Generic selectors
    Exact Matches
    Search in title
    Search in content
    按标题搜寻
    Search in pages

    Refer, a Breeze of Novelty to Beijing’s Culinary world

    One night in Beijing
    It has been five years since I astvisited Beijing. That day was all the more comfortable and sunnier as just a day before there was a sandstorm, which I felt lucky enough to catch a glimpse of the legendary blue sky of the capital city.
     
    Beijing’s buzzling Sanlitun district has seen the rising of Canadian born Talib Hudda, a young chef only 32 years old, and has an impressive resume as a professional. I’ve seen pictures of his dishes, so beautiful that I even had doubts in my head: would that mean presentation comes before taste?

    Talib Hudda

    Environment

    Thereupon, I visited Refer in vigilance. As Western food in Beijing is still tend to be conservative, attempting such a ‘borderless’ Nordic restaurant is not something all investors would do.

    Big streets and city lights of Sanlitun can be overlooked on the balcony of the restaurant. The interior expands nearly 400 square meters, with only five tables and one private dining room. The spacious area and the open kitchen naturally integrate to offer extended visions, just like chef Talib’s experience and the way he cooks.
     
    You probably couldn’t tell where Talib’s from judging by the way he looks, but this may have explained his international approach to his dishes. Defined by many as Beijing’s acclaimed Nordic dining destination, Refer’s dishes have deeper connotations and higher structural complexity, accommodating a variety of dimensions and thus requiring a little more time to fully appreciate. However, ‘borderless’ is a confusing expression in that it makes you wonder what the restaurant’s real strengths are.

     

    Refer Beijing
    Upon entering the restaurant, I was kindly greeted by Refer’s amiable staff and seated in its spacious dining room carefully arranged with Nordic furniture. It was near sunset, and I could still see the afternoon sunlight gently falling onto the vibrantly green lawn as I looked out the window. Maybe I had not been to Beijing for so long and I asked myself, How did I get here? Then Chef Talib came up to me. Unlike his serious-looking face in the photo, he talked with me in cordial hospitality and welcomed me to his domain as if it were his home. The first appetizer was a wonderful combination of caviar, yuzu crème fraiche, lettuce root, pickled onion and lily bulb. The seasoning was ingenious, delicate and elegant as the appearance. My walls began to fall down.
    Inheriting the practice of most top-flight Japanese restaurants, Refer divides the visiting time of diners, meaning the moment you enter the restaurant, you will have all the attention from the staff.
     
    As the waiter led me to have the next course, I entered a bright and comfortable open kitchen full of serious chefs in a top hat shuttling back and forth and working on dishes. Then I saw my table, thinking what an extravagance it was to have only five tables in such a big dining room. I thought to myself, who would be the lucky diners tonight?

    Environment

    Then Talib demonstrated various ingredients and herbs which were going to be used that day. Next course is Caviar Cone, held in a plaster hand-shaped model and consisting crisp seaweed, almond cream, appetizing ponzu and pickled onions. No wonder the food is best served in the kitchen. 
     
    I seemed to understand the logicin his dishes. Talib told me that his good friend and mentor was a Japanese back when he was in Canada, and it was at that time when he found strong interest in Japanese flavours. His dishes are accompanied by two dimensions–texture and layered flavours, with outer appearance taking into account Nordic aesthetic, flavours blended with Chinese and Japanese styles, and techniques using French approach. I think it’s safe to say Talib does have a unique style of his own. Just like every other chef who has their own system of cooking, you could always tell the logic behind.
    The food

    We sat down to dinner. Normally, I wouldn’t comment on bread, but Refer’s delicate bread marked a magnificent entrance. Like Talib’s boundless style, Refer’s range of bread covered styles from Nordic countries, Japan and France: gluten-free baguette, sourdough and Tangzhong milk bread. The pairing butter were French unsalted butter, cultured fresh butter, together with yellow rose fermented honey, which you could only see at a Michelin three-starred restaurant.

