Generic selectors
    Exact Matches
    Search in title
    Search in content
    按标题搜寻
    Search in pages

    An Italian Sunday in Museum: NEW WAVE by DA VITTORIO

    Text: Jocelyn Chen

    Photo: Ye Shi

    Laid-back yet full of elegance, the concept of bistronomy is becoming increasingly popular around the world, and its latest addition in China is the recent opening of NEW WAVE by DA VITTORIO, an Italian restaurant located at UCCA Edge in Shanghai, and headed by former DA VITTORIO Shanghai sous chef Francesco Bonvini. With fine dining standards and intimate ambience, the restaurant embraces each guest who walks into the culinary gallery in search of an aesthetic baptism of art and gastronomy.

    DA VITTORIO Shanghai, a Michelin two-starred establishment since its opening two years ago, has already become one of the most difficult to book Western restaurants (among Ultraviolet and others) in the city for its reputation as a worldwide point of reference. This time the opening of its new branch in the museum has received a lot of attention from the industry as well. The name of the restaurant – NEW WAVE – is derived from the opening exhibition “’85 New Wave: The Birth of Chinese Contemporary Art” in 2007, curated by Beijing UCCA and regarded as a major step forward to present a history of the Chinese avant-garde.

    There are less than a dozen Michelin-starred restaurants in museums around the world, and my favourites include Odette, a three star housed in the National Gallery Singapore, and Nerua, a onestar in the Guggenheim Bilbao Museum in Spain, which I’d pay regular visits to every year before the pandemic. Fortunately in 2019 I also visited Enrico Bartolini, a recently awarded three star on the third floor of the Museo delle Culture in Milan.

    The use of minimalism and soft hues may be a common ground for these Michelin restaurants nestled in museums, because they can become a clean canvas, an empty space for artists to splash colours and ideas. However, to meet the expectations of visitors, museum restaurants sometimes need to offer dishes that correspond to the exhibition’s theme, and this can indeed pose challenges for the chefs.

    NEW WAVE by DA VITTORIO is located on the 3rd floor of the newly launched UCCA Edge which forms an integral part of the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art complex. Positioning itself as a bistrot, NEW WAVE will also be making slight adjustments to the menu to echo with the exhibition, making it both suitable for a short lunch break for visitors to the exhibition, and for guests coming specifically for a hearty meal at the restaurant. Shanghai is not short of decent French bistrots, but perhaps the city has been waiting for a proper Italian bistrot like NEW WAVE.

    The name behind DA VITTORIO – the Cerea family – is the most profitable Italian fine dining group, leaving second place far behind. In fact, with its many brands and events, DA VITTORIO is already well versed in all aspects of restaurants and hospitality, such as its caffe at the Bergamo airport (before the pademic), pastry shops in town and Michelin restaurants in partnership with various hotels. With its fully developed menu items and profound experience of the industry, one could imagine how easy it would be for DA VITTORIO to tap into the bistrot scene.

    Executive Chef,Francesco Bonvini and author

    The word Ristorante refers to a formal restaurant in Italian, and Osteria is more of a family-style eatery, close to what we call a bistrot. But words do not necessarily represent the reality lies within, if you consider the three-starred Osteria Francescana and the two-starred Yuzhilan Chengdu which was originally registered as a snack bar.

    Almost all Italy’s fine bistrots are operated by three-starred chefs, like luxury brands and their secondary lines. Examples include La Piola by Piazza Duomo in Alba, Il Calandrino by Calandre, Spazio by Niko Romito, Mudec Bistrot by Enrico Bartolini, and La Cantalupa next to Da Vittorio. After all, it’s just natural to showcase the chefs’ skills and expertise to make their restaurants stand out from the rest.

    Centred around BISTROT concepts, NEW WAVE’s aesthetic is exuberant of dynamism and vibrancy with white drapes, abundant natural light and anairy, spacious design. I already missed Italy the moment I walked in.

    Chef Francesco says the view of the sunrise from the kitchen makes them feel relaxed and ready to start the day afresh. The spacious table spacing is not strictly bistrot style, giving a sense of luxury and abundent privacy, and the arched doors and windows with operable glass ceilings are already fine-dining decor. Though curtain of the glass ceilings are usually open at night, it would also be nice if it could be left open during the day to let in the winter sunlight.

