Staff Shortage is the Biggest Threat to London’s Top Restaurants, Not Covid(Ⅱ)

Part.Ⅰ: Staff Shortage is the Biggest Threat to London’s F&B Industry

Mexican Restaurant KOL That Doesn’t Use Avocado

Santiago Lastra at KOL, the only Michelin-starred Mexican restaurant in Europe, is a Mexican chef who has travelled extensively in Europe to gain culinary experience in haute cuisine, including Paris and Mugaritz in northern Spain. He was later offered a position at Copenhagen’s prestigious Nordic Food Lab on a project titled “the secret of the tortilla”, where he created tortillas with local Scandinavian grains. In 2017, he was invited to launch NOMA Mexico as project manager, during which time he delved into the essence of Mexican cuisine. When the project ended, Santiago moved to London and dedicated his time to gathering inspiration for his debut restaurant KOL.

Young and friendly, Santiago Lastra is always congenial and pleasant to talk to. The restaurant features an open kitchen with a vibrant yet upscale feel. There are opinions where Mexican food is not associated with the fine-diningrealm, but KOL is a whole new experience.

The starting amuse bouche was a Mexican street food, made with masa dough which would float like a small boat after drying, hence the name “chalupa” (little boat). Mini-sized chalupa was topped with Cornish crab meat and diced enoki mushrooms, seasoned with Scotch bonnet pepper and mixed with marinated crab mousse and nutty pistachio mole. A vital and refreshing start.

Santiago says he wants to use more local ingredients in his cooking. Soon after Mexico’s multibillion-dollar avocado industry became something even more profitable than marijuana, it has attracted the interest of drug cartels. Initially they made legal profits by taking up local farms, but in recent years they have begun to take deeper control ofthe avocado market through unscrupulous means. Santiago wants to raise public awareness on this issue by using pistachio instead of avocado. “Pistachios are green, fatty nuts that have all the notes of avocado,” he said.

Nicoatole is a traditional Oaxacan dessert made from ground maize and sugar. The home-cooking version is usually flavoured with coconut, pineapple, mango and other seasonal fruits. KOL’s version is both savoury and sweet, using ground maize and roasted yellow peppers, slathered with French sour cream and topped with British caviar. It looked as beautiful as it was harmoniously textured and balanced.

Chalupa/Nicuatole

This was followed by raspado, which is a refreshing Mexican snack made with shaved ice and drizzled with various syrups. KOL’s version was savoury, featuring confit Scottish scallops, sunflower seed mole and golden beetroots covered in shaved ice. It was icy, funky and breezy.

Santiago Lastra said: “The food here represents Mexican culture and is prepared using British ingredients.” His favourite dish on the menu originates from his love for Scotland. Made in northwest Mexico using mashed beans, salsa and tortilla, the langoustine taco uses Scottish langoustine cooked with sour berries and sea buckthorn, a wild, spiny fruit that grows on sand dunes along the coasts of the UK, and served with pickled onions. Lime was replaced by fermented gooseberries and aged black tea kombucha, but the result had a bright, zesty sour flavour, exuding Mexican soul but all with British elements.

Raspados@carnivorr_instagram/Taco

Oaxaca is famously known as the Land of the Seven Moles, the most popular one being the sweet-savoury, smoky black mole. Somewhere between red and black in colour, coloradito shares the base ingredients of spices, onions, garlic and chocolate and features mashed ripe plantain as a secret ingredient for thickening and sweetening. KOL’s coloradito was made from fermented blackcurrants and 25 spices, served with dried roasted purple carrots that have been fermented for three and a half weeks and warm tortilla. Next up was halibut cooked in corn husk with fennel seeds and roasted succulents.

The main course Carnitas (literally “little meats”) was a classic Mexican dish – confit pork cheek with cabbage leaves, gooseberry salsa and black bean puree. The pork was served in fresh tortillas with crispy pork skin and aromatic herbs for a satisfying mouthfeel. The dish was both elegant and delicious, providing for decadent carbohydrates and fatsthat we all crave from time to time. The tortillas were placed in a specially designed wrapper to keep them warm throughout the dining process.

