Scooping 7 Michelin Stars: Niko Romito Embraces Vegetables

It’s been over three years since I last visited Reale, a celebrated restaurant situated in the remote town of Castel di Sangro nestled in the mountains of Abruzzo in central Italy. It is not a tourist town and takes about 1.5 hours driving from Naples. It is interesting that a world-famous three-starred Michelin restaurant is housed in a time-honoured 16th century monastery.

Chef Niko Romito’s surging presence around the world started recently through a collaboration with Bulgari hotels. Before that he was very low-profile and a bit mysterious, but the truth is he already received three Michelin stars when he was only 39 years old in 2013. He is a self-trained chef and because of this his cuisine initially received mixed reviews.

His three-starred Michelin restaurant, Reale, ranks 15th in the World’s 50 Best Restaurants 2022 list. Much like a hermit dwelling in a 500-year-old monastery, the restaurant brings a minimalist Italian aesthetic to the forefront, which makes it all the more enchanting. Having partnered with Bulgari hotels, he has set sail for the world: Milan, Shanghai, Beijing, Dubai and Paris – next openings Rome and Tokyo– securing seven stars all together if counting the two in Dubai. He reinvents contemporary Italian classic cuisine for the Bulgari restaurants where the menu expresses the culture, elegance, vitality and what it means to be「Made in Italy」.

Minimalism at Reale

In Reale’s dining room, eight sets of wooden tables and chairs are spaciously arranged against the original grey floor tiles of the monastery, accented by chalk-white tablecloths and surrounded by dappled soft-cream walls. Dining here is like riding back in time to the 16th century where you are instantly immersed in the thickness of history.

@ristorantereale_instagram

Romito deploys sophisticated techniques like pressure cooking to preserve the best flavours of the ingredients as he combines complexity with elegance in his deceptively simple dishes. I truly admire his ability to have established his distinct style in today’s French-influenced culinary world.

You can see different landscapes from each window. The room I stayed at Casadonna was the very same room Romito previously lived in. Facing the same direction as the floor-to-ceiling windows in the dining room, the windows in my room offered a charming view of the unspoiled nature and beautiful landscapes of the surrounding hills. One must be broad-minded if he/she gets to see this every day.

Vegetable tasting menu

Romito said, “Original flavours of the ingredients are their true value and their most powerful language, and the challenge for chefs is to present these to people through cooking.” The choice to reopen Reale at the end of March with a tasting menu dedicated to vegetables is the result of a creative process born 20 years ago.

“This year I realized more than ever that vegetables are those in which our creativity is expressed almost spontaneously, and vegetables have a tapestry of colours, tastes and flavours with gustatory hues that other ingredients lack.”Romito also told me that he had been thinking about vegetable dishes for a long time and that Covid had given him the courage to make this happen. The vegetable menu was almost a natural choice, “Once I created a dish, a dish that was new to me, that I had never eaten anywhere before, for me it meant a new energy, a new life.”

Started with an airy freshness of spring and moved on to the bitterness of summer, the tasting menu represents Romito’s research of the vegetable world which strives to experiment new possibilities of flavour combinations. He said this menu may not be loved by everyone, and I knew what he meant by that because many flavours were completely new experience even to me.

The sweet and rich Green Peas Ice Cream featured peeled fresh green peas which created a much richer texture and were further enhanced by green peas extract. This was followed by fine slices of carrot arranged like a flower and slightly caramelised to contrast the carrot puree with broth underneath that carried a salted black olive taste. A breezy start.

The bread placed at the center of our table was the star of the night. It’s recognised as one of the most influential breads in Italy, if not the most influential.

Green peas ice cream/Bread

The Roasted Savoy Cabbage, created by Romito in 2016, is a dish that is not immediately recognisable from its appearance. The caramelised puree on top was actually sautéed cabbage leaves, while the fibrous underside was cabbage core. The cabbage was first roasted and seasoned with salt, wine and vinegar before being aged, steamed and thinly sliced to add flavour and complexity. The texture might strike a Chinese as it is similar to that of suancai or lacto-fermented cabbage produced in Northeastern China. This purely plant-based main course reflects an inventive combination of elaborate preparation and local tradition, boasting elegant flavours and fibrous texture mixed with a hint of distilled anise.