    From to top to bottom:The interior;The kitchen;Executive Chef, Francesco Bonvini

    Executive Chef Francesco had experience working in Australia for two years before he worked at DA VITTORIO and DA VITTORIO Shanghai for over seven years. I met him first when he was working in Italy previously, and it took me by awe witnessing the full commitment shared by him and his team preparing the restaurant. I think this kind of spirit is just encoded in their genes. My better half once told me that the dedication of DA VITTORIO’s Italian team is beyond comparison, and it seems to me that the Shanghai team is the same.

    The menu at NEW WAVE is as bold and varied as Francesco’s fun-loving personality. Firstly, you’ll be greeted by a colourful whirlwind of delicate starters to kick off the meal like a Sunday holiday in Italy.

    Started with gazpacho served in one of Andy Warhol’s Campbell’s Soup Cans(just kidding), the dish is made with a base of black olives and preserved lemons, covered in a foam of fresh tomatoes and red pepper juice, and topped with crushed breadcrumbs to increase your appetite with a multi-layered sweet and sour taste.

    Andy Warhol’s Campbell’s Soup Can, Gazpacho

    Among various starters including Italian-style pickled vegetables and seafood, I was particularly impressed by the chargrilled octopus with broccoli and lemon. The octopus is slow-cooked in its own juice without adding any extra water, resulting in a fork-tender meat that only MMB’s version can match (though the method is different). Here the taste is breezier and lighter. The black breadcrumbs are made from black olives, garlic and breadcrumbs that are air-dried and mixed in Mediterranean style which instantly wins the heart.

    This dish brings back memories of eating homemade octopus salad in Sicily, a dish usually served with lemon, potato and black olives. NEW WAVE offers a deconstructed and refined version.

    Another starter is amberjack with “aio ojo e peperoncino”. Chilled Japanese amberjack fish is marinated, dried and slightly seared to produce its beautiful colour, a method similar to tataki, and topped with a bright layer of Xinjiang sweet paprika and served with a clam concentrate and parsley sauce. The colour contrast is interesting: the red paprika, white mayonnaise, and dried garlic, echoing the colours on the Flag of Italy. The dish requires elaborate preparation and masterful skills while offering an outstanding crispness and presentation.

    Chargrilled octopus, broccoli and lemon/ Amberjack, “aio ojo e peperoncino”

    Chicken liver pâté with figs gives a very special mouthfeel. While some people find chicken liver a bit gamey, I enjoy its slightly bitter taste. Asian diners must be no stranger to chicken liver, but the pairing with figs adds to the texture and flavour of the whole.

    Pizza nuvola with culatello ham and burrata cheese in the sharing section is absolutely stunning. A secret recipe from DA VITTORIO, the pizza dough is baked to perfection until a crispy, chewy and bubbly crust is formed and paired with Italy’s finest ham and the sweet, rich cream and curds of the burrata underneath.

    Chef Francesco mentioned that the starters are served all at once for a reason, saying that it is a tradition at the Italian family table so he arranged for that to make everyone feel like home when they can’t go back to Italy.

    Chicken liver pâté with figs/ Pizza nuvola with culatello ham and burrata cheese

    Homemade fresh tagliolini with Japanese sea urchin: the sauce is made with garlic, whitebait filet, chillies, small tomatoes and fish stock, which is very tasty in itself, and the dish is finished with butter and served with fresh Japanese sea urchin. The method is traditional, but the difference lies in the proportions of ingredients and the heat control. A classic approach, but the result is a superior version of garlic chilli pasta, shining on its own even without the addition of sea urchin. I wish if there were more pasta dishes on the menu.

    Homemade fresh tagliolinipasta with Japanese sea urchin

    Homemade Bergamasca style fresh “Casoncelli” has the texture and appearance of a large Chinese dumpling, filled with walnuts and beef, and sweetened with a sultana sauce. The classic Risotto alla milanese with veal shank ragout and gremolada features starchy, firm rice and authentic flavours that I hope will continue to offer to diners.

    Homemade fresh “Casoncelli” Bergamasca style /

    Risotto alla milanese with veal shank ragout and gremolada

    The main course we ordered that day was roasted patagonia toothfish in yellow Mediterranean style sauce. The fish was cooked medium well and seasoned with creativity: yellow cherry tomato sauce, saffron potato foam on the side, and green spice granita in a lovely round shape, crushed black olives and breadcrumbs, all adding texture and layers to produce the luscious result. It was a little bit sweet for my palate, but the temperature, mouthfeel and colouring were splendidly done.

    roasted patagonia toothfish, yellow Mediterranean style sauce

    My favourite of the desserts was the torta di mele with lemon cream gelato, which is freshly baked and has to be ordered half an hour in advance. The shiny, homemade caramelised apples are placed on top of the sponge cake to be baked in the oven, a harmonious blend of sweetness and acidity for a heart-warming indulgence.

