Staff Shortage is the Biggest Threat For F&B in industry in London (1/2)

More Than Just Fish and Chips: Must-visit Restaurants in London

The impact of covid on the UK people’s life has become trivial as they can continue to live and work as usual even if they test positive. For the country’s F&B industry, rising prices are not a problem for fine dining restaurants, some of which, however, have had to reduce the number of tables due to staff shortages, making it even more difficult to book at popular places.

People are already making plans to travel abroad as many Asian countries no longer require quarantine for returning travellers after October. London has always been popular with tourists and now with the devaluation of the pound and a tourism potentially boosted following the Queen’s death, it could possibly become one of the most-visited destinations by then.

British food has a poor reputation, as you may have heard the national stereotype: Hell is where the cooks are British. But London is in fact a city with a diverse and rich culinary culture. Like Hong Kong, London is a financial hub with highly developed economic prosperity to support fine dining. It is also a treasure chest of international flavours, where you could easily find some of the world’s most versatile restaurants that are nation specific, such as above-par Indian cuisine and best Chinese restaurants in Europe.

此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121248-1200x1200.png
此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121253-1200x1200.png
@thecloveclub/@ikoyi_london/@kol.restaurant/@lyleslondon
The Clove Club: British Seafood Cuisine Reinvented

On top of being awarded two Michelin Stars in 2022, The Clove Club, a modern British restaurant specialising in seafood, has won a raft of awards including the 35th place on the prestigious World’s 50 Best Restaurant list where it is the highest-placed UK restaurant to this day. Born in Orkney in the Northern Isles of Scotland, Head chef Isaac McHale took up a job at the local fishmonger at the age of 14 and later worked in restaurant kitchens with Mark Best, Rene Redzepi and Brett Graham. He is smart and super fun. Sometimes he would hide by the stairs while customers were on the way to the lavatory and he would chat with them before letting them in. I wasn’t lucky enough to be spared either.

此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121156-933x1400.png
此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121209-1120x1400.png
此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121237-1120x1400.png
@thecloveclub

Starting with fried food was a bit surprising yet not so surprising if you are having British cuisine, but seafood was the absolute starring role of the whole menu. Isaac McHale requires exceptional quality of seafood, perhaps influenced by his North Sea background and work experience. I had thought richness would be emphasised, but he approaches his dishes with airiness and subtle elegance. I’m very strict when it comes to sardines, but the sardine sashimi with ginger was stunningly fresh and tasty, exuding oriental flavour and a sense of class from top-notch sushi restaurants.

此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121212-1200x1200.png
此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121220-1200x1200.png
Buttermilk Fried Chicken with Pine Salt/Sardine Sashimi

The chilled salad of charcoal grilled aubergine was served with brown crab meat, ginger and cinnamon oil, light as a kaiseki dish but with depth of flavour. The less-is-more philosophy was evident in the raw Orkney scallop and hazelnut, placed on top of homemade black truffle sauce and coated in clementine dressing. The native Cornish lobster was also perfectly cooked with tenderness and served with summer berries. The hazelwood grilled red mullet next on was rich in fat and paired with an aromatic sweet corn sauce. Although the charcoal cooking creates smoky aromas in the restaurant, it is not a problem for Asian diners. The chicken soup with the century-old Madeira wine was unforgettable as well.

此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121205-1200x1200.png
此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121216-1200x1199.png
此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121224-1200x1200.png
Chilled Salad of Grilled Aubergine/Raw Orkney Scallop/Native Cornish Lobster

You could almost find no fault in its cuisine; meat dishes were also given the room to shine. The restaurant well deserves two stars recognition.

Set within the 150-year-old Shoreditch Town Hall, the restaurant reveals itself through a modest entrance and a laid-back bar area. The dining experience was way beyond expectation: the blue-tiled dining room had a relaxed East London vibe with a beautiful cloud of dried flowers on the ceiling, an open-plan kitchen, warm-hearted service and impeccable ingredients. Isn’t it fascinating that moments of joy become even clearer when they re-emerge from the nostalgia? A must-visit restaurant in London.