    Talib came to my table to mix the yogurt and cream for us. He said this step, known as ‘culture’, is not really fermentation. It works like this: the acid in the yogurt can separate the oil and water in the cream, and the oil separated forms butter. A process similar to how tofu is made, just different chemical reactions. The butter itself had no obvious flavour of yogurt, which was one of a kind.
    The breath-taking dish Sea Garden featured translucent spot prawn mounted on a beautiful silver hairpin blooming with flowers. I don’t particularly like raw prawn, but Refer’s handling was neat and tidy. Bouncy prawns combined with clear tomato broth, Keffir lime and greenish nasturtium, it was refreshing and appetizing with delicate seasoning and cool pleasure.
    The dish Red Puzzle included blue lobster claw, red onion, purple shiso, and watermelon radish. The whole presentation was like Monet’s painting, making you reluctant to devour the masterpiece. You could feel the tender texture and luscious succulence of the blue lobster claw as you chew in the mouth. The combination of ingredients was ingenious: pickled radish instilled freshness into shrimp paste while increasing the depth of flavour and sophistication of techniques and processes. You may find Talib’s dishes often garnished with elemental highlights from Japanese cuisine. 

    Sea Garden | Spot Prawn, Nasturtium, Tomato & Kaffir Lime

    Red Puzzle | Blue Lobster Claw, Red Onion, Purple Shiso, Watermelon Radish

    Next, you’ll find more than six kinds of ingredients and herbs in each of his dishes, some even as many as eight or ten, not including carefully blended sauces. You will be served accordingly as the waiters present each precious plate with professionalism and friendly smiles, and the dining experience is way more joyous than it lets on.

    Then there was this inventive dish that features Chinese mochi (rice cakes) and the grappling ‘little lobster’ – crayfish, China’s seasonal specialty that’s usually spicy and great for casual gatherings. Only Refer’s version is upgraded to be more luxury. Chinese mochi and Canadian lobster coming together, new but without a hint of incongruity. The blissful, harmonious and fresh flavours of the full, fatty lobster and sticky mochi were served with Japanese dashi beurre blanc. A long-standing classic at Refer, this dish is not just loved by Chinese foodies, but suitable for almost every appetite. 

    The lamb chops that day were perfectly cooked and served with a plethora of ingredients such as sunflower seed shouyu, grilled maitake in duck fat, salted turnip, foie gras, bay leaves and duck blanquette. Salted turnip and foie gras were unexpectedly refreshing, bold creation but not overly ornate or disharmonious.  

    Born and raised in a country that’s known for being the mosaic formed by its rich multi-ethnicity culture from China and other Asian countries, Talib has even more in-depth understanding of local ingredients after having spent four years in China. That afternoon in the kitchen, I saw Talib honing over and over again about presentation and dish layout. Grilled maitake mushrooms in duck fat were exuberant of fragrance and slightly crispy in the mouth.

    Dessert was equally stunning. The Berrymisu that combined berries and tiramisu, may sound a bit dated but unexpectedly won my heart. The combination of 72% cacao chocolate, chevre blanc, peanuts and mixed berries creates a multi-layered texture and contrasting flavours. Dessert is supposed to be the most beautiful dish in a course meal, but the Berrymisu, not so outstanding compared to other beautiful dishes, was simple yet delightful.

    Handful of Spring | Sweet Peas, Wasabi, King Crab, Watercress & Pickled White Asparagus

    Foie Gras of the Sea | Monkfish Liver, Sauternes, Seabuckthorn & Lemon Marigold

    The Lobster Dish | Lobster with Mochi & Dashi Beurre Blanc 

    Solo Dover | Sole, Water-chestnut, Mountain Berry & Lemon, Scallop, Fava Bean & Fennel Ragout

    Berrymisu 72% Chocolate, Mixed Berries, Espresso, Chèvre Blanc & Peanut 72%

    I would say I’m happy with most dishes I had that day, especially the expertly-handled seafood. Lobsters and scallops all had a slightly transparent centre, and lobster claws had a soft and fibrous texture. Talib’s seafood dishes are ornate but his solid skills of cooking have preserved the freshness of the ingredients.

    Refer’s extensive use of pickling is a common food preserving technique in Nordic countries, but it perhaps is more entrenched and has a longer history in Chinese cuisine. A closer look at Refer’s dishes reveals a fusion of Chinese and Japanese styles. Chinese specialty like sweet bean sauce and asparagus lettuce, as well as Japanese ingredients and dashi soups, are easily found here. After all, Japanese food has become a global culinary phenomenon.

    Apart from local farm contractors supplying fresh fruits, vegetables and herbs, Refer has capitalized on its reliable sources to procure seasonal, premium-quality ingredients from around the world. The strategy is not strictly farm-to-table, but the dual trajectory has enabled Talib to make his dishes dynamic and more diversified.