    Just like an Italian bistrot where the menu is often on a single page, you might feel the choice is limited, but quality is all that matters. The overall menu design of NEW WAVE is geared toward exquisiteness and subtlety, resembling that of an up-market boutique bistro.

    Torta di mele with lemon cream gelato

    Chef Francesco’s dishes look as colourful as his enthusiastic and positive personality. Perhaps a relaxed, active and curious mind is in the best position to yield productive results, or more specifically, beautiful dishes. The seafood at NEW WAVE is highly recommended as well and you can detact some traces of DA VITTORIO in it; overlaps exist but differences are clear. Sometimes you do get guests coming here and ask for DV’s dishes.

    NEW WAVE has a sommelier’s own wine list, a textbook-like booklet categorised by Italian regions, offering a glimpse into the scenic country. The list includes some of my favourite regional vines, such as Carricante from eastern Sicily and Vermentino from Sardinia, reminding me of those good old days on the island. There are many affordable options as well. Cocktails by the bar are not to be missed, and it’s said that they will be available to order independently in the future.

    Sure thing is, NEW WAVE is no ordinary bistrot. L’Avenue in Shenzhen also offers fine dining experience but with a relatively less formal menu and affordable prices. The growing popularity of bistrot and bistronomy is inevitable.

    Chef Francesco’s approach to dishes is not bound by time or space, and in the future the menu will continue to expand to various regions of Italy. Shanghai needs restaurants like this, after all, the city’s fine dining marketplace is yet to become saturated and, people here are always happy to try something new.

    With the arrival of NEW WAVE set to become a new hotspot in Shanghai, the restaurant’s performance is well on the way to put it among the few museum-bound Michelin restaurants around the world.

    -END-

     

    (Visited 315 times, 1 visits today)
    Read previous post:
    Shanghai One-Starred French Restaurant PHÉNIX Reborn|TastyTrip

    Now its previous rich Southern French flavours have recently been revamped by the new Executive Chef Ugo Rinaldo, who has...

    Close

【Jocelyn专栏】美术馆里的意大利星期天 NEW WAVE by DA VITTORIO

作者:陈庆华 Jocelyn Chen

摄影: 叶适 Ye Shi

全世界的趋势,让人轻松又优雅用餐的愈来愈受欢迎Bistronomy(小酒馆美学)概念越来越受欢迎。最近在上海又一代表作,座落于上海UCCA Edge 的意大利餐厅NEW WAVE by DA VITTORIO,由前上海DA VITTORIO副厨 Francesco Bonvini担任行政主厨,以Fine Dining的水平与轻松的姿态,拥抱每一个走进美术馆寻找艺术与饮食美学洗礼的人。

DA VITTORIO在上海才开幕两年就拿下二星,是在上海除了Ultraviolet之外最难预订的西餐厅,这次进驻美术馆再次受到瞩目。该餐厅取名为新潮(NEW WAVE),源自2007年基于中国艺术史重要的转折点,北京UCCA呈现的开馆展“‘85新潮:中国第一次当代艺术运动”。

放眼全球设在博物馆里的米其林星级餐厅不到十家,我属意的是新加坡国家美术馆里的三星餐厅Odette,以及在西班牙毕尔巴鄂古根海姆美术馆里的一星餐厅Neura,过去每年都固定回访这几家餐厅。幸运的在2019年我也拜访了米兰设计与文化博物馆里的新三星餐厅Enrico Bartolini。

观察博物馆米其林餐厅其实有共同特点,大多都走极简风,色彩柔和,犹如一张任由艺术家挥洒创作的画布。不过为了满足参观者的期待,美术馆餐厅有时需要配合展览档期提供呼应参展内容的料理,这些框架对厨师而言是一大考验。

