Ryohei Hieda Forges Milestone for Ryugin Taipei

On another visit to RyuGin Taipei, what remained the same was the flashback of the iced Jinxuan oolong tea exuding a slightly creamy scent when waiting for the meal.

One thing different was Chef Ryohei Hieda’s approach to his dishes, which was bolder, yielding more individuality and more pronounced Taiwanese flavour.

Entering the ninth year in Taipei since he traveled from Tokyo back in early 2014, Chef Ryohei Hieda is among the first of the new-generation Japanese chefs living in Taiwan. As one of the foreign chefs to have unearthed some of the best ingredients that even locals didn’t know about, Ryohei Hieda has pioneered a brand new perspective where he believes that the quality and variety of vegetables in Taiwan are well suited to Japanese cuisine. Before opening Shoun RyuGin, Ryohei Hieda and Seiji Yamamoto, founder of Tokyo RyuGin travelled around the island in search of the best regional produce, hoping to deliver similarly creative cuisine leveraging the richness and diversity of local ingredients.

The trend of discovering local ingredients has influenced many Japanese chefs who have since come to Taiwan. Ingredients so common to the Taiwanese table, like the much-liked Ayu sweetfish, became transformed once they entered RyuGin’s kitchen. RyuGin’s strength lies also in its generous budget and its ability to source higher quality ingredients.

It was an early September day when I visited. The overall service was as warm and smooth as ever, and I ordered sake and accompanying wine as usual. The first starter was a nutty peanut tofu, topped with sweet ripe fig and presented in a floral bloom. Served with dashi and ginger sauce, the starter was refreshing and tempting. 

Next was kombu-marinated grape shrimp from Guishan Island, wrapped in a shiso leaf and paired with tofu skin and mashed edamame. Although the garnish of Guguan caviar didn’t seem to add much to the final result, the light-hearted flavouring and the crunchy shrimp were already appetising.

Fig, Peanut/Edamame, Grape Shrimp, Tofu Skin

The abalone and lotus root cake was unique in plating. The soft lotus root and tender steamed abalone were accompanied by abalone liver paste and garnished with leek blossoms. Yet the texture and layer were more satisfying than the taste. This was followed by a simple thick chunk of dashi-soaked cucumber, coupled with finely sliced squid and accented with citron zest and kombu oil to exude whiffs of summer vibe.

The wan-mono (simmered foods in dashi soup) was full of Taiwanese flavours – tilefish was steamed to perfection and served with ceylon spinach and baby corns. The addition of clams made the Japanese-style broth particularly tasty. Next was a mostly sashimi course: mackerel, bonito, lobster and chicken grunt, topped with chopped Ailanthus prickly ash, myoga and okra, and garnished with Penghu seaweed and fresh Alishan wasabi puree. For those who don’t like okra, the portion can be a challenge. Today, Shoun RyuGin is trying to convey Chef Ryohei Hieda’s creative thinking, rather than just trying to be a popular restaurant.

Abalone, Lotus Root/Tile Fish, Ceylon Spinach, Baby Corn/
Mackerel, Bonito, Lobster, Chicken Grunt, Okra

The next was an unusual eel dish. Slow-cooked eel was served with rice stewed with tomatoes and a rich sauce made from eel bones along with tomato jelly to jazz up the flavour and cut through the richness of the eel. The pairing was unexpected but impressive, interesting and satisfying contrast. Sea perch was slightly char-grilled with dashi-marinated eggplant wrapped in it, sitting in a soup hinted with soy sauce and mirin and finalised with a few drops of green peppercorn oil for a lemony aroma.

Grilled black mouth croaker was served with a delicious broth made with seaweed, mussel and sea grapes, and spiced with a touch of facing heaven pepper oil. The main meat course was beef fillet, using Yunlin cattle raised on sweet potatoes, aged and char-grilled with turnips, attractively presented and allowed the excellent ingredients to speak for themselves. Both main courses were of textbook level quality in terms of doneness and completeness.

Eel, Tomato/Black Mouth Croaker, Seaweed, Mussel, Sea Grapes/
Squid, Cucumber, Citron/Beef, Wasabi

The rice dish featured a combination of Wanli flower crab, Jinhua ham, seasonal green bamboo shoots, chives, served on a bed of Yilan’s aboriginal Yuan-Ya rice, whose name comes from the ecological agriculture environment where the grains and ducks are grown and farmed together. The rice was full of lustre and earthy aroma, with a hint of sweetness that echoes the crabmeat and complements the crunchy bamboo shoots. It was beautifully cooked, and the scent of the mixed whole was intoxicating.

The ending was two desserts, modest but tasted every bit as good as they looked. Inspired by candied sweet potato, the ice cream was made from sweet potato and brown sugar stew and served with a tea jelly made from Biluochun green tea underneath. The other gorgeous dessert was a thick lotus nut soup with red beans. Classy and elegant. 

