Sea Urchin

    Following on from the rice dish, the first dessert and palate cleanser is the Ice Jelly with Shizuoka Melon Juice, whose predecessor is the Ice Jelly with Glutinous Rice Balls, Sweet Fermented Rice and Lemon. Shizuoka honeydew is poured over the crystal clear ice jelly and served with a special tangerine-flavoured fermented rice. After enjoying the original flavour, the sommelier would pour some Klein Constantia, one of South African’s top-rated sweet wines, to create a balanced finishing touch of soothing sweet and pleasant acidity. The glitter in the ice jelly turned out to be edible gold leaf – André said with a smile, “That’s what eating inside a palace should be like”. I couldn’t think of a more extravagant version of an ice jelly dessert.

    The Reinvented Classic dessert was also delicious, in term of nostalgia and modernity. Inspired by a traditional Sichuan street snack, the Three Big Cannons (sweet rice mochi), the rice mochi is filled with peanuts, black and white sesame and crushed brown sugar, and wrapped in a four-coloured outer skin made from Japanese white kidney bean, soybean flour, spinach juice and dragon fruit juice. Another successful experiment turning an everyday fare into an elegant dessert.

    Sour, Sweet, Bitter, Spicy

     

    How far would you go to master creative dishes?

    Almost every dish on the menu is unusually elaborate, and yet mastered in a refined way with Chinese delicacies and perfectly presented deliciousness. The menu design also takes into account of the order of revealing different flavours. With a much dedicated ambition to gain three Michelin stars, the restaurant currently only caters 20 seats per day.

    Wine Pairing of the day

    Having visited several of André’s restaurants over the years, I have to say that his popularity is by all means veritable. Hard work without talent can put you on the right path, but for some people the combination of the two will make this journey much, much easier.

    Apparently, André’s dishes are exuding his confidence and creativity. He shared that he quite enjoyed the time alone during the three weeks of quarantine, as he feels more relaxed taking things as they came.

    Returning to Sichuan Moon is the beginning of another journey.

    2018 Resturant André ( Pam , author and  André )/ 2022 Sichuan Moon


    (Visited 583 times, 1 visits today)
    Read previous post:
    Ensue X 102 House ‘4 hand dinner’ An Adventurous Culinary Treat

    At the end of last year, I attended a four-hands dinner in Shenzhen teamed up by Chef Miles Pundsack Poe...

    Close

Generic selectors
    精准匹配
    按标题搜寻
    按内容搜寻
    按标题搜寻
    Search in pages

    【Jocelyn专栏】在皇宫里面吃川菜?江振诚重返澳门川江月|TastyTrip

    作者:Jocelyn Chen 陈庆华

    位于澳门永利皇宫的川江月由名厨Andre江振诚担任创意厨艺总监,透过融合四川当地和国际食材,川江月把四川家常风味及经典菜式等重新打造,透过全新的概念,重新演绎川菜。川江月也在2020年度获得“亚洲50最佳餐厅”殊荣,并且连续两年获得米其林两星殊荣。

    2019年川江月开幕时,正值“亚洲50”在澳门永利皇宫举办颁奖典礼,当时我们一共拜访了川江月两趟,一趟是正式晚餐,另一趟是颁奖典礼之后的火锅宵夜,原本只邀请了两桌客人,最后餐厅里满是世界名厨,这应该是毕生最难忘的一顿宵夜了。

    在拜访了新加坡Restaurant Andre的告别晚宴后,当已感受到Andre菜品集合美感、高复杂度,风味平衡而协调,色彩搭配大胆而充满艺术性,是令人折服的高完成度大师之作。也许因为是告别菜单,一共有二十几道,显得理直气壮却又霸道,毕竟不希望客人错过任何一道经典啊!

    Andre对川菜融入了他个人的理解,同时结合了他在成都以及法国和新加坡二十多年的经历。不难想像他异于常人的学习能力及理解力。在认识了Andre几年后,我一直很敬佩他源源不断的创造力。天马行空有不同的解说,经过他重新诠释后的川菜,的确保留了它的DNA,同时又以全世界人都可以理解的语言来表述。

     

    川江月的的前世

    阔别两年再访澳门,有一种恍如隔世之感,也迫不及待地想见到隔离三周后的Andre。一到川江月门口,映入眼帘的是一扇精心雕琢的金色皮制大门,大厅以优雅的米黄色为主调,悬挂了由七百多只义大利穆拉诺玻璃彩蝶组成的定制吊灯,金碧辉煌。

     

    初次品尝川江月的当下,被菜品的华丽所惊艳,虽然略带侵略性,菜品的美味是无庸置疑,创意也一直线上,尤其在美学的部分,许多的年轻厨师把Andre视为榜样,有朝一日希望成为像江振诚那样的厨师。但成功终究是没有捷径,Andre年少时在法国削过多少土豆呢?用多少时间说一口流利的法文跟英文呢?这是多少时间的积累?

