In Search of the Best Pizza in the World – Pepe in Grani

There is no pizza like Franco Pepe’s. Nowadays everywhere is accessible, but the best pizza in the world still gets you on the road to explore the old, narrow, cobbled alleys of Caiazzo. For food travellers, it’s always worth the effort.

The Best Pizza in the World

Opened in 2012, Pepe in Grani in Caiazzo, Campania, Italy, with Franco Pepe at the helm, has won numerous world awards and has been hailed as the best pizza in the world by the global media.

@pepe_ingrani_instagram

Franco Pepe has pizza running through his veins. Having learned pizza making from his father and grandfather, this third generation pizza master has taken his family’s business to the highest level of pizza craftsmanship while placing greater emphasis on ingredients and promoting the slow food movement that began in Italy. Audiences around the world have learned of him through shows like Netflix’s Ugly Delicious, but it was kind of hard for me to accept that the host David Chang gave Franco Pepe fewer minutes than Domino’s.

Pepe in Grani is housed in a historic three-storey stone-walled building with various dining areas, private dining rooms and spectacular views. This pizza pilgrimage to Caiazzo was an amazing experience. Apart from using ingredients sourced from local farmers and producers, Pepe goes to great lengths to source the best local DOP-certified ingredients, such as tomatoes and other vegetables, mozzarella, fruits as well as olive oil.

The One and Only Dough Magic

As Franco Pepe explained to us, the magic of his pizza starts with the flour, a unique blend made to his precise specifications. All the dough is left to settle in a special wooden box for well over 12 hours, during which time it becomes so extensible as if it was breathing. Caiazzo can make over a thousand pizzas each night.

Pepe places great emphasis on the seasonality of food. He told us that autumn is the best time for ingredients, so I promised myself that I must come back in autumn. We ordered the tasting menu to try to have a more complete tour of Pepe’s glorious pizzas. Having heard so many stories about him, this time my quest could finally be fulfilled.

@pepe_ingrani_instagram

The fried pizza “Sensazione di Costiera” at the beginning of the dinner was already enticing. It had garlic, local fresh tomato, chilli pepper, “Cetara” anchovies, parsley and lemon zest. It was flavourful, spicy, crispy and chewy at the same time. My knowledge about pizza was renewed instantly – “so that’s how good it can be” – my soul thrilled with excitement.

Next up was fried cone pizza “Ciro”, which had a crunchy crust stuffed with melted 12 months aged Grana Padano DOP cheese cream, rocket pesto, and “caiazzana” dehydrated olive. The flavour was rich, sharp and intensely structured; it’s recommended to suck out the sauce a bit while taking a bite as if eating a Soup Dumpling like a pro, but of course you may not want to eat it too slow if you want to enjoy its best temperature.

Sensazione Di Costiera/Ciro

Margherita Sbagliata is Franco Pepe’s iconic pizza. “Sbagliata” means “wrong” in Italian. So why using the word here? Franco’s pizza margherita is a unique twist on the traditional version, featuring DOP buffalo mozzarella cheese as the base while all the toppings – baked local tomato sauce, basil sauce and extra virgin olive oil – are added only when the pizza comes out of the oven. Exactly the opposite of the traditional procedure.

A pizza that showcases the beauty of the ingredients, “La Scarpetta” is prepared with buffalo mozzarella cheese, tomatoes compote, freeze-dried basil and once out of the oven, 24 month aged Grana Padano DOP cheese shaved in fine slices. “The idea for Scarpetta was actually inspired by my good friend Pietro Zito from restaurant Antichi Sapori in Puglia. Once he made a pasta dish for me with tomato sauce and basil leaves, but what’s wonderful was the electrifying combination of warm pasta and cold tomato sauce in my mouth and I said to Pietro, ‘Oh my God, I’m going to make a pizza with a similar concept.’ So I made La Scarpetta.” Franco said. His Scarpetta was awarded the dish of the year 2017 prize at the culinary convention Identitá golose, which was very significant as that was the first time that such a prize was awarded to a pizzaiolo instead of a restaurant chef. Franco said, “I should share my honour with my great friend Pietro.”

Margherita Sbagliata/La Scarpetta

The next was “Calzone con Scarola Riccia”. Calzones are sometimes referred to as folded over pizzas or inside-out pizzas which originated in Napoli in the 18th century. Here the filling was curly escarole, anchovies from the coast, capers, and Caiazzo black olives. With fresh seasonal vegetables whiffing in a hint of bitterness, the pizza was surprisingly refreshing and full of summer vibes.