Yuan-ya Rice, Flower Crab, Bamboo/Brown Sugar, Sweet Potato/Lotus Nut, Red Bean

The menu can be interpreted as Japanese cuisine that has been localised and is evolving, where the cooking techniques are essentially the same, but the flavouring is more local-oriented. The use of Sichuan peppercorns and facing heaven pepper oil is not common in Japanese cuisine, but “authenticity” does not seem to be a top priority in the RyuGin system.

I remember how amazed I was when I visited Nihon Ryori Ryugin in Tokyo and tried its creative kaiseki cuisine. Most of my knowledge of Chef Seiji Yamamoto comes from the NHK documentary, Two Japanese Chefs – A Taste of Life. He is a man who would still fight for victory even when he was dealt a bad hand. His pursuit of knife techniques, artistry and culinary sophistication is profound and iconic. He also has a discerning eye for selecting his “protégés”, including Hideaki Sato of the two-starred Ta Vie in Hong Kong, and Tomoya Kawada of Sazenka, a Chinese cuisine establishment recently awarded three stars. Seiji Yamamoto has influenced his disciples in many ways, and they have continued to keep close contact even after students opened their own restaurants. At Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants 2019 ceremony, when Seiji Yamamoto won the Icon Award, his students all came on stage to hold a “RyuGin” banner in honour of their celebrated culinary master.

42-year-old Ryohei Hieda embarked on his culinary journey at a very young age. At 19 years old, he entered the kitchen of Kyoto’s famous Kappou Nakagawa in Gion and in 2004 he returned to Kyushu with the purpose of learning how to make salt at Itaru. 23 years immersed in the culinary industry speaks true for his diverse background of study.

After five years of training at RyuGin Japan, Ryohei Hieda went on further studies at three-starred chef Corey Lee’s fusion restaurant Benu in San Francisco and Manresa, another three-starred restaurant in California famous for its vegetable dishes. His cross-cultural and globetrotting experience allow him to forge a constant drive to create and see Japanese cuisine from a different perspective.

The re-discovery of Taiwanese ingredients by Chef Ryohei Hieda’s has influenced many emerging chefs and local food suppliers, and has set a benchmark for fine dining restaurants using local ingredients.

Little did he know that his determination to showcase Taiwan’s beautiful produce would result in a milestone that champions the local terroir.

-END-

Author/Photo: Jocelyn 华姐

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 176

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
A Michelin Restaurant That Survives Ragu and Ravioli

Situated in the north of Italy, Bologna not only houses the almost 1,000-year-old University of Bologna, but the city is...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】祥云龙吟 – 稗田良平主厨创造本土食材里程碑


再度拜访台北的祥云龙吟,不变的是,等待用餐前,冰镇的金萱乌龙茶,带着微微的奶香气息的回忆。

不同的是,明显的感受到主厨稗田良平(Hieda Ryohei)更加的开放,菜品有更明显的个人色彩,呈现的“台味”也更明显,自我放飞。

2014年初自东京来到台北,今年迈入第九年,稗田良平主厨是新一代日本主厨在台的先驱。稗田良平最早以外来厨师身份,挖掘出连本地人都不知晓的顶级食材,他开创了一个全新的方向。稗田主厨认为台湾地区的蔬菜水平跟多样性都非常适合用于日本料理烹饪。而东京龙吟创办人山本征治开业前和主厨稗田良平走遍台湾岛寻找心目中的理想食材,希望能以本土丰富多元的食材来传达出他对日料的理念。

挖掘本土顶级食材的大方向,也相继影响到后来赴台的多位日本主厨。我们置身其中,视为理所当然的食材,竟然可到此高度,例如为人津津乐道的本土香鱼等。龙吟本身的优势也在于预算,相对可以找到更高质量的食材。

九月初到访,整体服务水平流畅依旧,依照惯例选择清酒为主搭配葡萄酒。第一道前菜是充满坚果香的花生豆腐,铺上成熟的无花果,品尝起来甜度较高,以花朵绽放摆盘呈现,搭配出汁以及姜汁,温润怡人的前菜,让人眼睛为之一亮。

接下来是用昆布腌渍过的龟山岛葡萄虾,夹在一片紫苏叶当中,有汤叶以及毛豆泥,虽说点缀了谷关的鱼子酱,似乎对整体味道没有太大的作用,然而清新的调味与些微爽脆的虾肉已足够让人开胃。

无花果 花生/毛豆 葡萄虾 豆皮

造型特别的鲍鱼藕饼,莲藕的口感绵密搭配上方蒸过的柔软鲍鱼,伴以鲍鱼肝酱的酱汁,点缀韭菜花,然而口感上的满足与层次胜于其调味。下一道是简约的厚切浸泡出汁的大黄瓜搭配细密的刀工软丝,充满夏日气息,缀以香水柠檬皮以及昆布油画龙点睛。