The pre-dessert was a pineapple weed, cucumber, strawberry and Mezcal sorbet. The dessert was a tamal: a home-made version would be a corn-based starchy dough mixed with lard or shredded chicken and steamed in corn husk. It can be eaten on its own or with a dipping sauce made from boiled red beans. KOL’s version was a caramelised brown butter corn cake wrapped in corn husk and served with buttermilk, strawberry and bee pollen. It reminded me of Chinese “zongzi”, a festive snack made with sticky rice combined with sweet or savoury fillings wrapped in bamboo or reed leaves.

Carnitas/Tamal

The stylish, bold restaurant proves a unique and elegant combination of Mexican culture and top-drawer ingredients from around the British Isles. I wouldn’t agree with using NOMA Mexico to describe KOL’s cuisine as they share different concept and style, but it’s true that Rene Redzepi has had a strong influence on the new generation of chefs. The likelihood for KOL to enter World’s 50 Best next year is high, and it will only get harder to get a reservation by then.

Author and Chef Santiago Lastra
Lyle’s: Modern British Cuisine with Breeziness

There are many other restaurants in London that are worth visiting, including Lyle’s, a Michelin-starred modern British cuisine restaurant. Chef James Lowe was the Head Chef at St. John Bread & Wine, famous for “nose to tail eating” and where he spent four years before he started a collective with the goal of creating a platform for chefs to promote a new approach to British cooking with a focus on small producers and collaboration.

Opened in 2014 with the inspiration to showcase the possibilities of cooking with British ingredients, Lyle’s was awarded a Michelin star 18 months after opening and in 2018 it was ranked among the World’s 50 Best Restaurants. Some food critics comment Lyle’s as being a good restaurant but is overrated to be on the World’s 50 Best list.

James Lowe@foodstorymedialtd_instagram

Lyle’s may not be the trendiest of restaurants, but the food is cooked with solid skills. We ordered pork aspic with apricot mustard sauce for lunch. The bread was piled on the open kitchen counter and it was my favourite version in London, aromatic, crispy and full of moisture inside. The daily-made butter made it even more unforgettable.

Other dishes such as fresh sea snails with butter mayonnaise, halibut with butter sauce were also cooked perfectly, and a seasonal soup of borlotti beans with fried courgette and fresh garlic brought out the sweetness of the vegetables. The dishes were deceptively simple but were cooked with expert techniques and thoughtfully chosen ingredients, intimate and soothing as if tasting a homecooked meal prepared by the chef for his own family. Visitors to London may tend to try restaurants more British like St. John, but Lyle’s is a much lighter and elevated version which I would probably visit once or twice a month if I lived in London.

fresh sea snails with butter mayonnaise@lyleslondon_instagram/halibut with butter sauce/borlotti beans with fried courgette and fresh garlic

Another of my favourites, the three-starred Core by Clare Smyth, was an elegant, delicious place to dine in with a touch of warmth and comfort. The emphasis on natural, sustainable, whole foods is also in line with the world trend. Of course, a visit to the Ritz Restaurantwith Andy Hayler, a fine-dining critic who has been to every three Michelin-starred restaurant in the world, is also on my wish list.

Staff Shortage Still Haunts Restaurant Industry

London’s many foreign hospitality workers had to leave the UK as the restaurant industry faced intermittent shut-down policy during the initial phase of the pandemic. What’s more, many were unable to return to the UK due to visa issues caused by Brexit. As a result, restaurants are generally experiencing a shortage of staff.

@corebyclaresmyth_instagram

The shortage of workers has also occurred in other sectors. During the peak travel season, airports lacking staff suffer serious baggage jams when it takes days to get your luggage after landing. The problem is unlikely to be solved soon, and those wishing to travel to London are advised to bring extra clothes in hand luggage.

Despite the staff shortages, London is still a diverse and fascinating city with vibrant restaurant industry. Booking restaurants in advance would set you off on a well-deserved trip to unplug and enjoy.

