Bulgari Hotel Tokyo: Unveiling Italian Elegance on the Skyline

In 1972, Italian jewelry brand Bulgari created a set of brooches featuring Mount Fuji and pine trees, seemingly destined for a connection with Japan. This April, amidst the blooming cherry blossoms, the Bulgari Hotel is officially opened. It stands tall in a modern skyscraper behind the historic Tokyo Station, overlooking the cityscape and distant Mount Fuji. The hotel not only brings Italian craftsmanship but also cleverly combines Japanese aesthetic elements, radiating a subtle and restrained brilliance. Together with the cuisine by three-Michelin-starred Italian chef Niko Romito, one can immerse himself in a dazzling moment, enjoying the best of Tokyo without leaving the hotel.

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip YouTube

The opening of Bulgari Hotel is a major highlight in Tokyo after the pandemic. Not only is it the first Bulgari hotel in Japan but also the 8th ‘gem’ of the Bulgari Hotel & Resorts Collection. Occupying from the 40th to the 45th floor of the Tokyo Midtown Yaesu, an ultra-skyscraper in the Yaesu 2-Chome North District, the hotel overlooks the quiet premises, fascinating history and natural environment of the lmperial Palace Gardens. From a distance, the red brick Tokyo Station and the glass-curtain building behind it may seem juxtaposed, but Bulgari Hotel seamlessly blends the fusion of Japanese traditional cultural aesthetics. It is at this moment that I visited Tokyo once again.

Like all the Bulgari Hotels & Resorts, Bulgari Hotel Tokyo interior design has been entrusted to the Italian architecture and interior design practice ACPV ARCHITECTS Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel who conveyed Bulgari’s core values of contemporary design, magnificent craftsmanship and artistic detail to create efficient living spaces reflecting the essence of the Italian most sophisticated style.

Bathed in luxurious earth tones of black, brown, orange, and gold, the hotel combines the sleek and minimalist Italian design style with traditional Japanese art elements. For example, the double doors in the lobby corridor feature the traditional Japanese three-layer continuous ripple pattern, which also appears on many main walls throughout the hotel. The central part of the floor upon entering is adorned with Bulgari’s eight-pointed star emblem. The brooches depicting Mount Fuji, designed by Bulgari in the 1970s, have also become a symbol of the hotel, visible on the room key envelopes and bar menu covers, showcasing Bulgari’s interpretation of Mount Fuji through jewelry.

Bulgari Hotel boasts 98 rooms, with the 400-square-meter suites claimed to be the most spacious in Tokyo city center. In addition to the renowned sushi restaurant and the Italian restaurant that has shone brightly in Bulgari hotels worldwide, Il Ristorante – Niko Romito.

Located on the 40th floor, Il Ristorante – Niko Romito offers a narrow and elongated space that allows every table to enjoy the panoramic views of Tokyo. The restaurant’s color scheme continues the hotel’s style, blending Japanese and Italian aesthetics to perfection. Saffron-colored walls harmonize with shades of brown, orange, and champagne gold furnishings, showcasing wooden arched ceilings inspired by traditional Japanese temple doors. Murano glass lamps, hand-blown from the island of Murano, hang from the ceiling, while golden lattice pillars exude the artistic charm of Japan. It is an overall understated and restrained atmosphere, accompanied by an indescribable sense of luxury.

Niko Romito’s Italian cuisine is simple yet classic. He focuses on the “minimalism” of the Italian culinary. As for resident chef Mauro Aloisio, he is no stranger to us. He was originally the executive chef at Niko Romito in Shanghai. After five years in St. Moritz, Switzerland, he crossed the Alps back to Milan, leaving his culinary imprint at Bulgari, Armani/Nobu, and Park Hyatt’s Michelin-starred VUN restaurant for a remarkable eight years. Not to mention his tenure at the Four Seasons Hotel in Geneva. Before coming to Shanghai to shine, he visited Niko Romito’s Abruzzo Accademia to delve in the philosophy and vision behind modern Italian cuisine.

(Left) Mauro Aloisio (Right) Niko Romito

Instagram@mauro_aloisio

With a charm completely different from Niko Romito’s three-Michelin-starred restaurant Reale, each Il Ristorante – Niko Romito opens a new gateway to the world of Italian cuisine, showcasing the unique flavors of different regions. Every dish, though seemingly simple, combines the most exquisite culinary techniques, presenting an aesthetic of minimalism.

