A Michelin Restaurant That Survives Ragu and Ravioli

Situated in the north of Italy, Bologna not only houses the almost 1,000-year-old University of Bologna, but the city is also known as the food capital of Italy, and not just for pastas. You may wonder if there is still any place for Michelin restaurants in this paradise of budget-friendly meals.

There is only one Michelin-starred restaurant in town – I Portici – which has been here for more than a decade, challenging the way that tourists have shaped the area’s traditional culinary scene. I call it a gastronomic “maverick” outside the mainstream.

Three months in Italy traveling and meeting friends, I spent a lot of time around Bologna. The traditional food scene in Bologna is attractive enough with its mouth-watering street foods that even make high-end restaurants not so tempting. A simple plate of Bolognese pasta was all I wanted on my first day in town, not a Michelin restaurant.

But in the end we chose fine dining as our first stop due to tight schedule. I Portici is a Michelin one-starred and the only starred restaurant in Bologna. The young chef’s determination to walk in a lively experimental spirit is commendable – after all I would think it takes a bit of Don Quixote’s courage to run an upmarket restaurant where visitors are basically looking for traditional food markets. Chef Gianluca Renzi told me that before moving to Bologna, he understood that the local culinary system was very much focused on tradition. However, this was not a disadvantage but rather a new possibility for fine dining.

@ristoranteiporticibologna_instagram

Housed ina four-star hotel with the same name, I Portici scooped one Michelin star four years after its inauguration in 2008. The space was a luminous reminiscence of its history, classy and spacious. Compared to opulent five-star hotel decor, I prefer less is more.

Inside the Eden Theater, an ancient café-chantantwas restored to its former glory thanks to the elegant design of stage and audience seating. The food at I Portici far exceeded my expectation. The starting appetiser was thoughtfully flavoured with a traditional element of Bologna’s Mortadella(cooked ham sausage). The golden bread that followed was deep fried and then lavishly covered with an entire sheet of gold leaf, delicious but I am not a big fan of the gold leaf after all.

La Grassa La Dotta e La Rossa

The next was the sea bass carpaccio, which was surprisingly fresh and chewy, served with green curry, basil leaves and fermented banana crisps. It was an exotic provocation in textures and flavours.

The flavourful duck ravioli served with mushrooms and ginger juice was impressive. Ginger is not often found in Italian cuisine and is mostly used in desserts. But its refreshing taste complemented the duck and the al dente ravioli. A tasty version I love.

Marinated sea bass with green curry,
fermented banana and basil

Featuring a sauce made with almond milk and sea urchin, the fusillone, one of the signature dishes, was excellent in colour and flavour. It was a shame that the cuttlefish was a bit overshadowed by the perfectly cooked pasta, but it was still outstanding.

The main course pigeonwas of textbook quality, decorated with crushed peanuts and finalised by a splash of Lambrusco snow(frozen sparkling red wine from Modena) to complete the picturesque plating. The ruby colour, berry notes and bright acidity balance the oils.

Fusillone “Felicetti”, almond,
sea urchins, cuttlefish and parsley

I Portici’s dishes are harmonious and aesthetically pleasing, butnowadays Michelin’s preference seems to be more focused on idiosyncrasy. The ability to elevate a dish to the level of art requires a solid foundation in traditional cooking. And that’s where Chef Gianluca Renzi’s expertise is relevant.

At only thirtythree years of age, Gianluca Renzi is already very experienced. He spent ten years side by side with German Michelin three-starred chef Heinz Beck. When he was only 20, he became part of Heinz Beck’s team as Chef de Partie at La Pergola, a three Michelin stars restaurant in Rome. He also participated in different world events as a member of Beck’s team. He later worked as Sous Chef at the Apsleys Heinz Beck restaurant in London and in 2014 he worked for the first time as Executive Chef for the restaurant Castello di Fighine by Heinz Beck, winning the first milestone of the coveted Michelin Star after four years under his leadership. In 2018 he returned to Italy to work at Attimi by Heinz Beck in Milan.

Gianluca Renzi
@ristoranteiporticibologna_instagram

Working for the same person for a third of your life is no arbitrary act of will. Many of Joel Robuchon’s students have been working with him for 20 or 30 years. I met Heinz Beck once in Shanghai ten years ago. He was humourous and his dishes were exquisite and airy. I haven’t been to Beck’s restaurant in Rome though, there are many must-visit local trattorias, so I wasn’t particularly looking for starred restaurants. Gianluca also mentioned that his cooking has changed as he seeks out new techniques and inspiration. “Of course the fundamentals will stay, but I like to adapt to the local.” he said.

Coconut, lychee ice cream,
white chocolate foam and rose

I tried Gianluca Renzi’s dishes at the restaurant in Milan before the pandemic. Young as he is, he already has the makings of a celebrity chef with solid techniques and brilliant cooking that is striking for its creativity and the talent with which he interprets all kinds of products. There are restaurants running by young chefs that come and go, but Gianluca Renzi writes the future by himself, already a MICHELIN Young Chef Award winner, and probably only at the beginning of the successes he deserves from what he demonstrates today.

Fearlessly shaping its style while on the road to achieve two stars, I Portici takes on the challenge to establish itself as a culinary landmark in Bologna. If you are not rushing to the next stop in your trip, I Portici is an enchanting addition to the traditional Bolognese cuisine you’d expect from this amazing city.