    两年前印象深刻的几道菜,例如帝王蟹腿以及麻婆豆腐等,虽然一开始有不同的声音,但川江月所演绎的美学几乎是弥新地烙印在脑中。

     

    今  生

    聊到这次菜单的设计发想,其实菜品在疫情之前已经设计好。Andre想到,如果在皇宫里吃川菜会是什么样?以如此的主轴,去思考去设计整套的菜单。另外更有意思的,在菜单的设计中每一道菜都使用不同的色彩,以视觉化的方式来呈现味道,这也是这一次的全新概念。

    在前一任主厨Zor Tan因疫情返回新加坡创业后,Wilson Fam(范健华)加入“川江月”成为行政总厨。Wilson拥有近二十年的烹饪经验,他以精湛的中西烹调技艺及对食材的独特见解,阐释Andre江振诚的理念。在马来西亚土生土长的Wilson,19岁便踏上学厨之路。初期曾于职新加坡莱佛士酒店(Raffles Hotel)。Wilson于2009年来到澳门,遇上了对他影响至深的粤菜大师 — 谭国锋。Wilson主理过中西各大菜系,风格开放创新,在“川江月”之前,Wilson Fam任职于澳门天颐担任行政主厨。与Andre聊到与新主厨,他说Wilson勇于表达自己的想法,是合作无间的伙伴。

    左:行政总厨范健华(Wilson Fam) 右:创意总监江振诚(Andre Chiang)

    这一次令人期待已久的新菜单出场是极度的华美,冷菜的呈现模式都是开拓者,前无古人那一种。在新加坡restaurant Andre的告别晚宴,跟最初的川江月,两次都花了5个小时才吃完,当下还是颇具压力的。

    但这次在川江月可感受到菜品,更臻成熟化、更内敛,没有那种孔雀过度开屏的媚俗。尽管还是目眩神迷的开场。

     

    先声夺人

    一开场的老坛泡菜使用金灿灿的碟子,十几个盘子以圆环状在桌上依次排开。金光闪闪的华丽登场,如Andre所说,仿佛在皇宫里吃饭。每一碟泡菜都有其不同的味道及在细节上的极致呈现。

     

    而88富贵凉菜更是全新的创新,也是川菜里的攒盒,掌握恰到好处的仪式感。自我破坏之后再重生,做出全新的组合。只有江振诚可以超越江振诚,很难想像他源源不绝的创造力来自于何方?

    赏心悦目88富贵凉菜,每一道都出自烹龙庖凤之手,每一道凉菜都像是在法餐里面的amuse bouche。开胃小点几乎有反客为主的嫌疑,就算是一道一道的上桌也完全合理。但Andre深谙川菜桌上不能空的传统,一次性地上桌。更甚之,所有的细节让人目不暇接。

    剁椒鳕鱼–美国阿拉斯加银鳕鱼低温55度慢煮,抹上一层特制四川二荆条剁椒酱,搭配青红黄三色彩椒作点缀。这道菜辣度偏高,但鳕鱼是嫩度刚好的原味,搭配酱汁过瘾。

     

    剁椒鳕鱼88 /富贵凉菜

    黄金豆酱银针鱼–银针鱼包裹经发酵的黄豆酱及黄金椒剁碎,搭配黄瓜海苔卷、泡椒地牯牛、姜黄油及日本姜花,更加入了凤梨酵素,酸辣开胃。另一道柚子冰菜–凉拌冰菜及泰国柚子,以冰菜和鸡汤制作成果冻衬托。冰菜天然的咸味,配上柚子蜜及酒的甜味,刚好可以与剁椒鳕鱼交替食用解辣。

    在川菜凉菜里常见烧椒口味味型的皮蛋,这里是却又不安分的解构整个皮蛋,将皮蛋皮制作成果冻,皮蛋黄加入泡子姜制作成慕斯,搭配烧椒酱以及青瓜薄片,红色二荆条烧椒茸,绿色彩椒片,完全颠覆了对皮蛋的认知。

