Andante Cantabile: Three Starred French Restaurant L’Effervescence in Tokyo

When I returned to Tokyo as soon as Japan reopened after three years of Covid, I felt quite excited the moment my plane landed at Haneda Airport. To celebrate my other half’s birthday, we decided to leave some time for catching up, but the stomach was reserved for the restaurant where we had wanted to go to for years.

It was the Michelin three-starred restaurant, L’Effervescence. From the moment you enter to the end of the meal, you can feel Chef Shinobu Namae approaches his dishes with philosophy and poetry, with natural elegance nourishing the soul. We took a taxi from Ginza to the restaurant located in Nishiazabu. As we were approaching, we noticed a temple nearby, which, despite the presence of a cemetery, is an integral part of the country’s traditional culture, and Chef Namae said he didn’t mind it.

Sometimes we are in a little hurry as we always try to be on time for our meals. When we arrived, the staff kindly took off our coats and guided us into a small lounge for a short break. I wondered if they were waiting for our heart rate to return to normal before taking us to the seating area.

We were seated in a semi-open booth with a view of the dining room, as if we were watching the whole theatre from above an opera house. As we sat down, the attendant gently lit the candles and a sense of calm instantly washed over us. Then we slowly sipped on our welcome cocktails, paired with vegetable crisps and tofu yoghurt creme with olive oil, which already told one thing or two about the cuisine style here. Our evening was further delighted by the young attendant who provided us with warm and unobtrusive service with a British accent.

Vegetable Crisps and Tofu Yoghurt Creme with Olive Oil

Reading the menu was like appreciating a poem written by a knowledgeable anthropologist who had travelled through human civilization.

The prelude was Underwater Forest, which as the name suggests was made from both underwater and land ingredients including caviar, abalone and Hokkaido horsehair crab, placed on a bed of refreshing and elegant sasanishiki risotto and topped with charcoal-grilled sliced matsutake mushrooms, fragrant and full of flavour. I’m not a crazy fan of matsutake mushrooms, but there are two places which in my opinion do the best matsutake: Maison Lameloise in Shanghai and L’Effervescence. It handled this treasured ingredient in the best possible way, searing it with a cooking torch and drizzling Japanese fish sauce on top upon serving to create a pronounced aroma.

The next was Genesis of Civilization. It was like a riddle: controlled use of fire played a major role in changing food habits before ancient humans stopped foraging and started farming. The potato focaccia was roasted over an open fire in a custom-made Japanese iron casting pan, and we waited as it cooled down to reveal a chewy texture and Asian flavours. A slice of warm, classic sourdough was of course indispensable.

Underwater Forest/Potato Focaccia

Ars longa, vita brevis is a beautiful Latin translation of an aphorism coming originally from Greek physician Hippocrates, roughly meaning, “skilfulness takes time and life is short”. With the trend of a sustainable and refined agriculture, many supermarkets in Japan are already collaborating with family-owned farms to source ingredients. But L’Effervescence takes this to the next level. A whole plate of 42 colourful fruits and vegetables was shown us, accompanied by an owe-inspiring card detailed with all the places and names of the farmers who supplied them. From pickling to dashi, the next salad came with a variety of flavours to showcase the diversity of nature. Chef Namae treats these Artisanal Vegetables as works of art.

Artisan Farmers List/Salad

The following dish was named “A fixed point” as it is a permanent milestone on the menu and represents one of L’Effervescence’s signature dishes. We are talking about Tokyo turnip which is cooked sous vide at a low temperature for four hours before getting a quick butter to baste in the pan. The dish is described by the Wall Street Journal as a minimalist ode to “roots”, because Chef Namae aims to “focus on the characteristics of the vegetables and knows how to bring out the true flavour”.

Turnip

The main course was Ocean and Forest. The ocean part was Amadai dish gently poached in whey, kamogawashichiri, myoga, ginger and shiso flower. The addition of edamame puree was a divine touch, boasting layered texture and warm flavours. The plating was also pretty.

What about the Forest? It was a combination of Ezo-venison from Shiranuka, mushrooms, truffles and chestnuts, full of autumn vibes. Venison is lean but very delicate and tender, and Hokkaido venison is often served at French cuisine restaurants in Japan during autumn and winter. Maitake mushrooms, pine nuts, burdock and shredded autumn truffles were wood fired over local mizunara oak, giving the dish a wonderful mouthfeel. The slight acidity in the sauce was a great flavour booster. The sheer elegance and tastiness of the dish was beyond words.