Roasted Savoy Cabbage

After watching a video of how the dish was made, I have to say that the complex work required for such a minimalist presentation was beyond my imagination.

As one of the starring dishes of the menu, the Broccoli Leaf and Anise saw a green leaf quietly dressed in a coffee-coloured sauce, giving an intense contrast in colour and speaking proudly of Romito’s idea of using “whole food” as he wouldn’t want any part of the vegetable to go to waste. The broccoli leaf, which we normally discard when we cook, was marinated in a brine and brushed with broccoli extract and anise. Marination is one of Romito’s favourite preparation methods.

Broccoli leaf and anise

Roasted in salt and thinly sliced, the celeriac had a slightly crisp exterior and was underlain by a rich hazelnut cream with cardamom extract for a delightful accompaniment.

Romito’s dishes would make you think, especially for those who love cooking, “How did he make all these happen?”

The Radicchiowas wrapped in foil and baked until soft. It had a base made from peanut butter and peanut water. The bitterness of radicchio extract was a bit strong initially, but when tasted together with the peanut sauce, it was both a contrast and a complement.

Radicchio and peanuts

The Fusilli with Chicken, Rosemary and Green Pepper Powder was sharp in style as with the tomato capellini I’ve had. The pasta had all the flavours fully absorbed and yet remained extremely chewy, perhaps exuding a bit of exotic, irresistible curry vibe thanks to the green pepper powder and thick chicken stock.

A permanent item on the menu, the Gratinée Cauliflower was incredibly sweet and crunchy. To make the dish glossy while keeping it easy enough to grab the sauce, the top half of cauliflower was baked in the oven until turned light brownish at a high temperature and the other half was diced and baked with a drizzle of olive oil and finally beaten to a creamy texture and seasoned with salt and a few drops of vinegar. It’s completed with rosemary extract and a zesty sauce when served. By using multiple preparations for the same ingredient, Romito creates a totality that is much larger than its parts combined.

Gratinée cauliflower

Cooking school

Romito and I talked about cooking schools three years ago, he joked that he decided to set up his own because he had never been to one. Perhaps because he was not constrained by a framework, he was able to establish his own style. Romito values giving his students real practical training at the cooking school and graduates are in high demand. “The pandemic has slowed us down in the last two years, but within a year and a half the school will be up and running. It will be open to international students and lessons will be taught in Italian and English. We are also working with academic institutions like università Sapienza di Roma, università di Milano, and Politecnico di Milano to develop increasingly important group diningsubjects and when it opens we can have only about 50 students a year because it will be customised.” he said. 

Whether it’s Reale or collaboration restaurants with Bulgari, retaining top talents is essential to a restaurant’s sustainable operation, especially in the post-covid era.

Romito said, “I believe that the experience of food is much more than just the food on the plate, but about the pursuit of ambience and excellence.” He talks with confidence and intelligenceand he is always so friendly that it is almost impossible to imagine him getting angry.

At Reale, it’s evident that Romito ennobles simple ingredients through research and intuition,and even if the dishes are not understood by all people, he is always fearless in expressing his true self and genuine affection for food.