椀物充满台味,蒸得恰到好处的甘鲷口感柔嫩,搭配皇宫菜以及玉米笋,日式高汤加入蛤蛎格外的鲜美。接下来的刺身包含了鲭鱼,鲣鱼,龙虾以及黄鸡鱼,表面覆盖了切碎的刺葱,茗荷以及秋葵,点缀澎湖海菜搭配现蘑阿里山芥末。对于不喜吃山葵的食客而言,份量是个挑战。这阶段的祥云龙吟在表达主厨的创作与思考, 而不再追逐仅仅成为一家让人喜爱的餐厅。

鲍鱼 莲藕/甘鲷 皇宫菜 玉米笋/鲭鱼 鲣鱼 龙虾 黄鸡鱼 秋葵

接下来的鳗鱼料理是鳗鱼拌饭的概念,柔煮鳗鱼下方是西红柿炖煮的米饭,加入鳗鱼鱼骨浓缩酱汁,铺上西红柿水果冻带来酸甜的提味,平衡鳗鱼的油脂。出乎意料的配搭,个性十足却带来异常的满足感,令人印象深刻。下一道是红喉鱼鱼生稍微以炭火炙过,中间包裹着以出汁腌制的茄子,底下搭配酱油与味淋的汤汁最后加上几滴青花椒油,带有柠檬的香气。

接下来的立鳞烧黑喉,底下搭配海菜,淡菜以及海葡萄组成的鲜美汤汁,以朝天椒油提味。肉类主菜是产自云林 – 吃地瓜长大的牛,部位是菲力,熟成后炭烤搭配同样炭烤过的芜菁,呈现出极简的食材本味。这两道主菜的熟度处理都是教科书等级。

鳗鱼 番茄/黑喉 海菜 淡菜 海葡萄/软丝 大黄瓜 香水柠檬/牛 山葵

米饭是万里花蟹加上金华火腿,时令的绿竹笋以及虾夷葱,使用来自宜兰的原鸭米,因种植稻米与鸭共生的环境而得名。米粒饱满有光泽及香气,带有淡雅的甜味,花蟹鲜甜,竹笋增加口感而金华火腿与虾夷葱、米粒搅拌后香气扑鼻,太美妙!

最后的两道甜品都是极简不追求华丽的路线,黑糖地瓜冰淇淋,灵感来源来自拔丝地瓜,地瓜跟黑糖一起炖煮之后做成冰淇淋搭配下方碧螺春做成的茶冻一起入口,收尾的是绵密淡雅的莲子羊羹搭配红豆。

原鸭米 花蟹 绿竹笋/黑糖 地瓜/莲子 红豆

整套菜单品尝下来,可以解释为本地化蜕变中的日本料理,烹饪的技法万变不离其宗,但是在调味上更加在地化,有花椒,朝天椒油出现在菜品中调味,这在日本不常见,对于“正宗”这件事情似乎在龙吟体系中并不在核心价值中。

当年拜访过东京龙吟几次,当下感到非常的惊艳,会席料理的形式以大鸣大放的姿态存在。对于山本征治主厨的了解,大多来自于NHK纪录片《两个日本料理人》。他是拿了一手烂牌也非赢不可的人。山本征治对于技术的追求制作,刀工,技巧性艺术性,整体料理华丽的程度让人惊艳。而他挑选“门徒”也是慧眼独具,除了米其林两星的祥云龙吟之外,香港米其林两星Ta Vie的佐藤秀明,还有近期拿到三星的中华料理 – 茶禅华的川田智也。可以理解山本征治的思想技巧贯穿到弟子身上,而且即便弟子自立门户与其关系依旧保持密切,犹记2019年亚洲50颁奖典礼,山本征治获得标志人物奖,其子弟兵全部上台一起拉开“龙吟”旗帜,可谓是让人尊敬的一代宗师。

而回看今年42岁的稗田良平背景也很特殊,19岁的时候便在Gion Nakagawa修业,2005年在九州岛的Itaru学习制盐,踏入厨界也已经23个年头,拥有多样化的研习背景。

2008在日本龙吟本店修习五年后,2013年到美国旧金山三星名厨Corey Lee东西融合风的Benu以及另一家以蔬菜料理著名的米其林三星餐厅Manresa研习。可想而知稗田主厨的开创性其来有自,跨文化的厨艺经历让他以不同角度来看日本料理。

稗田良平主厨对于台湾食材的“再发现”,没有想到后续影响了许多新晋厨师,本土食材供应商以及Fine dining餐厅本土食材的标竿。

-END-

文字/图片:Jocelyn 华姐

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 176

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:LV携手Alain Passard首尔快闪;首版多伦多米其林指南授予14颗星

1 LV携手Alain Passard首...

关闭