INITA Taipei: Italian Cuisine Infused with Osaka Comedy

Born in Osaka, the birthplace of Japanese comedy, Chef Kunihiro Hagimoto brings with him a mix of Japanese rigor and humour, as well as Italian spontaneity, and has set up his own restaurant, INITA, in Taipei. In addition to sitting in front of the counter and enjoying the food, you can also enjoy the chef’s stroke-of-genius wittiness in a multi-cultural ambiance.

Kuni San’s appetite for cooking increased after he watched a Japanese cooking show when he was young and he has since enjoyed cooking for his family. He spent eight years in Italy throughout his 20 years of culinary experience. I met him five years ago when I was dining at Condividere in Torino, where he was the Sous Chef of Ristorante Tokuyoshi, a Michelin one-starred restaurant. He also worked at Trattoria da Amerigo, a traditional one-star restaurant near Bologna, which I really like. As you can tell, Chef Kuni has been trained in both traditional and modern Italian cuisine. (For more information:【Bologna】Amerigo1934: Time is Everything)

Chef Kunihiro Hagimoto@Peray

In European and American cities, a restaurant with a Japanese chef in the kitchen is in almost all likelihood a good restaurant. The meticulousness in Japanese culture has become a trademark, and they don’t easily settle for anything less than the best. Japanese chefs have the skills to make developments wherever they go.

Chef Kuni’s story with Taiwan began in 2017, through the opportunity offered by Chef Tokuyoshi to run his pop-up restaurant “TABLE by Yoji Tokuyoshi” at Taipei 101. During this seven-month pop-up, he had made many new friends, and best of all, his wife Joyce, for whom Kuni San was only able to confess his feelings after he left Taiwan. Joyce and Taiwanese people’s warm hospitality brought him back to Taipei. I wonder if Tokuyoshi regrets sending his right-hand chef to Taipei.

Kuni San and Joyce@kunihirohagimoto_instagram

我到訪之前已經了解INITA 是以主廚為中心的劇場式用餐概念,主廚與料理就是廚房跟餐廳的中心。萩本主廚將他熱愛的大阪「吉本新喜劇」風格結合到烹飪創作中,讓用餐體驗充滿樂趣。劇場式的用餐體驗,我在上海也體驗過,當時是能劇搭新派日料,因為菜品食材不及格,最終以荒腔走板告終。而正如所料的,INITA 並沒有讓我失望。

由於台北廚師多半受法餐訓練,有意大利料理經驗的廚師並不多,目前台北的意大利菜也以傳統特色為主。透過Kuni san的料理還可一窺現代意大利料理樣貌,讓我對這家餐廳特別期待。INITA 座落在松山區一棟老房子中,面對一個小公園,附近環境真有日本巷弄的感覺,門口有一處小小的院子,特別有日式房屋的感覺,餐廳只有 12 個板前座位,包廂只能容納 4 個位子,現在已經一位難求。

@Peray

Chef Kuni approaches his dishes with creativity and diversity. The appetiser, Quail Tea Egg, was fried with batter on the outside but the yolk is runny inside, demonstrating the chef’s precision in heat control at boiling and frying stages. After all, it’s just a tiny little quail egg. The accompanying fried beef tongue was tender and juicy and served with a classic salsa verde dressing, a combination of classic Osaka kushikatsu (fried skewers), Italian flavours, and local ingredients.

The second dish has a hint of Master Tokuyoshi. Bluefin maguro was placed on a sushi rice cracker, topped with stracciatella and beefsteak tomato, combining the idea of a margherita pizza and tuna sushi. Many of these type of dishes tend to be messy and lose their focus, but INITA’s version showcases the best of each ingredient without sacrificing the whole picture. It would be more accurate to describe it as a Japanese-Italian inspired dish rather than simply a fusion cuisine.

Quail Tea Egg and Fried Beef Tongue/Sushi-gherita@Peray

Dorayaki e Tartare was a major highlight. The dish was attributed to Chef Kuni’s time in Italy, where many people used to ask him to make dorayaki because of his Japanese nationality. Here in Taiwan, he has replaced red bean paste with beef tartare. It was designed to resemble Vitello tonnato, a Piemontese dish of veal covered with a creamy, tuna-flavoured sauce. Local beef from Yunlin was paired with mustardy nasturtium, red onion and capers, served on a brilliant asymmetric plate half decorated with oriental cobalt blue foliate patterns and half with colour painted figures in floral design.