-END-


Article/Photo:Jocelyn 华姐

Cover:Niko Romito and Cristiana Romito@ristorantereale_instagram

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 159

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
A Jewel in the Sand: Three-starred Restaurant Uliassi

It might be a bit of a cliché, but the story started when a boy fell in love with a...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】摘下第七颗星 意大利三星主厨Niko Romito回归自我 拥抱蔬食料理

距离上次来到Reale已经是三年多前,餐厅位于意大利中部Abruzzo大区的非观光城镇Castel di Sangro的山脚下,那不勒斯开车过去,要1.5小时的车程。很难想象在古老的修道院里,居然有着举世闻名的米其林三星餐厅。

Niko Romito近期越来越高的曝光率,应该是他的名字开始进入全球各地的宝格丽酒店,在那之前,总觉得他低调又神秘。2013年才39岁就拿下三星,他自学成才,因为非科班出身,让他的料理受到评价两极的待遇。

他主理的米其林三星餐厅Reale在2022年全球50佳餐厅排行榜中名列第15位。像隐士般立足于自家500年历史修道院里,他将极简的意大利美学发挥到极致,更让人心神向往。而与宝格丽酒店合作开始,他便搭着宝格丽酒店的大船浩浩荡荡地驶进全世界:米兰,上海,北京,杜拜以及巴黎,接下来还有罗马跟东京,包含迪拜的两星,Niko已累积7颗星星。Romito在宝格丽酒店合作旨在重塑当代意式经典菜肴,呈现「意大利制造」中所蕴含的文化、优雅与生命力。

三星本店Reale极简主义

Reale整间餐厅只有八张桌子,空间感在这里是重点。桌距非常大,一张张铺着白色桌布的木制桌椅放在修道院原始的灰色地砖上,乳白色墙壁甚至还有些斑驳,就像坐上时光列车回到16世纪一样,就这样置身在浓浓的历史感里。

@ristorantereale_instagram

Romito将食材的味道透过繁复的技巧,如渗透压将鲜味完全封锁在里面。菜品风格就是简约,将鲜味牢牢的锁在食材里头,呈现的只有简约的美感。佩服他能够在当今这个受法式料理影响的圈子当中,风格迥异的建立起自己的风格。

一窗一景,这次在Casadonna的房间是之前Niko Romito的居所,与餐厅的落地窗是同一方向,偌大的空间,窗外的景色成为最美丽的图画,如果每天都能面对如此美景,心胸又怎么不会开阔呢?

春夏季素食菜单

Romito曾经说过“食材的本味即是其真正的价值,亦是最有力的语言。厨师的挑战则在于如何在烹饪中将其呈现给世人。”这一次来访品尝的是三月底Reale重新开放,所推出的蔬食套餐,也是过去二十年来创作过程的结晶。

“今年我比以往都更意识到蔬食以一种完全自发的方式表达出我们的创造力,蔬菜的颜色、味道和风味,更拥有其他食材所缺乏的味觉色彩。”Romito也告诉我蔬食料理他已思考非常久,经历过此疫情让他更具有勇气来实现自己内心的想法。蔬菜菜单几乎是自然而然的选择,“一旦创造了一道菜品,一道对我来说全新的、从未在其他地方吃过的菜,对我来说这意味着新的创造性的生命力,新的能量。”

品尝菜单以轻盈的清新而甜美春天开始,然后进入迈入夏天的苦味。Niko Romito仿佛在试探食客味觉的底线,他说过这个套餐未必人人可以接受,我明白他的意思。因为许多的味道组合,对我而言都是全新体验,相当考验味蕾。

一开始的两道菜:豌豆冰淇淋,清甜浓郁,鲜嫩豌豆去皮,比原来想象中的更加浓郁。豌豆萃取液的存在,让味蕾绽放开来。接下来的胡萝卜切片像是一朵花呈现在我们眼前,也以不同的型态呈现,近乎焦糖味,下方的胡萝卜泥以及汤汁有微微的黑橄榄咸味,对比下显得更甜美,这是轻松的开始。

放置在餐桌正中的面包一直是当仁不让的主角,也是意大利公认名列前茅的面包。

绿豌豆冰淇淋/面包

几道印象特别深刻的菜品,烤卷心菜这道菜(Roasted Savoy Cabbage)是Niko Romito在2016年便创造,一上菜时完全看不出是什么,表面有焦糖味的puree其实是炒过的卷心菜叶,而下方有纤维感的则是卷心菜心,整颗卷心菜烤过后以盐、酒和醋调味,熟成增加风味增加复杂度,蒸熟切成薄片,对于中国人来说口感接近东北酸菜。做法繁复结合本地的传统菜以及全新的手法,创造出一道全素的主菜。蔬菜甜味与纤维感十足的菜心,混杂着若有似无的蒸馏茴香,很优雅的一道主菜。