这次开幕的NEW WAVE by DA VITTORIO位于上海崭新的艺术地标UCCA Edge三楼,它是UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心馆群的重要组成部分。New Wave餐点也会在菜色上配合展览而做些微变化,定位为Bistrot,或许是为了提供看展观众一个午餐短暂的休憩之处,当然也不能排除有人会为了一顿大餐而来到博物馆。而上海好的法式小酒馆不少,但一家细致的意大利Bistrot一直是个空缺。

Cerea家族是意大利获利最高的精致餐饮集团,远远把第二名甩在后面,其实对于旗下有众多品牌的DA VITTORIO而言,除了最著名的宴会活动举办,经营各种形式的餐厅早已驾轻就熟,譬如疫情前在贝加莫机场有快餐店,在城里有caffe,还有与不同酒店合作的星级餐厅。全方位发展下,菜单资料库可想而知,运用起来轻而易举,开Bistrot几乎是四两拨千斤。

行政主厨,Francesco Bonvini与作者

意大利语中Ristorante是正式的餐厅,而“Osteria”则较像家庭式的小餐馆,接近我们说的bistrot。但这只是字义上方向,无须在意。米其林三星的Osteria Francescana应该是挂羊头卖狗肉的正面意义吧?而成都米其林两星玉芝兰当初也是以小吃店登记。

回忆起来意大利本土几家”Fine bistrot”几乎都是三星主厨再开辟的,像是奢侈品里的副牌一样。例如Alba的piazza duomo开设La Piola,Calandre的Il Calandrino,Niko Romito的Spazio,Enrico Bartolini的Mudec Bistrot,以及Da Vittorio本店旁的La Cantalupa等等。毕竟功力在线,要让这些大厨不稍微展示一下功力,跟平常的bistrot不做区隔是不太可能的。

NEW WAVE虽然定义为bistrot,但环境已让人心动,大量的白色布幔与留白,营造非常明亮的视觉感受,那一刻真叫我想念意大利。

Francesco说,在厨房可以看见日出,让他们感觉很放松,新的一天又可以重新开始。此外,桌距并非小馆子风格,留有奢侈的空间感,加上拱形门窗与可开启的玻璃天花板,那气势绝对不下于Fine Dining。不过玻璃天花板通常在夜间开启,若能在日间敞开布帘让人享受冬日暖阳更好。

从上至下:餐厅内景;厨房;行政主厨,Francesco Bonvini;

主厨Francesco在DA VITTORIO本店跟上海分店一共工作了7年多,更早也在澳大利亚与意大利之间往返工作两年,早期他在意大利工作时我就见过他,这次看到他以及团队在NEW WAVE几乎是不眠不休的投入让我很感动,他们的DNA似乎如此。另一半曾经告诉我意大利DA VITTORIO的团队不知道放假为何物,看来上海团队也是如此。

NEW WAVE创作的菜品如同他乐天风趣的个性一样,大胆多变。首先一桌色彩斑斓的前菜就让人目不暇给,宛如在意大利的星期天。

一开始上桌的是安迪·沃霍尔康宝浓汤罐里的番茄冷汤,以黑橄榄以及腌制柠檬垫底,用新鲜的番茄和红甜椒汁打出来的泡沫,表面加上面包糠碎,以多层次的酸甜口感打开味蕾。

安迪·沃霍尔康宝浓汤罐,番茄冷汤

一大桌前菜当中有各类意大利风蔬菜腌制物以及海鲜等,让我特别印象深刻的是碳烤章鱼搭配西兰花与柠檬。章鱼经过低温慢煮,不用一滴水,肉质细嫩软烂,只有MMB的炭烤章鱼可以比拟,不过两者的工艺不同。NW炭烤味较轻盈,搭配的黑色面包糠是使用黑橄榄、大蒜与面包糠风干再混合制成,以地中海的方式烹饪,直击人心。

这道菜勾起我在西西里岛吃家常版土豆章鱼沙拉的回忆,一般是搭配柠檬、土豆与黑橄榄,NW提供的是一个经过解构再精细化的版本。

另外一道前菜琥珀鱼搭配传统意式酱汁,日本冰鲜进口的琥珀鱼经过腌制、晾干再稍微煎出颜色,类似tataki(炙烧)。另添艳红色新疆甜辣椒粉于其上,再搭配蛤蛎浓缩鱼清汤与巴西里酱,做成酱汁淋于其上。色彩上的璀璨对比,最后点上白色蛋黄酱与风干蒜片,是意大利国旗的颜色,肉身有爽脆感,表现杰出,工序上还是相当繁复。