     

    Nordic Aesthetics , Asian Soul

    Interestingly, Talib’s borderless cooking is indeed hard to define, which may have some traces reflected in his origins and cosmopolitan life experiences. Born in a family that mixes many different countries around the world, including his Indian grandparents, the Canadian-born chef has been passionate about cooking since early childhood. He started cooking with his grandmother at the tender age of six, helping hands in restaurant kitchens at 14 and enrolling into culinary school when he was only 18 years old. After graduation, he started his career working at well-known restaurants around the world and took strict tutorage under several celebrated chefs.

    He has since worked in acclaimed restaurants around the world, including Marchal in Copenhagen, where he worked with Ronny Emborg and helped the restaurant earn its first Michelin star. Ronni Mortensen was his co-worker at Marv & Ben in the same city. To broaden his culinary horizons, he also ventured to New York for short stints at the city’s most famous eateries, Café Boulud and Eleven Madison Park.

    Talib approaches his cuisine with skilful sophistication and refined maturity, partially thanks to his early experience running chores in restaurant kitchens. Being a 32-year-old young chef, he already has experience cooking for almost 20 years. Many would assume Refer is a Scandinavian restaurant judging by its overarching presentation and culinary style. If I had to categorise it, I would think Refer’s appearance and presentation take reference from Nordic cuisines, yet there is a subtlety in the details between it and Geranium.

    Though not having worked with chef Rasmus at Geranium, Talib did work with its sous chef–Ronni Mortensen for a year. That’s probably the reason why Talib takes on his restaurant in a similar approach. Talib shared that what he learned from Ronni was more about managing and operating. Chefs at Refer wear high hats, something not often seen in many neo-Nordic restaurants, perhaps because of their Bocuse d’Or background. Despite being upscale and elegant, Refer executes some of the warmest and most gracious dishes you will ever experience, with just the right amount of seafood and meat for a hearty meal.

    Talib sometimes can get competitive, perhaps best demonstrated by the complexity of his dishes. Building on his substantial working experience and personal ideas, Talib has incorporated his four-year Chinese experience into his cooking, honoring local flavours and bringing extra warmth to the dining experience.

    Never one to shy away from a challenge, Talib seized the opportunity to make his mark at the BC Team Hot Competition in Canada, taking two awards from 2009 to 2014. He also made presence at the Salon Culinaire Mondial in Switzerland and represented Canada at the most prestigious culinary competition in the world, the Bocuse d’Or in 2011.

    Chef Talib Hudda

    Talib first moved to Beijing when he was invited to become the executive chef at The Georg by the silverware brand Georg Jensen in 2015. Despite it being his first posting in Asia, he thrived in Beijing’s booming fine dining scene and helped The Georg earn several prestigious accolades for its Nordic cuisine. Later he returned to Copenhage to further his studies at the Michelin two-starred restaurant Alchemist 2.0 before starting his own business in 2020.

    Talib Hudda has spent time in many cities around the world and his family’s multi-ethnicity background has given him international values. When asked why his style eventually veered towards Nordic cuisine, he said two years’ experience in Copenhagen had a great impact on him, not just the way locals cook, but his own aesthetics. 

    Beauty with soul

    I asked him if he felt upset about his dishes being called Nordic cuisine, and he said he didn’t want Refer to be clearly defined. Just like the meaning of ‘refer’, ingredients, techniques, aesthetic concepts, anything could become references to inspire creativity. What’s more, he has solid cooking techniques and mature ideas despite of his gentle age. Inspired by many culinary treasures around the globe, he has managed to keep his own boundaries well in place, borderless but substantially real. But for a restaurant, marketing-wise, using such term as ‘borderless’ is a bit of a risk.

    Talib Hudda’s sense of aesthetic wows you and is one of his most valuable treasure. I have been thinking that aesthetic sense has long been neglected by many chefs. Without it, one’s feeling of inferiority would prompt copying behaviours. Therefore, it’s not uncommon to see similar aesthetics prevail in many restaurants. But Refer’s aesthetic has a distinctive identity, with minimalist aesthetics exuding from its porcelain tableware to details of the dishes.

    Prior to meeting Talib in person, he appeared to be a serious man in photographs, but he was very affectionate in person. During the meeting, I could sense he and his wife have strong bonds with each other. The vessel used for Caviar Cone is a plaster hand model of his and his wife’s hands.