The ravioli in the chestnut soup contained venison leg and scallop, and the soup was rich and luscious with penetrating aroma that made you crave for more. You can order more of the soup, probably because of the moderate portion of the set menu.

Ocean(Amadai)/Forest(Venison)/ Chestnut Soup

Next up was a platter of bite-sized handmade Japanese cheese accompanied by organic, traceable honey, all presented in their original form. The chapter name of this dish was Migration, which indicates cheese is an imported good in Japan. Those chapter names were indeed intriguing.

Dessert was New Chapter, featuring Japanese Muscat grapes, yuzu meringue and ginger mousse, which was delicious without being too decadent. Petit Four was also very impressive. The meal ended soothingly with the restaurant’s famous Japanese matcha tea ceremony.

Handmade Japanese Cheese/Dessert Muscat

L’Effervescence was awarded a Michelin Green Star in 2020 to recognise its sustainable cuisine. With a focus on the traceability of ingredients, the restaurant serves as a showroom of reliable dealers to spotlight their beautiful produce. The true elegance of the restaurant lies in its pursuit of moderation. Food is supposed to nourish, not harm, the body, but over the past few decades, even many starred restaurants have been offering large portions that burden the body. Boasting freshness beyond compare, the food at L’Effervescence will never sit heavy in your stomach.

Having studied Politics of developing countries at Keio University – one of the top private universities in Japan – Chef Namae came to the culinary world with critical thinking and a philosophical mind. Apart from playing rock music and wanting to become a journalist, he worked in Hokkaido, South France and The Fat Duck in the UK before finally opening his own restaurant which was destined to be special.

Chef Namae and Author

The dishes at L’Effervescence are just like their creator, who is always pleasant to talk to, and who always looks at the world from a macro perspective. He dares to dream and act on it.

L’Effervescence has been listed in the Michelin Guide as two stars since 2015 and was awarded three stars in 2020. Years of experience, and influence of Covid, have translated into its reborn menu, which has flourished with new ideas and heart-warming surprises.

-END-

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Jocelyn 华姐

此图片的alt属性为空;文件名为Jocelyn_Intro_en_final-1018x1400.png
Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 335

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

【Jocelyn专栏】如诗歌般的行板 东京三星法餐L’Effervescence

​时隔三年,日本开放后,回到久违的东京,飞机降落在羽田机场的那一刻,感到相当的激动。除了帮另一半庆生,时间必然留给叙旧,而美食则是留给错过多年的餐厅。

造访去年才刚晋升为3星的法餐L’Effervescence,主厨生江史伸(Shinobu Namae)贯彻哲学与理想,从入门开始到用餐结束,优雅自然流泻,让人心神也得到滋润。L’Effervescence位于西麻布,我们从银座搭车前往,接近餐厅时经过附近一座寺庙,虽然一旁有墓地,但在日本只是生活的一部分,Namae San也说过他对此并不在意。

出门用餐为求准时,时常处于匆忙赶路的状态。一抵达L’Effervescence,餐厅员工体贴的替我们卸下大衣,引导我们先进入小客厅休息片刻。我一度怀疑,他们是否有在计算客人心跳恢复正常,再被引往座位区,心境随即转变。

入座被安排到可以看到外场的半开放式包厢,就像是在歌剧院的上方观看整个剧场。一坐下,侍者在我们面前点亮了烛光,刻意放缓节奏,一股平静感涌上心头,褪去刚才纷乱的思绪,慢慢啜饮着迎宾甘酒特调的鸡尾酒, 搭配蔬菜脆片与加入橄榄油的豆腐酸奶cream,欢迎小点已可以约略的看出轻盈的姿态。当天接待我们的是一位说话带有英国腔的年轻侍者,热情又能拿捏距离,也为我们的夜晚增添一番乐趣。

豆腐酸奶cream搭配蔬菜脆片

打开L’Effervescence菜单的篇章像是一首人类学家写出来的诗,整个菜单是人类历史的旅程。

序曲的篇章是水下森林(Underwater Forest),顾名思义食材来自水底与陆地,有鱼子酱、鲍鱼、北海道毛蟹等水产,下面是常常被使用来作为寿司米的笹锦米做的炖饭,清爽而高雅,表面是炭烤的切片松茸,松茸香足。单就松茸而论,我没有丝毫狂热。然而我品尝过两次最美味的松茸都是在法餐厅,一次在上海莱美露滋,而L’Effervescence也以最好的方式处理松茸,上菜时再以喷枪烧制,逼出明显香气,呈上前喷洒上日本鱼露,过程充满仪式感。