The unforgettable pizza feast ended with a sweet fried pizza with Crisommola apricot from the Mount Vesuvius area outside Napoli. My other half is a true pizza lover and we’ve tried a lot of gourmet pizzas together. I just never thought I’d be able to let myself go completely carb-unconscious on this ultimate pizza meal. Franco Pepe’s pizzas are worth it.

Calzone Con Scarola Riccia@pepe_ingrani_instagram/Crisommola Del Vesuvio

When we were in the kitchen I couldn’t help but notice the fryer – it looked very similar to the kind a tempura chef would use. Apart from the amazing toppings, I was stunned by how neatly the pizza dough was done. The tempura I tried in Tokyo was similarly good, but except that I would have never imaged that it was possible to create such a smooth and clean fried pizza dough. I’ve heard so many gourmets tell me that Franco’s pizzas are out of this world. I now get to know what they mean in real terms. 

Authentica – A Special Pizza Space for Eight

“Authentica is a space for me to express myself freely and for people to get to know Franco Pepe both from a human and a professional point of view.” Pepe said.

Pepe mentioned that his father used to discuss passionately about pizza with his friends or customers after work. As a great connoisseur of the local terroir, he would source the best ingredients to put onto pizzas, including porcini and oregano from The Matese mountains around Caiazzo. Flavours and aromas are his narratives. That’s how Franco came up with the idea of Authentica.

“Ten years ago I would never have imagined creating Authentica, where in addition to my pizzas, there are also great wines. Pizza has always been seen as a popular, everyday food, and that’s changed by Authentica.” he said.

@pepe_ingrani_instagram

Franco Pepe has worked with over 25 Michelin-starred chefs here. “They create their own recipes on pizza and they love this kind of collaboration. They incorporate pizza making ideas and work passionately behind a workbench, for a beautiful night and a table of eight guests.” Here you can listen to the story behind the pizza, watch Franco Pepe make his famous pizzas and enjoy as they are cooked in an oven heated to 500℃ in less than 30 minutes. A place where it is possible to pair good food and good wine with intimacy and exclusivity.

“It’s a place to create, innovate, come and make pizzas together. That’s Authentica.” Authentica is a cultural space where he can reflect upon the 10 years of running the business, and the days when he used to make pizzas with his father.

Downstairs, Pepe in Grani makes over 1000 pizzas each evening and has over 500 diners visiting every day. Yet few people would expect there are rooms on the top floor of a pizzeria for overnight stays. For Franco Pepe, Authentica is a special place that offers his handmade pizzas based on the slow food concept. The space is reserved only for special guests and is only used a few nights a month. It is said that celebrities and top persons from all over the world come from far and wide to this place.

Franco Pepe and guests at Authentica@pepe_ingrani_instagram

Tasty and Healthy Mediterranean Pizza Menu

For some years Pepe and his multi-disciplinary team have undertaken a path aimed at revolutionising the most popular dish in the world by balancing carbohydrates, proteins and fats while adding dietary fibers from vegetables served in an extra plate. He has recently joined efforts with universities and Italian Association for Cancer Research to further promote the concept of healthy eating. In 2017 Pepe was elected Ambassador of the Mediterranean Diet, and has since been applying this philosophy to all his pizzas.

For those coming from neighbouring cities such as Rome and Naples, the most direct way to get to Caiazzo is by car. It’s a 50km drive from Naples, but the journey is a beautiful one. If you’re lucky, you can secure one of the two rooms on the top of the pizzeria.

@pepe_ingrani_instagram

As a strong proponent of the local food movement, Franco Pepe uses DOP ingredients. He commands with passion in the kitchen and demands excellence from himself, his staff and his production. His creation embraces seasonality, a hallmark of the slow food movement. As a brave and determined food traveller, being able to drive a few hours to taste the best pizza in the world is truly a once in a lifetime experience.

A great pizzaiolo and true artist, Franco Pepe takes the art of pizza making to the next level and has lived up to his name as the world’s number one.