烤萨沃伊卷心菜

看过整道菜制作过程的影片,我还是相当惊讶的。无法想象要外观极简的呈现背后的复杂度。

西兰花叶和茴香,这一季的菜单主打之一,看到一片绿色叶子在咖啡色的酱汁之中,色调上呈现强烈对比。我猜想主厨想使用“全食材”整颗蔬菜都不想浪费,平常被我们丢弃的西兰花叶使用盐水腌制,刷上西兰花提取物和茴香,主厨对于腌制情有独钟。

西兰花叶和茴香

在盐中烘烤过的块根芹切成薄片表面略带爽脆口感,底下是浓郁的榛子乳加上小豆蔻的提取液,是怡人的搭配。

Niko Romito的菜品会让人思考,尤其对于爱做菜的人会思考,“这一切是怎么发生的?”

红菊苣和花生看这道菜,先将红菊苣放入箔纸中烘烤至软。底部由花生酱与花生水构成的,加入红菊苣的提取物,以及菊苣的苦涩味,对我来说有些强烈。当下与花生酱汁的甘美香醇一同入口,既是对比又是互补。

菊苣和花生

菊苣和花生意大利螺丝面Fusilli配鸡肉、迷迭香和青椒粉。如同我品尝过的番茄水天使发意面,风格很明确,把所有的味道煮进面体里,但是面体又极为弹牙,这道意面也许因为青椒粉末以及浓厚鸡汤味,带来类似咖哩一般的异国风味,凡人无法抗拒。

花椰菜这道菜一直在菜单上,鲜甜无比,品尝来爽脆。为保持菜品的光泽度使其容易沾附酱汁,上半部的西兰花仅保留其原型,放入烤箱高温上色,西兰花丁后淋上橄榄油烘烤,最后打成奶霜口感,并以盐和几滴醋调味。上菜时佐以迷迭香萃取和酸味酱汁。 他一直喜爱同一食材,多重做法。

烤花椰菜

烹饪学校

三年前曾与他聊过烹饪学校,他打趣说他因为没有去过烹饪学校所以决定自己办一所。或许因不受到框架左右,更能树立自己的风格。Romito表示他重视让学生有真正实务训练的机会,从他的学校出来的人才炙手可热,“这两年的疫情使我们进展减缓,但在一年半之内,烹饪学校即将建成,向国际学生开放,意大利文以及英文双语授课,我正在开发越来越重要的团体餐饮主题,与我们合作的有罗马一大、米兰大学、米兰理工学院(l’università Sapienza di Roma,l’università di Milano,Politecnico di Milano),开业后每年可以有大约50名学生,这将是量身定制的课程,所以人数不会太多。”他说道。 

无论是Reale或是与宝格丽合作在世界各地的的餐厅,都能先留下最优秀的人才,这是餐厅在可持续性经营方面非常重要的条件,这一点在后疫情时代尤其重要。

Romito曾经说过:“我相信对食物的体验将远超于餐盘内的佳肴,而是将上升到一种氛围的追求以及精益求精的人文关怀。”跟Romito聊天可以感受到他的智慧,他总是非常放松,几乎无法想象他会有生气的时刻。

在Reale可以看出他的追求在体验平凡食材的可能性,即便不见得所有食客都买单,依旧在他的菜品中感受到他,一往无前表现真实自我的情怀。


-END-


文字/图片:Jocelyn 华姐

封面:Niko Romito和Cristiana Romito@ristorantereale_instagram

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 159

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:日本面临寿司鱼料短缺危机;獭祭将在纽约开设清酒酿酒厂

日本面临寿司鱼料短缺危机;獭祭将在纽约开...

关闭