Perfectly fluffy and tasty, Chef Kuni’s freshly made dorayaki was truly exceptional, the best I could find in the region. I wish he’d open a Yakigashi (Japanese baked sweets) shop, actually! However, the downside of it is that the dorayaki was a bit overshadowing other parts of the dish. I believe it would still be loved by many diners, but slightly lowering the impact of dorayaki and enhancing the beef could perhaps further add to its appeal, since it’s a savoury dish.

Italy Meets Japan(Dorayaki e Tartare)@Peray

Next up was the ciabatta freshly made every day using sour whey and not a single drop of water. The accompanying burro nocciolato was caramelised butter mixed with Greek yoghurt for a rich smoothness and refreshing airiness. Today, more and more restaurants are serving bread as an independent course.

The first pasta dish, Born in Taiwan, featured freshly made ravioli filled with homemade Italian pomodori pelati, egg yolk and shrimp. The bisque di gamberi was presented in a thick layer of orange-coloured foam to resemble a classic Chinese dish – Tomato and Scrambled Eggs. When I cut open an al dente ravioli, a stream of golden yellow, thick and creamy egg yolk oozed out all over. Through this dish, Chef Kuni has completed a beautiful deconstruction of three elements: tomato, shrimp and egg. Deceptively simple but with complexity, this was my favourite dish of that day.

The octopus was cooked in a very Italian way, but combined with local ingredients such as Matsu red koji and lotus root is accompanied by a comedic presentation. Chef Kuni designed a pairing comedy before the dish was served – not the funniest joke but it’s guaranteed to make you laugh!

Pane E Burro@inita.tw_instagram/Born in Taiwan (Tomato and Scrambled Eggs)/Drunken Octopus@Peray

Another main course, Ancora, Ciao Formosa, was comprised of cherry duck, aigamo rice (local organic rice grown in a symbiotic system with farm duck), and a sauce made from sweet potato leaf and germ rice. This dish was very pleasing to the eye, but the duck skin could have been cooked more thoroughly, which is a pity.

The final pasta dish was a handmade tagliatelle in Bolognese ragu. The ragu was made from local beef and Jinhua ham instead of the Prosciutto Crudo, served in a Japanese rice bowl, which you can refill for another bowl. Thanks to Chef Kuni’s experience working at the famous restaurant Amerigo near Bologna, the flavours of the pasta were spot on, living up to his Italian uncle’s reputation. It may sound fussy for me to say this, but it would be really great if I could be offered to choose between different portions of the dish before served. Because that prevents the pasta from sitting in the cooking vessel for too long and reducing its al dente texture.

Ancora, Ciao Formosa(Cheery Duck with Aigamo Rice)/Tagliatelle Al Ragù Bolognese@Peray

In Italy, pasta is usually served before the main course. INITA has adjusted the order of serving pastas to suit Asian people’s dining habits.

The dessert Newton’s Apple took inspiration from the great scientist’s “acceleration of gravity”. Diners are given a brandy filled wine glass with a root-like foot and they can drop the mini “apple” right into the glass, breaking the translucent sugar sheet placed on the rim of the glass. It’s a refreshing dessert with a multi-faceted texture and a fun process that takes you back to a playful childhood.

Miniature Apple | Calvado | Spiced Streusel@Peray

TiraMiso is a dessert that combines tiramisu and miso, with ingredients including mascarpone cheese, Sanxing scallion and seaweed. It was both savoury and sweet, with a hint of toasty miso. And the name is just one letter different from Tiramisu!

The closing dessert was a timeless Italian egg yolk gelato, coupled with Biscotti di Parmigiano Reggiano and 25-year Aceto Balsamico Tradizionale DOP, a nostalgia of the Emilia-Romagna region that belongs to Chef Kuni.

TiraMiso@Peray

INITA offers authentic cuisine with a bonus of Japanese comedy. Ingredients like bluefin tuna, local beef, stracciatella and 25-year balsamic vinegar are all excellent choices. With experimental spirits and solid skills, Chef Kuni is bringing immense possibilities to his efforts in menu design.

INITA has the warm and welcoming atmosphere of a husband-and-wife restaurant, reminding me of DEN in Tokyo. Some carb-conscious diners might be alert but in Italy pastas are often the highlight, and it’s not unusual to have more than two pasta courses on a set menu. INITA’s fun dining is the realisation of a dream to invigorate dining with a sense of excitement. You will dine around chef’s lively dishes and share in the experience that has shaped these brilliant, dynamic delicacies.

There are not many Italian restaurants in Taipei that offer set menus only, so whether or not INITA gets a star depends on how Michelin inspectors understand Italian cuisine. In my opinion, INITA is very much likely to be crowned a Michelin star.