接下来的篇章是文明的起源(Genesis of civilization),就像是猜谜一样,种植谷类是人类停止迁移,有家庭观念开始,人类开始控制火才停止饮毛茹血。以特别订制的日本铁铸锅明火烤出马铃薯佛卡夏,但冷却后才上桌,口感富弹性,是亚洲风味,另外是不可或缺的一片温热经典的酸面包。

水下森林/马铃薯佛卡夏

生命是短暂的,艺术才是永恒的(Ars longa,vita brevis)这句拉丁谚语,出自「现代医学之父」希波克拉底(Hippocrates),是一句美丽的句子。日本精致农业文化发达,许多超市都已经供应小农食材,L’Effervescence把极致做大,服务生端上一整盆五颜六色的42种蔬果,附上一张标注供应来源以及种植的农夫姓名,不得不让人肃然起敬。最后端上桌沙拉里的蔬果调味各异,有腌制的也有出汁调味,旨在展现多样性的天然原味,追求其根源。而Namae San将这些Artisanal工匠级的蔬菜,视为艺术品。

42种蔬果种植者名单/沙拉

接下来的固定点(fixed point),当然是常设经典菜芜菁,慢煮四小时再以奶油煎过,据《华尔街日报》形容是主厨对“根”的一种极简主义颂歌,目的是「专注蔬菜的特性,并了解如何激发其真实的味道」。

芜青

主菜分成Ocean与Forest ,鱼类料理是以制作起司过程中剩下的乳清蛋白炖煮的马头鱼,鱼肉细嫩,搭配日本姜与生姜、紫苏,淡淡乳清味加上毛豆泥是神来一笔,口感层次丰富,味道温柔,摆盘也充满美感。

Forest主菜有什么呢?是鹿肉 、菌菇、松露以及栗子的组合,充满秋天的气息。主菜鹿肉虽然脂肪量极低,但肉质纤细且嫩,秋冬季法餐在日本常食用到北海道鹿肉,难忘的纯净感。主厨采橡木炙烧方式处理,搭配烧烤的舞茸、松子、牛蒡与切丝的秋季松露,口感绝妙,松子让整体口感有了跳跃感,酱汁里微微的酸度更是相辅相承。如此优雅的呈现,那单纯的美味竟让人词穷。

接下来的栗子汤中的意大利饺子馅料是鹿肉与扇贝,汤头浓郁如豆浆,深而不腻,有穿透感,入口有股特别的香气,让人欲罢不能。这碗栗子汤可以追加,可能考虑整体套餐的份量较为轻盈。

Ocean(马头鱼)/Forest(鹿肉)/栗子汤

尔后端上一盘手工日本起司,每小块一口的量,搭配的蜂蜜也有身份来源,所有食材都是以本应有的样子呈现。而我越看菜单便感到有趣,起司的篇章是Migration,是移民也是外来之物,章节的名字的确有引人入胜的作用。

最后的New Chapter是甜品,以日本的Muscat葡萄为主角,柚子蛋白霜,以及姜汁慕斯,美味毫无负担。Petit Four也十分出彩,最后以餐厅著名的日本抹茶茶道仪式收尾。

手工日本起司/Muscat甜品

L’Effervescence的料理不浪费食材,在可持续性方面也获得认同,去年摘下米其林绿星。以朔源为重,每样食材都看得到生产者的心意,而餐厅只是载体。而其真正的优雅在于节制,饮食应该是滋润而非残害身体,然而过去数十年,大多数星级餐厅餐点明显过量,将人当养鹅肝一样喂食,负担过重。而Namae San不随波逐流,这里的份量,让人可以从容应付,毫无压迫感。

Namae San背景特殊,他是少数高学历厨师,毕业于庆应大学,从玩摇滚乐与成为记者的梦想,带着一颗自由批判的哲学家思想来到厨艺界,在北海道、南法到英国The Fat Duck厨房工作后,最后终究有属于自己的餐厅,且注定与众不同。

Namae San和作者

L’Effervescence的菜如其人,主厨也是一个让人感到舒服的人,与他谈话也总有醍醐灌顶的感觉,他总是用宏观的角度看这个世界,是梦想家也是理想家,并且付诸行动。

疫情之后摘三星,在菜色的变化中看得出来,这几年的历练以及一场疫情改变了他,新的想法萌生,也让我重新被感动了一次。

-END-

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: Jocelyn 华姐

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 191

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:纽约州或将取消“鹅肝禁令”;2023北京米其林指南发布

Balthazar餐厅公布一系列VIP名...

关闭