而鸡肝冻搭配无花果,口感很特殊,虽然有些人嫌鸡肝味道腥,但我却很享受他的微微苦味,亚洲人对于鸡肝应该不陌生,鸡肝与无花果的搭配,增添鸡肝的口感以及风味,有加乘的效果。

分享菜单里的culatello火腿/burrata pizza ,外皮酥脆內里Q弹也令人惊艳,这是DV意大利本店的独家配方,Pizza本身经过蒸烤的工序,气孔也大,搭配意大利最顶级的火腿,下方满满的burrata,一口咬下内心很充实。

Francesco提到前菜一次全上的方式其实是别有用心,他说这是意大利家庭餐桌上的仪式,让大家在无法出国的时刻,也能像意大利人回家一样的感受。

鸡肝冻搭配无花果/ 意大利culatello火腿及布拉塔芝士披萨

自制手工细面搭配日本海胆,酱汁采大蒜、银鱼柳、辣椒、小番茄、鱼汤烧煮,本身就很鲜美,最后以黄油收汁,出餐时放上新鲜日本海胆。做法很传统,但差别在用料比例与火候掌握。虽说是传统手法,但加上鱼汤就是高级版的大蒜辣椒面,这道面不需要海胆就极致美味。若菜单上能再多加几种意大利面该有多好。

自制手工细面搭配日本海胆

自制贝加莫风格饺子皮的口感及外貌宛如山东大饺子,内馅有核桃、牛肉等,葡萄干做的酱汁带有甜味。经典款米兰烩饭搭配小牛腿肉,米粒够硬很地道,希望可以继续维持。

自制意大利贝加莫风格饺子/米兰式烩饭搭配小牛腿肉及意式香料

当天主菜我们点选的是犬牙鱼搭配地中海风格酱汁。当天鱼肉偏熟,但调味风格有趣,搭配小黄番茄酱汁,一旁是藏红花土豆泡沫,上桌前放入配上绿色的香料小冰沙 (granita),小圆球状非常可爱,鱼身撒上黑橄榄碎跟面包糠增加口感与层次,以我的口味来说甜味稍高。但在温度口感以及配色上做工极为细腻。

犬牙鱼搭配地中海风格酱汁

收尾的甜品里最受我喜爱的是苹果塔,是新鲜现烤的,必须提前半小时先点。表面透亮的焦糖苹果是由自家熬制的。客人点单后将海绵蛋糕与焦糖苹果一起进烤箱现烤。品尝起来酸甜交融,搭配蛋糕,暖心的美味。

就如在意大利的bistro菜单多以单页、一页,选择感觉不多,但兵不在多而在精。整体菜单设计非常讨巧几乎难以挑剔,NW整体而言菜品相当细致,更像是一家精品Bistrot。

软苹果蛋糕搭配柠檬冰淇淋

Francesco的菜看上去缤纷灿烂,如他的热情正面的性格,或许放松的姿态才能做出有趣且多变的料理,且他本身衣着风格也色彩丰富,真正的菜如其人。NEW WAVE的海鲜出品水平相当高,看得出来与 DA VITTORIO出自一个系统,虽有小重叠但也有所区隔,听到有客人来指名要DV的菜,让人啼笑皆非。

NEW WAVE甚至还有一套侍酒师自己编辑的酒单,像教科书一样的小册子,以意大利产区做分类,可让人一览意大利风光,酒单中可找到一些我喜爱又讨喜的区域原生葡萄,譬如西西里的Carricante与萨丁岛的Vermentino等等,让我想起在小岛上的畅饮时光,有许多实惠的选项。酒吧鸡尾酒也不遑多让,据说将来也会提供餐点单点服务。

NEW WAVE绝非寻常Bistrot,深圳的L’Avenue也是以Fine Dining的标准端出价格与形式都较为轻松的菜品,反应氛围轻松的Bistro愈受市场欢迎。

New Wave未来菜单仍会涵盖意大利各大区菜品。上海需要这样的餐厅,Fine Dining市场供需处于紧张状态,大家也乐于尝鲜。

NEW WAVE“新潮”的到来势必将成为上海新热点,有望进入全球少数博物馆米其林餐厅之列。

-END-

 

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 159

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:首版成都米其林指南意外发布;香港Frantzén’s Kitchen宣布关闭

首版成都米其林指南于1月6日意外发布;香...

关闭