    松露鸭肝口水鸡这道菜就像是一道小型的法式鸡肉卷–“口水鸡”的调味方式,鸡肉去骨后选用胸腿肉部分,低温慢煮,保持嫩度及原味,包裹法国鸭肝,菠菜叶起到一个过渡的效果,加入黑松露,麻辣鲜香嫩。接下来的淮山麻辣豆干–先将淮山蒸熟,加入牛奶让口感软绵。遵循传统四川遂宁豆干做法自制麻辣豆干,淮山与辣味达到味觉上的平衡。

    松露虫草花这道菜是Andre很喜爱的小点–低温油炸云南虫草花至酥脆,入口酥脆,让人欲罢不能。另一道鱼香味型的龙虾卷–低温慢煮法国蓝龙虾,爽滑弹牙。将泡椒心里美萝卜和藕带包裹龙虾肉,精致的让人无法移开目光。

    烧椒皮蛋/黄金豆酱银针鱼/柚子冰菜/奶香淮山/松露口水鸡卷/鱼香法国蓝龙/松露虫草花

    八道冷菜一气呵成,至此仿佛品尝了法餐里的八道前菜,紧接着接着进入第一道热菜。

    黑白松露鸡豆花,采用法式清汤熬煮的鸡汤,配上四川的经典鸡豆花,加上油封白松露燕窝。这道菜是全新菜单的经典之作,也是江振诚在1997年创造出来的料理,一道叫做回忆(Memory)的法式料理成名作的川菜版本。“Memory”这道菜主要材料是鹅肝跟松露,在此再度进化并融入了中国的食材料理。相同的原理,它是以鸡豆花来取代鹅肝慕斯,而绵密的鸡豆花悬空在法式清汤之上。

    我好奇地询问Andre是怎么办到的,他告诉我,“是秘密”。“或许清鸡汤的做法不相同?口感非常浓郁带有鲜明的甜美浓郁的鸡香味”,我心里想。

     

    黑白松露鸡豆花

    Andre对松露一直有执念的,无论是黑或白的松露,总是在他的菜单占据一席之地。这次使用油封的白松露加上燕窝,奢侈地铺于其上。上桌时加上现磨法国黑松露,等于是江振诚继“Memory”这道菜之后的四川升华版,工艺又更进一步,口感绵密入口即化,浓郁的香气在口里久久不散,让人难忘。

    关于时间轴的脑洞大开之作

    令一道让我感到惊艳的菜品是麻辣龙虾钟水饺。

    他告诉我这道菜是关于时间轴的。他想到所有的酱汁,回到它混合的前一刻会是怎么样?酱汁中八种不同的酱料,层层解构并重塑升华,没有想到摆在银色的盘子里色彩,是如此鲜明而美丽。

    麻辣龙虾钟水饺

    同时饺子也是,采用开放式饺子,拉到时间轴之前,酱料没有混在一起,而水饺也没有包好?开放式的饺子,无论是义大利或是法国料理都常见。紧接着更奢华的是饺子皮之下配以麻辣酱腌制的日本龙虾刺身,口感爽脆,沾上酱汁非常的过瘾,可能是钟水饺有史以来最华丽的版本吧。搭配土豆舒芙雷以及凉拌豆腐,稍稍平衡辣味,令人惊喜的一道菜。Andre以他法餐背景来做菜品解构,让川菜能够重新以完全不同面貌呈现,带来一番新意。

    这道菜是开创。思考逻辑将会影响新一代厨师的思维。虽然很多厨师想效法无论是义大利名厨Massimo Boturra或者芝加哥的Alinea主厨Grant Achatz做法,挥洒自如的丰沛色彩。但大多时候我看到的“实验品”的色彩搭配,常有肮脏的感觉,这是常犯的大忌。如何化繁为简,现在常见大量干燥食材粉末的运用,是过度了。能够用到恰到好处,看似轻描淡写,实际上并没有想像中容易。Andre也曾经说过,新一代厨师最缺乏的其实是美学的培养。

    秘制香辣帝王蟹

    另一道帝王蟹是川江月的首版菜单中,人类都会喜欢的口味。秘制香辣帝王蟹提炼粤菜避风塘的精髓,融入四川煳辣味型的烹调手法,比起上一版的改变在于搭配了自制金枪鱼腩油及罗勒酱汁碳烤。Andre说希望川江月有象征本地风味的菜肴,所以融合四川内涵和在地广东滋味。咸甜辣椒交错,蟹肉肥美鲜甜多汁而外皮香酥,配上冰镇的青岛啤酒原浆,岂不快意人生。