    I asked his wife if she felt it was a sacrifice to help Talibrun the restaurant. She said she loved the job there and thanked Talib for being extraordinary in so many ways. She just felt lucky to have Talib in the business. I seemed to catch smiles on their happy faces.

    Refer’s interpretation of beauty is not often seen in China. The restaurant has only five tables and one private room, and yes they are hard to secure. But the configuration can help maintain consistency. A Michelin-grade example, well, a solid two stars I’d say.

    Picking Flower | Black Currant Ganache, Waxberry Lavender & Pansies

    Environment

    Having captured common ground between Nordic cuisine and his own aesthetic value, Talib instils open-mindedness and expertise into his cooking, with multicultural approaches and wide-ranging seasonal produce and techniques from different regions such as China and Japan. Many chefs talk about creativity, but more or less lack ingenuity. Refer’s cuisine may be hard to define, but it’s loaded with the chef’s focus and personal style. Dining at Refer would possibly end up feeling overwhelmed by its gastronomic sensation and unique aesthetic.

    Talib’s journey to where he is now may have been tagged with ups and downs, but this has in return forged a resilient soul in his cooking, allowing his experiences, ideas and values to become precious works.

    For Western restaurants in the capital city of Beijing, Refer is a unique experience and a breeze of novelty. I look forward to seeing Talib reshape the restaurant’s culinary direction with a more refined, creative approach.

    Refer

    📍5th Floor, Building No.8, TaiKooLi North Chaoyang, Beijing

    🏷Official WeChat:restaurantrefer

    Reprint or other cooperation matters

    Please contact WeChat account:tastytrip2020


     

    Welcome to follow us

    Weibo:TastyTrip

    Instagram:_tastytrip_

     

    (Visited 118 times, 1 visits today)
    Read previous post:
    全球餐饮动态:Eleven Madison Park将转型素食餐厅 ;世界50最佳餐厅比利时颁奖

    2021亚洲50酒吧公布 大中华区共17家入选;美三星Eleven Madison Park转型素食餐厅

    Close

Generic selectors
    精准匹配
    按标题搜寻
    按内容搜寻
    按标题搜寻
    Search in pages

    【Jocelyn专栏】北欧外衣亚洲魂 北京Refer主厨Talib是世界厨房的旅人

    One night in Beijing
    已经有五年没去北京,到访前一天刚好北京有沙尘暴,但是到访的这天,天气晴朗舒适,阳光普照,幸运的我,也一窥了传说中的北京蓝。

    北京三里屯,加拿大籍厨师Talib Hudda感觉有些凭空出世的感觉,年仅32岁,看起来金童一般的履历,突然在这阵子听到他的名号。看过菜品的照片,美感也是到位的,但是因为太精致美丽,对于味道我感到怀疑,会是个摆盘派的空壳吗?

    Refer主厨Chef Talib Hudda

    Refer餐厅

    Refer厨房

    于是我在充满戒心的状态下拜访Refer。北京目前西餐状况依旧是趋于保守的状态,一家“北欧外衣”无国界的餐厅实在是个大胆的存在,或者说应该佩服背后投资人的勇气。

    在餐厅的阳台可以眺望三里屯的繁华。餐厅内部有接近400平方米大,但只有五张桌子和一间包厢,偌大的空间与开放式厨房更让视觉延伸,没有边界,就像是他的成长背景与菜品一样。

    主厨Talib那张看不出国籍的面孔述说着他的开放态度,虽然餐厅被外界定义为北欧料理,但实际上更复杂更深层,层次感很强,凸显结构上有高度复杂度,手法繁复,又能兼顾多种维度,口感、味觉都能被满足,是需要慢慢品尝才能体会的创作。但是无国界是个令人困惑的词汇,在任何餐厅看到这样的字眼只会怀疑,专精在何方? 