Franco Pepe and Jocelyn

Article/photo:Jocelyn 华姐

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 176

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Scooping 7 Michelin Stars: Niko Romito Embraces Vegetables

It's been over three years since I last visited Reale, a celebrated restaurant situated in the remote town of Castel...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】顶级意大利披萨的巅峰之作 – Pepe In Grani

没有披萨像Franco Pepe的一样。在这全球皆可抵达的时代,世界上最好的披萨需要专程而去,前往 Caiazzo古老、狭窄、黑暗的石头小巷。对于美食旅行者来说,努力是值得。

世界披萨之巅

位于意大利Campania大区Caiazzo的Pepe in Grani,2012年开业,由Franco Pepe掌舵,屡获世界大奖,被全球媒体誉为世界最佳披萨。

@pepe_ingrani_instagram

Franco Pepe的血管里流淌着披萨。在从父亲和祖父那里学习了披萨制作之后,这位第三代披萨大师更重视食材以及推崇意大利开始的慢食运动,并将他的家族事业带到了披萨工艺的最高水平。全球的观众也可以在过Netflix Ugly Delicious第一季的披萨特看到他的身影,但令人无法接受的是,David Chang给Franco Pepe的分钟数比达美乐还少,实在是太不可思议。

Pepe in Grani位于一座历史悠久的三层石头建筑中,拥有不同的餐区、包间、壮观的景色。前往Caiazzo的披萨朝圣之旅是一次独特的体验。他专门使用来自当地农民和生产者的食材。他不遗余力地采购当地最好的DOP认证食材,例如西红柿和其他蔬菜,以及橄榄油。

独一无二的面粉魔法

正如Franco Pepe向我们解释的那样,他的披萨魔法始于面粉,按照他的要求,独一无二的订制混合面粉。所有的面团在特制木箱中放置12小时,充满弹性的面团宛如活物。在Caiazzo一个晚上销售大约一千个披萨。

他重视季节性。Pepe向我们透露,秋天是食材的最佳时间,而我们在六月份入夏时抵达,我默默地对自己说秋天的时候一定要再来。为了能够一次品尝更多种类的披萨,我们点了品尝套餐。听到多次关于他的传说,此刻终于可以获得解答。

@pepe_ingrani_instagram

一开始的炸披萨(SENSAZIONE DI COSTIERA 感受海岸线)就先声夺人。由大蒜、西红柿、辣椒、凤尾鱼组成,加上欧芹及柠檬皮。又香又辣,面皮外脆富有弹性,一下子刷新对披萨的印象。瞪大眼睛的我也进入全新的世界。“原来如此啊!”感觉自己的灵魂颤抖了一下。

接下来杯状的炸披萨“CIRO”,酥脆Q弹的饼皮里包裹着加热融化的Grana Padano、芝麻叶做成的青酱、本地的脱水橄榄粉末。外皮酥脆而干净,浓郁滋味直冲脑门,必须使用小笼包的吃法,一边吸取酱汁一边咬下披萨,才能保持优雅,当然为了保持温度,速度也是需要的。

Sensazione Di Costiera/Ciro

MARGHERITA SBAGLIATA是Franco Pepe的标志性产品,SBAGLIATA在意大利文里是坏掉的意思,为什么说是坏掉的呢?Franco的版本跟传统的MARGHERITA披萨是相反的,以本地认证的Mozzarella为底,本地烘烤番茄酱汁在上,也成为了识别度最高的披萨,当然罗勒酱汁,特级初榨橄榄油也是不能少的。

下一道LA SCARPETTA由Mozzarella,生西红柿、冻干罗勒和最后24个月的Grana Padano DOP薄片组成,这道披萨尽显食材之美。Franco说道:“La Scarpetta的食谱就是从我的好朋友Pietro Zito那里(Antichi Sapori 餐厅)诞生的。有一次他准备了一盘番茄酱意面搭配罗勒叶。我同时尝到那绝妙的冷热交错番茄酱风味,我告诉Pietro,‘天哪,我要做类似概念的披萨饼’,我做了La Scarpetta。”2017年他获得了一个重要的奖,这是第一次年度最佳菜肴没有颁给厨师,而是颁给一个披萨师傅——“我把我的荣誉分享给我伟大的朋友-Pietro。”他说道。(相关阅读:让荒芜大地回春的意大利灵魂料理 Pietro Zito和他的古早味)

Margherita Sbagliata/La Scarpetta

接下来是炸披萨(饺)CALZONE CON SCAROLA RICCIA,CALZONE源于18世纪的拿坡里,这个版本的内馅是卷曲菊苣、搭配凤尾鱼、刺山柑(水瓜柳)、黑橄榄等等,在夏季的意大利也可以品尝到许多带有苦味的蔬菜,这道披萨品尝来意外爽口,充满季节感。