-END-

Author:Jocelyn 華姐

Photo:Peray/instagram

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 176

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Interview with Cantonese Cuisine Master Max Wo of Silks House Taipei

Cantonese cuisine emphasizes techniques and there is no standard procedure. It usually takes years of hard work for a chef...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】台北INITA 意式料理融入大阪喜剧之魂

来自日本喜剧发源地大阪的厨师萩本郡大(Kunihiro Hagimoto),带着日本文化中严谨与幽默并存的风格,融合意大利随性自由作风的熏陶,最后落脚台北扎根开设餐厅INITA,日意混血台北出生,三种文化一体呈现,形成自己的特殊性格。坐在板前座位上品尝美食之外,还能欣赏厨师神来一笔的冷幽默。

萩本郡大(Kuni San)从小因日本烹饪节目立志做厨师,享受为家人做饭的愉悦。20 年厨艺生涯中 8 年时间待在意大利。5 年前我在Torino的Condividere用餐时巧遇他,当时他在米其林一星餐厅Ristorante Tokuyoshi 担任副厨。他也待过意大利波隆那近郊一家我非常喜欢的传统一星馆子Trattoria da Amerigo,受过传统与现代意式料理的熏陶。(延伸阅读:【博洛尼亚】Amerigo1934:时间是一切)

主厨萩本郡大(Kunihiro Hagimoto)@Peray

在欧美城市,一家餐厅厨房如果有日本厨师,十之八九是一家好餐厅,日本人做事一丝不苟的文化已成为招牌,他们不会屈就于没有本事的店。扎实的基本功,让他们无论去到哪个城市发展,都能得心应手。

2017年因协助Ristorante Tokuyoshi在台北101的长达数月的快闪活动,初次认识这个城市,也因为工作认识他现在的另一半Joyce,害羞的Kuni San直到离台后才敢跟Joyce表白。最后除了爱情也因追求这里的人情而落脚台北,所以Tokuyoshi不知道会不会后悔把爱将派来台北。

Kuni San和Joyce@kunihirohagimoto_instagram

我到访之前已经了解INITA是以主厨为中心的剧场式用餐概念,主厨与料理就是厨房跟餐厅的中心。萩本主厨将他热爱的大阪「吉本新喜剧」风格结合到烹饪创作中,让用餐体验充满乐趣。剧场式的用餐体验,我在上海也体验过,当时是能剧搭新派日料,因为菜品食材不及格,最终以荒腔走板告终。而正如所料的,INITA并没有让我失望。

由于台北厨师多半受法餐训练,有意大利料理经验的厨师并不多,目前台北的意大利菜也以传统特色为主。透过Kuni san的料理还可一窥现代意大利料理样貌,让我对这家餐厅特别期待。INITA座落在松山区一栋老房子中,面对一个小公园,附近环境真有日本巷弄的感觉,门口有一处小小的院子,特别有日式房屋的感觉,餐厅只有10个板前座位,包厢只能容纳4个位子,现在已经一位难求。

@Peray

料理方面可见萩本主厨的确是多元文化诠释者,富含三地特色。前菜茶叶鹌鹑蛋表面裹着面衣炸过,里头却是溏心,展现厨师在煮与炸两个阶段温度控制的精准度,要知道这是小小的鹌鹑蛋。搭配的炸牛舌内里软烂,与经典意式青酱,看得出有大阪经典小吃炸串、意式与本地风味结合的痕迹。

第二道有师傅Tokuyoshi的影子,以寿司米制作米饼,上铺东港鲔鱼,丝绸奶酪 Stracciatella与牛西红柿,有玛格丽特比萨结合鲔鱼寿司的概念。通常小面积的Finger Food考验厨师基本功,许多这类食物容易做的一团乱,失去重点,但INITA的版本不但有画龙点睛效果,每样食材都有存在感,说是日意混血要比融合菜更精确。

茶叶鹌鹑蛋配炸牛舌/玛格丽特寿司@Peray

牛肉鞑靼铜锣烧是重头戏,菜品发想来自在意大利期间,许多人因为萩本主厨的日籍身份,时常向他点铜锣烧,或许做出心得来,在这里他将铜锣烧内馅改成生牛肉,菜品设计搭配来自Piemonte大区传统菜使用小牛肉搭配鲔鱼酱的特色菜 Vitello Tonnato,只是这里使用鞑靼牛肉,加上带有芥末气息的金莲叶,牛肉则是使用云林的黄牛搭配红葱头以及酸豆。盛菜的盘子更是幽默,东方艺术与西洋彩绘各半,反应这道菜的和洋混血风格。