     

    Refer Beijing

    一走入餐厅,便被安排在精致如北欧家具样品屋的客厅坐下,太阳尚未下山,依旧能看到窗外一瑀的绿地,也许是太久没有来北京,突然有种不知道置身何方的感觉。主厨Talib出现了,不同于照片上的严肃面孔,亲切而活泼。第一道开胃小点是鱼子酱,日本柚子奶油, 莴笋,腌洋葱与百合的奇妙组合,调味巧妙,如同外表一样细致而典雅,我开始卸下心防。

    餐厅如同大多数日本顶级餐厅的做法,巧妙地将食客到访的时间点分开,一进入Refer,你就拥有所有员工的注意力。从那一刻开始,你就在镁光灯底下。

    接下来侍者领我们进入厨房享用下一道小点,映入眼帘的是明亮舒适的开放厨房,带着高帽的厨师来回穿梭忙碌着,延伸视角可以看到我们的餐位,偌大的餐厅,奢侈地只摆上五张桌,谁是今晚的幸运食客呢?我心中想着。

    餐厅环境

    这时主厨展示了今天会使用到各类食材及香草,然后一双石膏的手里握着鱼子酱手握,一口咬下海苔依旧酥脆,果然是要在厨房里食用,夹杂着杏仁奶油,柚子酱与腌洋葱酸爽开胃。

    我似乎明白他的逻辑了。主厨告诉我,以前在加拿大他的好朋友兼Mentor是日本人,当时他对于日本料理以及日式风味的喜爱已经种下了种子。他的菜品似乎是伴随着两种复杂的维度,一个是口感,另外是味觉的层次感,应该说,美感是北欧的外衣,然后又融入了中国与日本的风味,加上法餐的技巧。我实在是无法控制地分析起来,的确是自成一派。每一位自成一派的厨师,都依旧可以找到他的逻辑的蛛丝马迹。“I can’t help but wonder.”

     

    The food

    我们坐下来就餐,一般我不太评论面包,但Refer的面包虽然精致小巧,却有气势恢弘的出场,一如Talib的风格。面包囊括北欧日本法国三种风格:无麸质法棍,酸面包,汤种牛奶面包。搭配的黄油也来头不小,法国无盐黄油,鲜黄玫瑰发酵蜂蜜,要知道这通常是三星配备。

    Chef Talib亲自来桌边混合酸奶和奶油,这个步骤英文叫做Culture,他说并不是真正发酵,作用原理是酸奶中的酸会使奶油油水分离,从奶油中分离出来的油便是黄油,类似于卤水豆腐的方法,只不过酸碱相反,原理大致相同。黄油本身不会有明显的酸奶味,令人耳目一新。

    一道称为「水上花园」的菜品,有着半透明色泽的牡丹虾插在一只绽放美丽花朵的银色发簪上,美得令人屏息。我本身不爱生虾的口感,但Refer处理的版本很干净,口感上弹脆不粘腻,搭配上西红柿清汤,加上皱皮柠檬酸爽提鲜,搭配金莲的青绿,清爽开胃,调味细致而有一种纯净感。

    另外一道「红色拼图」食材有蓝龙虾爪、红洋葱、紫苏,还有“心儿里美”萝卜。彷佛是一幅莫内名画,不忍心“下手”,入口感受到蓝龙虾爪的美丽纤维,嫩口又鲜甜,食材搭配的非常绝妙,虾膏搭配上腌渍萝卜可以解腻,又增加了味觉的深度,制作工序又是异常得繁复。他的菜品经常来一些日本的元素来点缀一下,这道菜的元素则是紫苏。

    Sea Garden | Spot Prawn, Nasturtium, Tomato & Kaffir Lime

    水上花园 | 牡丹虾,旱金莲,番茄,皱皮柠檬

    Red Puzzle | Blue Lobster Claw, Red Onion, Purple Shiso, Watermelon Radish

    红色拼图 | 蓝龙虾爪,红洋葱,紫苏,心儿里美萝卜

    接下来,可以发现他的每一道菜有六种以上的主原料及香草,多的八至十种,甚至这并不包含复杂的酱汁,令人目不暇接。上菜的节奏适中,有条不紊,侍者亲切而专业,用餐体验舒适而流畅。

    然后出现了一道在小吃界中的常见搭配小龙虾与年糕的创意菜肴,这里提供的是豪华版本,中国年糕,加拿大龙虾?这是谁想到的组合,听起来诡异,却毫不违和,饱满而肥美的龙虾加上热呼呼的年糕,搭配日式高汤,产生的那种幸福感,和谐而新颖的味道。不只讨中国人喜欢,应该是人类都会爱上的味道。这道菜也是Refer长年的经典菜款。