-END-

Author:Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Jocelyn 华姐/instagram

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 295

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Natsuko Shoji and Her Six-seat French Restaurant Été in Tokyo

Natsuko Shoji is only 33 years old. She started training as a pastry chef at Michelin-starred Le Jeu de l’Assiette...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】疫情不存在,伦敦顶级餐厅最大威胁是缺工(下)

(续上)Jocelyn专栏】疫情不存在,伦敦顶级餐厅最大威胁是缺工(上)

不使用鳄梨的新墨西哥餐厅KOL

另外一家欧洲唯一米其林星级墨西哥餐厅KOL,主厨Santiago Lastra是墨西哥人,到欧洲累积高级料理的经验与能力,到过巴黎,后来前往北西班牙 Mugaritz工作,之后在哥本哈根著名的北欧食品实验室获得了一个名为“玉米饼的秘密”的项目的职位,使用当地谷物制作玉米饼。而Noma 在墨西哥的快闪餐厅, Santiago当时是项目经理,在筹备快闪餐厅期间钻研墨西哥料理精髓,搬到伦敦之后诞生了KOL。

Santiago Lastra年轻又和善,与他谈话如沐春风,一走入餐厅是全开放厨房,充满活力又不失高级感。很多人怀疑墨西哥料理很难与fine dining沾上边,但在KOL是全新的体验。

一开始的Amuse bouche “Chalupa”是墨西哥街边小吃,用玉米粉(Masa)油炸而成,炸了以后就会像小船一样漂起来。所以称为Chalupa(小船)。此版本是迷你的尺寸。上方是英国康瓦耳蟹的蟹肉以及切碎的金针菇丝,加入辣椒调味,腌渍的蟹肉慕斯,最下方是以开心果为基底的莫雷酱。一开餐便让人耳目一新。

KOL以开心果酱取代普遍的鳄梨酱,品尝来竟然毫不违和。Santiago说他想使用更多本土的食材去烹饪。不进口鳄梨,原因之一是墨西哥鳄梨高达20亿美金的市场价值,利润几乎超越大麻,起初毒枭们透过收购鳄梨农场,赚取合法利润,但近几年开始以不正当手段,深入控制墨西哥的鳄梨业。他想透过此方式来表达对此议题的重视。“开心果是绿色且有脂肪的坚果,它具有鳄梨的所有味道。”他说道。

玉米粉布丁(Nicuatole)是瓦哈卡的传统甜点,由磨碎的玉米粉加糖制成。家庭版常见用椰子、菠萝、芒果等热带水果调味。KOL的版本是咸甜口味,由玉米粉与烤熟的黄椒制成,涂上法式酸奶油再摆上英国康尼尔产的鱼子酱。看起来不仅仅美丽,口感味觉亦是和谐。

Chalupa/Nicuatole

其中一道「raspados」是墨西哥的街头甜品刨冰的通称。在KOL的版本是咸的开胃菜,用油封的苏格兰扇贝、葵花籽莫雷酱(Mole)、金色甜菜根覆盖在刨冰之下,品尝来清爽宜人。

Santiago Lastra说:“这里有代表墨西哥文化和使用英国食材烹制的美食。” 菜单上他最喜欢的菜来自他对苏格兰的热爱。海螯虾炸玉米饼,在墨西哥西北部使用豆泥、辣酱和tortilla制作这些龙虾玉米饼;使用了苏格兰海螯虾,以及用酸浆果、沙棘,一种生长在英国各地海滩上的野生水果来烹制海螯虾的。莱姆汁(Lime)是由发酵的醋栗以及陈年红茶康普茶来取代。结果具有莱姆的明亮酸味。海螯虾玉米卷搭配腌洋葱,所有当地元素都以墨西哥的方式组合在一起。

Raspados@carnivorr_instagram/Taco

瓦哈卡出名的7种莫雷酱,以黑色莫雷最出名,KOL这次端出的莫雷是「暗红莫雷酱」(Coloradito),暗红莫雷酱的颜色介于红莫雷和黑莫雷酱中间,配方基本相同,香料、洋葱、大蒜、巧克力,增稠和甜味秘密成分是捣碎的车前草。KOL的「暗红莫雷酱」则是以发酵黑醋栗和25种香料制成的浓稠酱汁,配上发酵三周半再腌熏炉烤的紫胡萝卜干。搭配保温袋中的tortilla享用。接下来的鱼料理是用玉米壳包裹烹制的大比目鱼,配以茴香和烤多肉植物。

主菜是墨西哥经典料理炖煮Carnitas“猪肉丝(酱)”,配以白菜叶、醋栗酱汁和黑豆泥的油封猪颊肉。用玉米饼夹猪肉与酥脆猪皮,搭配香草,充满层次,满足感十足。此版本既优雅又美味,满足人类对碳水与油脂同时的渴望。玉米饼他特别设计了一款皮包可以保温,重从头到尾的都是温热的状态,让好不人感动。