此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008122934-1200x1200.png
此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121228-1200x1200.png
此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121232-1200x1200.png
Hazelwood Grilled Red Mullet/Dry Aged Pork Loin/Warm Potato Mousse with Caramel Ice Cream and Black Truffle
IKOYI: Indefinable West African Cuisine

London has something for everyone: from history and culture to fine art and exotic food. One of its most popular restaurants, IKOYI, ranking 49th in the World’s 50 Best Restaurants and a newly crowned two-Michelin-starred restaurant, is helmed by Canadian-Chinese chef Jeremy Chan and Nigerian chef Iré Hassan-Odukale. The cross-cultural collaboration between the knowledgeable and talented duo is also widely talked about.

Born in the North West of England, Jeremy grew up in Hong Kong, England and the United States alongside his Chinese father and Canadian mother, living and working throughout Europe. After graduating from Princeton University in Languages and Philosophy, he took up a career in private equity but realised this was ill-suited to his interests. Jeremy’s obsession with cooking continued. He fell in love with food, avidly reading, analysing and researching everything about chefs and gastronomy, until he knew in what direction his career should take.

此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121201-1-933x1400.png
Iré Hassan-Odukale(Left)/Jeremy Chan(Right)@ikoyi_london

IKOYI’s cuisine is the crystallisation of his life experience around aesthetics, culture and gastronomic interpretation of West African ingredients. At IKOYI, they generate new and original dishes based on regional produce, flavour combinations and historical influences.

I wasn’t able to book a table at IKOYI this time, but I remember trying Jeremy’s signature dish – Plantain, Raspberry & Smoked Cauliflower – at an OAD 2019 event in Spain. The plantain was sliced into strips and deep-fried before being rolled over in raspberry powder and salt, served with bell pepper mayonnaise to present a lovely contrast of bright red and yellow colours in exact geometric specifications. The silky mayonnaise was elevated by crunchy texture and spicy notes, super rich but very enjoyable.

此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为%E5%BE%AE%E4%BF%A1%E5%9B%BE%E7%89%87_20221008121141.png
Plantain, Raspberry & Smoked Cauliflower@ikoyi_london

Supported by a vast collection of spices with a focus on sub-Saharan West Africa, IKOYI’s cuisine is intensely colourful and richly flavoured, organized in a way that’s as picturesque as abstract art. The appearance and texture of the dishes have a strong artistic impact, reminiscent of the awe-inspiring red sculptures by the renowned sculptor Anish Kapoor. Acquiring two Michelin stars and a place in the World’s 50 Best Restaurants just a few years after opening, IKOYI is already one of the toughest restaurants to get a reservation in London.

-END-

Author:Jocelyn 华姐

Photo:thecloveclub/Jocelyn 华姐

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 176

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Ryohei Hieda Forges Milestone for Ryugin Taipei

Entering the ninth year in Taipei since he traveled from Tokyo back in early 2014, Chef Ryohei Hieda is among the...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】疫情不存在,伦敦顶级餐厅最大威胁是缺工(上)

不只炸鱼薯条 盘点那些伦敦必须拜访的餐厅

英国人生活中已不存在疫情这件事,即便确诊也可照样上班生活。对英国餐饮界而言,高级餐厅也不怕物价高涨,更担心的是缺工,有些高级餐厅因人手不足被迫减少桌数,导致热门餐厅更是一位难求。

十月随着亚洲各地不需再隔离,许多人已做好出国旅行的计划。而一直很受欢迎的旅游目的地伦敦,在英镑贬值下,加上英女王过世所带来的新闻效应,成为开放后热门的旅行目的地之一。

然而英国菜一直为人诟病,许多人戏称地狱厨师就是来自英国,但伦敦饮食文化相当多元且丰富。与香港一样,作为金融重镇的伦敦,足以支撑高级餐厅,伦敦也是民族熔炉,蕴藏各民族当中最好的料理,如印度餐厅在水平之上,欧陆最好的中餐馆也在其中。

@thecloveclub/@ikoyi_london/@kol.restaurant/@lyleslondon
以英国海鲜为焦点的The clove club

当然有些英国菜也不容小觑,刚拿到米其林二星,世界排名第35也是英国排名最前的The clove club,是主打海鲜的现代英国料理。主厨Isaac McHale,出生在苏格兰东北部的奥克兰群岛,14岁时曾跟着鱼贩工作,后来也跟随Mark Best、Rene Redzepi、Brett Graham工作过。他是极聪明逗趣的人,上次他趁大家去洗手间的时候躲在楼梯旁,与客人闲聊后才放人,我也曾“幸运”的被他拦截。