-END-

Article/Photo: Jocelyn 华姐

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 176

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
【Bologna】Amerigo1934: Time is Everything

Located in the heart of Emilian Appennines, Trattoria da Amerigo was opened in 1934 in the fertile Samoggia Valley, perched in the...

Close

【博洛尼亚】在肉酱与饺子夹击中生存的米其林餐厅 – I Portici

意大利北部城市博洛尼亚,不只以近千年历史的博洛尼亚大学而驰名,也享有意大利美食之都的盛誉,最富盛名的美食也不只是博洛尼亚意大利面。在这个庶民美食王国,岂有米其林餐厅容身之处?

城里确实只有一家米其林星级餐厅I Portici,开业十余年来以Fine Dining形式挑战游客对博洛尼亚传统美食的味觉引导,成为庶民饮食之外的“异类”。 

这次在意大利停留三个月,包括旅游和与朋友会面,往来在博洛尼亚附近的时间很多,而在传统美食聚集的博洛尼亚,光是庶民小吃就令人垂涎,高档餐厅诱惑不大,来到城里的第一天也想直奔博洛尼亚肉酱面,而不是米其林餐厅。

但因时间的安排,第一站还是留给Fine Dining。博洛尼亚唯一的米其林星级餐厅I Portici,而且还只是一星。我认为年轻主厨勇气可嘉,毕竟在此每个游客可能只为了传统美食,只对庶民小吃有热情,在此经营高档餐厅需要一点唐吉诃德的勇气。Gianluca告诉我在搬到博洛尼亚之前,他就理解当地烹饪系统非常坚持传统。然而,这并不是一个槽点,反而让Fine Dining有不同的发展可能性。

@ristoranteiporticibologna_instagram

I Portici开在一家同名四星酒店里,自2008年开业四年后摘下一星。酒店空间设计虽没有奢华装潢,但也窗明几净,空间感足够,我也不欣赏富丽堂皇的老五星小房间装潢风格,这里简单足以。

餐厅设计简约,采用剧院设计,有高阶舞台与低阶观众席。原本我对I Portici料理不抱特别期望,但它的表现超过预期,一开始的开胃小点有博洛尼亚本地Mortadella(熟火腿肠)的传统元素,调味巧妙。接下来的黄金面包是油炸过再豪气放上整片金箔,虽是美味但我始终对金箔无感。

开胃小点

接下来令人意外的是鲈鱼刺身质量相当新鲜,口感微脆,搭配绿咖哩汁,上面放上罗勒叶,中间有发酵香蕉脆片,味道及口感跳跃于盘子之上。

印象比较深刻的是鸭肉饺,搭配蕈菇与姜汁,口味浓郁,姜汁可以解腻,本身与鸭肉很对味。一般在意大利菜中姜汁不常出现,大多出现在甜品中。饺子的面皮也做得很有嚼劲,单纯的美味,是我喜爱的版本。

腌制海鲈

作为招牌菜之一的螺丝意面极好,使用杏仁乳与海胆做的酱汁,配色以及口味都让人印象深刻,可惜乌贼存在感被弹牙的螺丝意面盖过,但依旧是杰出的菜品。

主菜鸽子以教科书等级的手法呈现,佐以花生碎,最后铺上摩德纳(Modena)的微气泡红酒Lambrusco冰霜,宛若一幅美丽的画作。冰霜是宝石般的红色,莓果气息和鲜明酸度,平衡油脂。

螺丝意面

I Portici的菜和谐,走得是唯美风格,但米其林这几年偏爱个性化,能把料理提升到美感层次,必须先有稳扎稳打的传统烹饪底子,在这里可以看出主厨Gianluca Renzi的实力。

Gianluca Renzi才33岁,经历已足够丰富,师从德国籍米其林三星厨师Heinz Beck有十年之久,20岁时就在Heinz Beck罗马的三星餐厅La Pergola担任二厨,后来跟随他参加世界各地的活动,并在伦敦的Apsleys A Heinz Beck餐厅担任副主厨,以及在Heinz Beck意大利的餐厅Castello di Figine担任行政总厨,四年下来摘下米其林一星,2018 年后在米兰餐厅Attimi。

荔枝冰淇淋

三分之一的人生都为同一人工作,是很不简单的意志。如Joel Robuchon很多子弟兵跟他二、三十年。我十年前在上海见过Heinz Beck一次,他给人印象幽默风趣,菜品细致轻盈,不过我没去过罗马本店,罗马有许多必访的传统菜馆,因此在当地并不会特别追星。Gianluca也提到说,随着寻找新的技术和灵感,他的烹饪风格发生了变化。“当然,有一些烹饪基础会留下来,但我喜欢适应当地。”他说道。

Gianluca Renzi
@ristoranteiporticibologna_instagram

疫情前我在米兰的餐厅品尝过Gianluca Renzi的菜品,他虽年轻但已经具备明星级厨师的条件,基础很稳固,料理也道道精彩,兼具美味与缤纷色彩。很多厨师成名都是运气,相较很多年轻厨师开的餐厅不成气候,Gianluca Renzi有本钱摘下米其林指南年轻主厨大奖,看他的机遇应该有大放异彩的本钱。

I Portici水平在一星至两星之间,正在塑造个人风格,但开在博洛尼亚本身就是一项挑战,若停留时间够长,I Portici是一个让人在博洛尼亚传统美食之外的好选择。

-END-

文字/图片:Jocelyn 华姐

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 159

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:上海Ultraviolet推出新菜单UVD;《台北台中台南高雄米其林指南2022》完整名单出炉

上海米其林三星Ultraviolet推出...

关闭