最后享用了杏桃味的甜味炸披萨,以此结束了一场高潮迭起而又难忘的披萨套餐。另一半是一位披萨狂热爱好者,跟着他我品尝了不少美食家等级披萨,然而我从来没有想过,我可以从头到尾的完全没有冷场的,品尝这样的全套油炸碳水化合物,因为他值得。

Calzone Con Scarola Riccia@pepe_ingrani_instagram/Crisommola Del Vesuvio

当我们在厨房参观的时候我特意关注了他们的炸锅,看起来真的跟天妇罗师傅用的很相似,除了配料精选之外,让我改观的还是披萨的饼皮可以做到如此干净,感受不到饼皮里的油,这可是面团呢!除了在东京品尝天妇罗之外,我几乎无法想象炸过的面粉团可以如此干净,过去我听过太多美食家告诉我说Franco的披萨是独一无二的,但只有亲身经历过才能够体会奥妙之处。

Authentica – 仅供8位幸运客人的板前披萨空间

“Authentica是我真实展现自己的空间,让人们从人性和专业的角度了解Franco Pepe的地方。”他说道。

Franco提到他父亲以前晚上结束工作时,会和朋友或顾客见面,跟他们讲述披萨。他是很厉害的风土鉴赏家,他找寻顶级的食材,如一种牛肝菌,比如matese山牛至,他会把它们放在披萨上。他会通过味道和香气讲述故事。也因此Franco想到创造Authentica这个空间。

“十年前我未曾想过会创造Authentica,在这里除了我的披萨之外,还有顶级佳酿。披萨一直被认为是受欢迎的庶民食物,这一切在Authentica被颠覆了。”他说道。

@pepe_ingrani_instagram

Franco Pepe曾经与超过25位星级厨师在不同时间于此合作交流。“他们在我的披萨上,创造自己的食谱,而星厨们也很喜爱这样的合作。星级厨师结合了披萨厨师傅理念,这一个晚上的美丽激情,只为了8位客人。”在此可以听披萨背后故事,听配方背后的想法,看Franco Pepe亲手制作披萨,看如何在半小时内加热到500度的烤箱中烹饪,分享品尝,并搭配酒。

“这是创造与创新的空间,来到这里一起做披萨,这就是Authentica。”在Authentica这是一个文化场所,让他有时间来反思从开业以来的10年,包括他与父亲曾经做过的披萨。

楼下Pepe In Grani每天晚上售出近一千个披萨,每天有四、五百人到来,而最顶楼有房间可以过夜。一个披萨店,人们不会料到它会有房间。但对Franco Pepe来说,Authentica空间是特别的接待场所,提供有慢食概念的披萨。这个空间仅仅对于特别的客人预订,一个月也只有几个晚上会使用。据说全球的明星跟贵族都不远千里的来到这个空间。

Franco Pepe和客人在Authentica@pepe_ingrani_instagram

美味又健康的地中海披萨菜单系列

透过Franco Pepe的地中海披萨菜单系列,他团队有专业生物化学专家,精心策划出一场碳水化合物革命,用“额外的蔬菜”来摄入纤维,并搭配蘸取酱汁与披萨一起食用。他最近与大学合作,以及米兰AIRC抗癌研究组织,这是他们第一次从披萨师傅这边听到这样的想法。五年前他成为地中海饮食大使后,他也试图将此健康理念应用于在所有的披萨上 。

对于从罗马和拿坡里等邻近大城市专程来品尝Pepe in Grani,去Caiazzo最直接的方式是租车。从拿坡里开车需要50公里车程,一路上风光明媚。运气好的话可预订到餐厅楼上仅有两间客房的其中一间。

@pepe_ingrani_instagram

Franco Pepe是忠实的本地食材运动支持者,他使用来自DOP认证的食材。他在厨房里指挥时充满热情。他要求自己、他的员工和他的披萨做到卓越。出品也支持季节性,这是慢食运动的标志。身为重度美食旅行者,能开车几个小时品尝世界上最佳的披萨,真的是一生难忘的体验。

Franco Pepe是匠人也是艺术家,以一己力量来颠覆披萨给人的观感,他没有辜负世界第一这个头衔。

Franco Pepe和Jocelyn

文字/图片:Jocelyn 华姐

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 159

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:北京Bottega荣获亚太第二披萨奖项;香港百年老字号莲香楼闭店

北京Bottega荣获亚太第二披萨奖项;...

关闭