@thecloveclub

The clove club料理一开始就让人意外,以炸物为开端,这点符合对英国菜的想象,后面以供应海鲜为主。或许来自北海的孕育与工作经历影响,他对海鲜的要求极高,渔获非常新鲜,原本以为英国料理偏厚重,但 Isaac McHale的烹饪手法似日料。印象最深刻的是沙丁鱼刺身搭配生姜,有高级寿司店的神韵,我对沙丁鱼要求极高,但入口却出乎意外的新鲜美味,有东方风味且具层次感。

Buttermilk Fried Chicken with Pine Salt/Sardine Sashimi

一开始的凉拌炭烤茄子搭配出挑的棕蟹肉而又搭配姜和肉桂油,清新味道却是有深度,宛如怀石料理。又如来自奥克尼群岛的生扇贝与榛子铺在自制黑松露酱之上,涂上柑橘酱汁,也看得出“少即是多”的烹饪哲学。榛果木烤本地龙虾的熟度也掌控极佳,虾肉中心保持溏心,搭配莓果。接下来与炭烤炉上桌的红鲻鱼油脂丰沛,搭配甜玉米酱,香气扑鼻。虽然炭火料理会造成餐厅内有味道,但对亚洲人而言不是问题,另外鸡汤搭配百年马德拉酒也让人难忘。

Chilled Salad of Grilled Aubergine/Raw Orkney Scallop/Native Cornish Lobster

回看每一道菜几乎找不到破绽,包括肉类料理也极为出彩,是非常扎实的两星。

The clove club位于一座超过150年历史的旧市政厅内,入口低调,穿越酒吧才到餐厅用餐区,一整面蓝绿色的磁砖墙面,天花板有垂坠的干燥花,我的座位直接看到厨房中岛,无论服务、选材都无可挑惕,用餐体验也出乎意料,是去伦敦必造访的餐厅,当下美好的感受往往在回忆时才浮现。

Hazelwood Grilled Red Mullet/Dry Aged Pork Loin/Warm Potato Mousse with Caramel Ice Cream and Black Truffle
不走传统路线的西非料理Ikoyi

伦敦一直都大行异国风,当今城里最风靡的餐厅之一,西非料理Ikoyi,世界50最佳餐厅排名第49,新晋米其林二星餐厅,主厨是有一半华人血统的Jeremy Chan,其合伙人来自奈及利亚的Iré Hassan-Odukale,两人合作的多元性本身就极具话题性,都是高学历的金童。

Jeremy出生在英国,父亲是中国人,母亲是加拿大人,在中国香港、英国和美国长大,大部分时间都在欧洲生活和工作。他以优异的成绩获得了普林斯顿大学的语言和哲学学士学位。然后他进入了可再生能源私募基金,这条职业道路被证明不适合他的兴趣,因为Jeremy整天都在沉迷和思考食物,阅读任何他能拿到的书,直到他确信自己会成为厨师。

Iré Hassan-Odukale(左)/Jeremy Chan(右)@ikoyi_london

Ikoyi的食物是他围绕美学、文化和对西非食材的美食诠释的整个人生经历的结晶。在Ikoyi,他们只根据该地区的产品、组合和历史影响创造新菜肴。

但这一次我没有预订到Ikoyi,但2019年在OAD西班牙的一场活动上,曾品尝过Jeremy Chan的招牌菜品”plantain, raspberry & smoked cauliflower”(“炸大蕉包裹覆盆莓盐搭配灯笼辣椒美乃滋”)。切成长条状的炸大蕉滚上覆盆莓干燥粉末及盐,加上芥末黄美乃滋,明艳的红与黄交汇,十分亮眼。与辣椒美乃滋入口,丝滑与酥脆香辣口感交融,超级重口但是十分过瘾。

Plantain, Raspberry & Smoked Cauliflower@ikoyi_london

Ikoyi的料理充满来自撒哈拉以南的西非香料,色彩缤纷且浓艳,端上桌的摆盘像一幅抽象画。菜品的外观和质地有很强的艺术感染力,会让人想起雕塑艺术家Anish Kapoor著名的红色雕塑作品。自开幕后短短几年拿到米其林两星以及进入世界50大餐厅,Ikoyi已经是伦敦最难预订的餐厅之一了。

-END-

文字:Jocelyn 华姐

封面:thecloveclub/Jocelyn 华姐

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 176

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:2022“The Best Chef”公布;纽约推迟鹅肝禁令

纽约暂时延迟施行鹅肝禁令;日本全渔联联合...

关闭