萩本主厨每天现做的铜锣烧的确非凡,是本地吃过最佳,完美的调味以及蓬松恰到好处,真希望他能开家烧果子店。然而整道菜美中不足的是铜锣烧份量有些喧宾夺主之嫌,咸甜各半,可能这道菜品依旧会搏得其他食客的喜爱,铜锣烧比例再降低一些会更完美,既然是一道savory的菜品,那也许应该捍卫牛肉。

牛肉鞑靼铜锣烧@Peray

再来是每天加入乳清制成的巧巴达面包,不用一滴水。搭配外形酷似栗子的榛果奶油,是奶油煮至接近焦化,加入希腊优格,浓郁而充满清爽空气感。今时今日越来越多的餐厅将面包当作一道独立的菜品上桌。

第一道面食名为西红柿炒蛋,内馅是瑞可塔起(ricotta)与蛋黄以及虾,搭配自制盐渍西红柿罐(Pomodori Pelati)与鲜虾泡沫,是以虾壳熬煮的浓汤(Bisque)打成泡沫,呈现鲜艳的黄色,混以蕃茄,外观很像西红柿炒蛋,用叉子切开时惊喜的看到浓稠的蛋黄汁液流出。面饺充满咬劲,红黄交错,取名更是贴切。有主厨的幻想成分在里面,完美的解构三大元素:西红柿,虾以及蛋。看似简单实则繁复,这是我当天最喜爱的一道菜。

再来是章鱼料理,章鱼煮法非常的意大利,然而结合马祖老酒与绿竹笋等本地食材又非常的台,起锅时也搭配了一段冷喜剧,冷到爆笑。

巧巴达面包配榛果奶油@inita.tw_instagram/西红柿炒蛋/章鱼料理@Peray

另一道主菜樱桃鸭搭配合鸭米,合鸭米是本地一种米鸭共生循环系统种植的有机米,酱汁是以地瓜叶与胚芽米制成,这道料理赏心悦目,但执行上,鸭肉外皮火侯不够,合鸭米没有放开,稍微可惜。

最后一道面食是手工宽扁面佐波隆那肉酱,主厨在我们面前擀面,采用金华火腿取代传统的意式生火腿(Prosciutto Crudo)以及本地牛肉做出来的Ragu,以类似日料米饭的供应方式,用碗装呈现,吃完可以追加。萩本主厨在波隆那名店Amerigo工作过,味道很正,没有辜负他的意大利叔叔。听来吹毛求疵,但是强迫症如我,希望能一次供应,以大中小做选择,避免意面在锅里温度时间长影响咬劲。

樱桃鸭搭配合鸭米/手工宽扁面佐波隆那肉酱@Peray

在意大利,面食会在主菜之前供应,INITA因应东方人用餐习惯调整出菜顺序,才采取这样的折衷形式。

第一道甜点灵感源自牛顿与苹果树的故事,来回忆一下“重力加速度”,客人拿着承装白兰地,杯脚像树根的杯子,把迷你小苹果从上丢到杯子里,敲破杯子上的透明糖片掉进杯中,这是一道有多层口感的清爽甜品,过程也饶富趣味,一秒回到童年。

迷你小苹果|苹果白兰地|香料脆片@Peray

TiraMiso是一道结合提拉米苏与味增的甜品,材料还有马斯卡彭起司、三星葱、海带等。咸甜交错,有味增特有的香气,名字也取的太好就差一个字母。

收尾的甜品是老派的意大利蛋黄冰淇淋,搭配帕玛森起司脆饼,加上珍贵的25年巴萨米克醋,这是属于主厨对于Émilie-Romagne大区的乡愁。

TiraMiso@Peray

INITA提供货真价实料理而喜感是附加的惊喜,且食材如东港黑鲔鱼,本地黄牛、Stracciatella奶酪、25年巴萨米克醋等都是上选。主厨有创意且基本功扎实,菜单设计在成型中,未来可期。

INITA有夫妻店特有的温馨气氛,让我联想到东京的DEN。有些人可能在意碳水化合物过多,但在意大利面食通常是高潮之处,虽然fine dining会有所调整,能品尝到两款以上的面食也无妨,INITA的fun dining没有让我失望。他的菜品也反映出在意大利的八年让他感受到真实的活着,尽情的表现自己的喜怒哀乐,而这一切也反映在他的菜品里。

目前台北意大利餐厅仅提供套餐呈现的餐厅不多,是否摘星要看米其林密探对意大利料理的理解程度,在我看来,摘星机率很高。

-END-

文字:Jocelyn 华姐

图片:Peray/instagram

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 176

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:2022温哥华首版米其林指南发布;著名纽约美食评论家逝世

纽约假名媛于软禁公寓中举办晚宴;俄乌粮食...

关闭