    当天我品尝的羊排熟度也极佳,搭配葵花籽酱油、鸭油烤舞茸、咸萝卜、鸭肝、月桂叶、白汁鸭肉等食材,咸萝卜与鸭肝意外的解腻,听起来天马行空,品尝起来却毫不违和。

    待在中国的四年他对于本地食材的理解更加具体,原本加拿大就是华人和亚洲人的大熔炉。当日下午在厨房里看到Talib在构思摆盘,反复构思Layout。其中鸭油烤舞茸烤得香气四溢,入口微微酥脆,看得出炉火纯青的功力。

    甜点亦是没有让人失望,Berrymisu(莓果+Tiramisu)的组合,听来有些过时及老套,但意外收买了我的心,高纯度72%的巧克力加上羊奶酪及花生、莓果这样的组合,产生了多层次的口感跟味觉,迸发全然不同的火花,原本应该是最美丽的甜品,相较于其他过份美丽的菜品相貌,虽然平凡无奇,却直接单纯。

    Handful of Spring | Sweet Peas, Wasabi, King Crab, Watercress & Pickled White Asparagus

    春意盎然 | 青豆,芥末,帝王蟹,西洋菜&腌白芦笋

    Foie Gras of the Sea | Monkfish Liver, Sauternes, Seabuckthorn & Lemon Marigold

    鱼肝 | 安康鱼肝,苏玳,沙棘果,柠檬金盏花

    The Lobster Dish | Lobster with Mochi & Dashi Beurre Blanc 

    龙虾 | 龙虾,年糕,日式高汤

    Solo Dover | Sole, Water-chestnut, Mountain Berry & Lemon, Scallop, Fava Bean & Fennel Ragout

    独潜 | 多佛鳎鱼,马蹄,木姜子和柠檬汁,日本扇贝,蚕豆及茴香

    Berrymisu 72% Chocolate, Mixed Berries, Espresso, Chèvre Blanc & Peanut 72%

    巧克力,莓果,浓缩咖啡,羊奶酪,花生

    整套餐中八成菜品我都给予很高的评价,尤其是海鲜,处理功力相当高明,譬如龙虾、扇贝等海鲜食材可以做到中心略带透明。龙虾爪带着柔嫩的纤维口感,菜品视觉虽然华丽但保留最原始的鲜甜,显见主厨对食材的生熟度拿捏的非常精准。

    Refer大量使用腌渍技巧是北欧风格中为保存食材常见的处理方式,但其实中国菜也很多腌渍手法并且出现得更早。近一步观察Refer的菜,实际上呈现出很多中式与日式的融合,如采用中国的甜面酱、莴笋等食材入菜,也使用日本的食材,出汁等等作为调味,毕竟日料已成为世界美食中的显学。

    Refer除了与本地农场签约供应蔬果与香草,他也同时采购全世界季节性的各种顶级食材,虽然不完全走农场到餐桌路线,但这种“混搭”路线,让他能够在调味与食材变化上更多元。

     

    北欧外衣亚洲魂
    严格来说,他的风格的确是无国界而无法定义,他的出身与人生经历也的确是世界性的。Talib Hudda祖父母来自北印度,家族背景遍布世界各地,自己则是在加拿大出生成长,从小就有烹饪兴趣,六岁那年跟着外婆一起做菜,14岁就开始在餐厅洗碗打工,16岁知道自己要成为一名厨师,18岁时进入烹饪学校,此后就一直在世界各地的知名餐厅工作,师从几位国际名厨。

    如在哥本哈根Marchal期间跟随Ronny Emborg,期间还为Marchal餐厅赢得第一颗米其林星。此外也在哥本哈根的Marv&Ben跟随Ronni Mortensen。后来还到美国,在纽约Café Boulud、Eleven Madison Park工作过。

    Talib的菜品成熟精练,毕竟他年少时便从厨房洗碗工做起,虽然仅仅32岁,但厨龄已经接近20年。Refer的整体呈现以及菜品风格使很多人认为Refer 的菜就是北欧菜,在拜访北欧十几次后,我应该也把名单上的所有餐厅都拜访了,若一定要分类的话,以外观以及呈现来看的确是属于北欧料理的范畴,与Geranium在细节有种暗通款曲的微妙。