清口的pre-dessert是由菠萝草、黄瓜、草莓以及龙舌兰酒所制成的sorbet。甜品Tamal是玉米粽子,家常版是用玉米叶包裹由猪油或鸡肉丝混合玉米粉去蒸煮。可以单吃而佐料通常只是红豆熬煮的酱。在此版本是玉米叶包裹的焦化奶油玉米糕,搭配羊奶优格、草莓、蜂花粉。跟中国的碱粽有异曲同工之妙。

Carnitas/Tamal

整套品尝下充满个性又具备美味,而KOL墨西哥文化结合英国食材,让人以更优雅以及当代的方式品尝墨西哥菜。我不同意有人以Noma墨西哥来说明KOL的菜品,概念以及风格两回事,但的确Rene Redzepi对于新一代厨师的思考影响甚句。明年挤进世界前50强的可能性很高, 订位只会越来越困难。

作者和主厨Santiago Lastra
清盈风的现代英国菜面貌Lyle’s

伦敦还有许多让人想往的餐厅,如米其林一星餐厅Lyle’s 做的是现代英国家常菜,主厨James Lowe曾经在以吃遍猪的所有部位著名的St. John Bread & Wine担任主厨,并在那里待了四年。他也在十几年前与许多本地的主厨开始推广与小生产者和合作。

Lyle’s开设于2014年,其灵感是展示使用英国食材烹饪的可能性。Lyle’s 在开业 18 个月后获得了米其林一星,并在 2018 年跻身全球 50 家最佳餐厅之列。虽然许多美食家抨击Lyle’s虽然是家好餐馆,但不应该名列在世界50榜单上。

James Lowe@foodstorymedialtd_instagram

Lyle’s也许不属于大鸣大放型餐厅,但拥有一种扎实的美味,当天午餐我们点了猪头肉冻搭配杏桃芥末酱,菜品很稳。其他的细节,面包堆高在开放厨房台上,面包是我在伦敦最喜爱的版本,香气十足,外皮酥脆而水分饱满,搭配每日自制黄油让人难忘的美味。

其他如新鲜海螺配黄酒蛋黄酱以及比目鱼搭配黄油料理也都恰如其分的熟度,蔓越莓豆(Borlotti Beans)搭配炸节瓜以及新鲜大蒜的当季汤品,体现出蔬菜的甜美滋味。看似简单实则细致,熟度控制得高明,选材用心,就像是主厨做给自家人的一顿饭,有抚慰人心的感受。很多食客也许到伦敦会拜访St. John这一类符合想象中厚重的英国菜,但相较之下Lyle’s像是升华的版本,如果定居在伦敦我可能会每月拜访一两次。

海螺配黄酒蛋黄酱@lyleslondon_instagram/比目鱼搭配黄油/蔓越莓豆 炸节瓜 新鲜大蒜

另外一家我的心头好,三星餐厅Core by Clare Smyth,用餐体验尽是优雅、美味,带点温婉与舒服的气氛。全食材的运用也是当今世界潮流,是非去不可的餐厅。当然,如果有机会能够跟伦敦吃遍全球米其林三星的美食家Andy Hayler一起拜访他喜爱的伦敦老牌法餐厅Ritz也在我的愿望清单之中。

餐饮业服务缺工 元气仍待复原

回到现实,英国餐饮业在疫情初期开开停停,使得许多在伦敦从事服务业的外籍人士回到家乡,又因为脱欧导致签证问题,异乡人无法回到英国工作。餐厅普遍遇到人手不足的问题。

@corebyclaresmyth_instagram

英国缺工现象发生在各行各业,如旅游旺季时机场也因为缺工,导致行李严重堵塞,落地后要等待好几天才能拿到行李。问题短期内难以解决,建议欲前往伦敦旅游的人,需要在手提行李中多携带备用衣物。

伦敦是个多元化的迷人城市,服务业尚存一些失序状态,然而做好万全准备,提早预订餐厅,仍能享受久违的旅行兴致。

-END-

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: Jocelyn 华姐/instagram

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 219

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:上海DV获意大利境外最佳意餐厅;米其林马来西亚首次揭晓

- 2022加州米其林榜单公布 Addi...

关闭