    黑松露咸蛋糍粑

    而小吃黑松露咸蛋糍粑,听来便觉邪恶,将小吃糍粑重新诠释:以四川的圆糯米以及青城山腊肉、西班牙黑毛猪肉、日本松茸等食材制成的糍粑煎至金黄,再抹上咸蛋黄酱,最后刨黑松露、夏威夷果仁和海盐,并刷上少许自家制风干咸鸭蛋,皮脆心糯。集合了众人所喜欢的口味,咸鲜甜糯又酥脆,最后伴随奢侈的大片法国Perigord黑松露片。回想起繁复又熟悉的风味,做梦也会偷笑。

    藤椒鸡汁花胶面

    Andre的强项之一,能掌握街边美味,将小家碧玉改为大家闺秀。更华美而细致,且没有抹去菜品原来的风味,而是品尝下突然有种领悟“原来如此”。

    麻婆豆腐采用餐厅制作的两种手工豆腐:烟熏味的黑豆腐和浓郁的老豆腐,呈现不同口感;搭配鲜甜肥美的海螯虾,酱汁以日本和牛、重庆江津青花椒及汉源大红袍花椒,两种花椒一麻一香,手工编织的千片月桂叶制成的“千桂碗”包裹麻婆豆腐,过程中飘出阵阵月桂香,又是一种皇家料理的即视感。

    经典麻婆豆腐/鸡尾酒:咏稻

    因为麻婆豆腐搭配米饭最美味的理念,鸡尾酒以米为主题。底酒是五粮液,加入醪糟和米调配鸡尾酒的甜度。底部是洛神花和乌梅做成的啫喱。口感带有新疆乌梅的烟熏味,衬托麻婆豆腐的香气,甜酸的口感中和麻婆豆腐的辣度。

    主食蟹黄海胆衬釜饭简直是最后的重拳,将澳门地道食材奄仔蟹拆壳熬煮的高汤、东北五常大米、猪油渣、乌鱼子等食材放进铜锅中炖煮,开盖后将饭翻拌,并倒入脆米、青葱、香韭,再加入满满的蟹膏搅拌均匀,最后搭配日本赤海胆,蟹黄海胆衬釜饭以京都制造的铜器呈上。说是川菜,不如说是所有亚洲人都会热爱的邪恶釜饭。如此配搭怎可能不好吃?

    蟹黄海胆衬釜饭

    承接着上一道厚重的米饭,接下来第一道甜品冰粉蜜瓜露虽是正式甜品,但同时又能清口。冰粉蜜瓜露的前身是较优雅纯净的三鲜冰粉。将静冈蜜瓜露倒入晶莹剔透的冰粉,配上特制橘皮醪糟增加风味,在享用过原味之后,侍酒师加入南非高分甜白酒“Klein Constantia”。除甜酒外,有了蜜瓜露的微酸度,非常的舒心。在饱满的冰粉里一闪一闪的原来是金箔,Andre笑着说,“在皇宫里面吃就是要这么华丽”。首次体验到冰粉可以极致到这般景象。

    最后甜品小点亦是美味——温古知新,从怀旧到当代。灵感来自四川传统小吃—三大炮,选用花生、黑白芝麻及红糖碎等为馅料,裹入以日本白芸豆、黄豆粉、菠菜汁、火龙果汁等做成的四色外皮,充满烟火气的三大炮成为了一道优雅的小点。

    温古知新

     

    在这个创意挂帅的时代到底到什么程度可以收放自如

    川江月此次菜单,几乎每一道菜都异常的繁复,却又掌握了中式的美味,更内敛,而美味的百分比却是加成的,近乎完美的呈现。菜单设计的味道铺陈也有其逻辑,目前餐厅每天只开放20个位子,直指三星的气势颇明显。

    当日配酒

    这几年来拜访Andre旗下几家餐厅的菜品之后,不得不说他的知名度绝不是浪得虚名。天赋加上的努力,融会贯通,点石成金。

    透过菜品,感觉Andre的自在及放松了,更自由挥洒。即便经历了三周的隔离,他告诉我他很享受这段时间的独处,随遇而安。

    而重返川江月,又是另外一段旅程的开始。

    2018 Resturant André ( Pam , author and  André )/ 2022 Sichuan Moon

    (Visited 169 times, 1 visits today)
    查看上一篇:
    全球餐饮动态:香港限聚令收紧至2人;René Redzepi与007导演合作纪录片|TastyTrip

    香港限聚令收紧至2人;René Redz...

    关闭