    说起微妙,Talib虽然与Geranium主厨Rasmus虽然没有共事过,但他与Geranium的Sous chef, Ronni Mortensen一起工作过一年,所以我猜测有点相同门派的意味,也算是系出名门吧,Talib告诉我他从Ronni身上学习到更多的是管理跟执行的方式。Refer的厨师也都戴高帽,这在许多新派北欧餐厅已不多见,或许与拿过博古斯竞赛的背景相关。但Refer虽然唯美但感觉更食人间烟火,适量的海鲜与肉类料理让人可以好好饱食一顿。

    另外Talib与他微妙的部分都是扎实的“打比赛”热爱者。尤其是体现在菜品的工艺繁复程度上。就在这些过程当中,虽然形式类似,但是他们走过的都是不同的历程,Talib在这些基础上,融入了这四年在中国本土的味道,对于亚洲人来说带来了些许的温暖。

    他积极透过国际厨师赛事展露头角,2009年到2014年参加加拿大的BC Team Hot Competition赢得两次奖项,以及瑞士的Salon Culinaire Mondial,2011年还代表加拿大团队参加博古斯世界烹饪大赛。

    Refer 主厨 Chef Talib Hudda

    2015年应银器品牌Georg Jensen邀请而移居北京,开始在亚洲的第一份工作,在移居中国之前,他从来没有拜访过亚洲,显然勇气十足,也可以看出他内心里的热爱挑战精神。担任北京The Georg的开店行政总厨时,做的就是北欧料理。2020年自己开业之前,他曾回到哥本哈根2星餐厅Alchemist 2.0深度进修。

    Talib Hudda在世界多个城市待过,他的家族多国背景让他本身就有多国的价值观,但为什么最后风格会趋近北欧料理,他说是在北欧两年期间,发现自己与北欧的风格很契合,审美观也在那期间被塑形。

    有灵魂的美感

    当我问到外界定义Refer为北欧料理是否觉得被冒犯,他说他希望餐厅不要被定义,如同Refer的意思一样,世界各地的食材与技术,美学概念,一草一物都可以成为参考对象,启发创作。更难能可贵的是,他很年轻,但是功底扎实,虽然吸收多个国家的饮食特色,但他也把自己内心的疆界固守得很好,没有一般标榜无国界料理那样的虚无。但对于餐厅营销而言,定义无边界(Borderless)实在是有点冒险。

    Talib Hudda的美感会让人惊叹,这也是他最大的宝藏。我一直认为,美感是目前厨师最缺乏的条件,对美没有自觉,自卑就容易抄袭别人的概念,所以餐厅美学时常见到一股盲从的风气,但Refer的美感有自己的灵魂,从对瓷器杯具到菜品细节,都看得出是极简美学的巅峰之作。

    在见到Talib本人之前,照片看起来是一个严肃的人,但他本人非常亲切,访谈间也感受得到与妻子小鹿之间的鹣鲽情深,「鱼子酱手握」的器具,就是他和太太的手部模型。

    我问他太太小鹿从旁协助管理餐厅营运,是否觉得是一种牺牲,她说她自己也很喜欢这个工作,也称赞Talib Hudda在多个方面都很优秀,有机会能跟着他进入这个产业,让她觉得拥有他反而是一件幸运的事,谈话间两人会心一笑。

    Refer的美感层次在中国并不多见,餐厅只有五张桌子一间包厢,现在已经是一位难求,不过这样的配置比较能维持一致性,简直就是米其林星级范本,嗯,是扎实的米其林二星水平。

    Picking Flower | Black Currant Ganache, Waxberry Lavender & Pansies

    摘花 | 黑加仑甘纳许,杨梅,薰衣草和三色堇

    餐厅环境

    多国文化熏陶,在北欧料理基础上找到与自己美学价值相同的立足之地后,融合了自己的开放态度,以扎实的功底,海纳百川的姿态依照季节选用不同区域,包含中国与日本等国的食材与烹饪技术,虽然无法归类,却有着具体的存在感,很多厨师谈创意,却感受不到灵魂。但在Refer 可以感受到主厨的专注,在每一道菜品上感受到他个人的风格。食毕,最后涌上来的感动。

    听了很多Talib的经历与故事,这一路走来命运多舛,起起伏伏。但他的菜品是有灵魂的,可以将他所拥有的经历、思想、文化,融入到他的创作里。

    接下来期待他发光发热,Refer在北京是个特立独行的存在,也为京城中的西餐注入一股新意。

    Refer

    📍太古里北区N8座5层朝阳区,北京

    🏷微信公众号: restaurantrefer

     

    (Visited 68 times, 1 visits today)