In Milan, Niko Romito’s Cotoletta alla Milanese filled me with delight. But what truly captivated me was a plate of classic Spaghetti e Pomodoro. Tomatoes are dried in the oven, made into a rich and concentrated tomato sauce that perfectly melds with the pasta, and each bite leaves me with a deep, lingering sweet and sour sensation. The King Crab with Krystal Caviar and Potato, along with Sliced Wagyu Beef Filet with Rosemary, also were satisfying. And for dessert, the Ricotta Cheese lce Cream and Amarena Cherries, drizzled with “tradizionale” balsamic vinegar certified by the Modena, took me on a subtle yet luxurious gustatory journey.

Spaghetti e pomodoro/ King crab with Krystal caviar and potato/ Sliced wagyu beef filet with rosemary/Balsamic vinegar by ACETAIA DEL CRISTO/ Ricotta cheese lce cream, balsamic vinegar and amarena cherries

Furthermore, every bowl and cup in the restaurant comes from Ginori 1735, a Florentine porcelain brand with a history of three hundred years. These pieces complement Niko Romito’s minimalist cuisine like Italian paintings unfolding before your eyes.

The iconic Bulgari Bar located on the 45th floor is also worth mentioning. The main wall behind the bar counter features custom-made glass mosaics by the Italian brand Bisazza, depicting an Italian garden scene. The bar’s flooring uses terrazzo, a type of ancient Venetian palace flooring, extending the ambiance of an Italian garden indoors and outdoors with enduring and classic Italian craftsmanship. The bar also has two half-covered outdoor terraces, offering expansive views of the Tokyo skyline, and on clear days, Mount Fuji can be seen.

At Bulgari Hotel, there is no need to rush to crowded observation decks like the Skytree. On the terrace outside the bar, you can enjoy equally breathtaking views while sipping a classic Negroni by the bar manager, Andrea Minarelli. Comfortably and elegantly, you can relish the best of Tokyo in Bulgari’s understated yet radiant environment.

Bar Manager Andrea Minarelli

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Bulgari Hotel Tokyo、Instagram@mauro_aloisio、Katherine Gu

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Dining Above the Clouds: AlpiNN Champions Sustainability

An advocate of sustainable business for many years, three-starred Italian chef Norbert Niederkofler has been living his Cook the Mountain...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】天际线下的意式风华:璀璨交织的东京宝格丽酒店

1972 年,意大利珠宝品牌宝格丽制作一组以富士山与松树为图样的胸针,似乎注定与日本的缘分。今年四月,在樱花盛开之际,东京宝格丽酒店开幕。伫立在百年历史的东京车站后方一座现代化摩天大楼中,俯瞰日本城市街景与远方富士山。酒店不只带来意大利工艺,也巧妙结合日本美学元素,低调内敛的散发闪闪金光。加上意大利三星主厨Niko Romito的料理,让人沉浸在璀璨时光中,不用走出酒店,就能享尽东京最美好的一切。

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip YouTube

宝格丽酒店开幕,是疫情之后东京的最大亮点,不但是日本第一家宝格丽酒店,也是宝格丽酒店在全球布局的第八个据点。酒店位于八重洲二丁目北区新建成的复合式商业大楼的40~45楼,距离百年历史的东京车站非常近,从远处看,红砖式的东京车站与后方的玻璃帷幕大楼似乎有些违和,但是宝格丽酒店将日本传统文化美学融合的一点都不冲突。也正在这个时候我再度拜访东京。

与全球宝格丽酒店一样,室内设计委托给意大利建筑和室内设计事务所ACPV ARCHITECTS Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel,走进酒店仿佛进入宝格丽珠宝那低调内敛,实际上又极度奢华的艺术工艺中。

沐浴在黑、棕、橘、金的大地奢华色调中,酒店将意大利富有流线又简约的设计风格与日本传统艺术元素相结合。如迎宾走廊的双开门面上印的是日本传统三层连续型波纹纹像,这种日本艺术中的传统纹样也出现在酒店内许多主要墙面上,进门后的地板中央,印有代表宝格丽的八芒星图样。而70年代宝格丽设计的日本富士山图形胸针,也成为酒店标志,在房卡封套与酒吧菜单封面上都可见到宝格丽当年以珠宝刻画的富士山姿态。

宝格丽酒店有98间客房,其中400坪大的套房据称是东京市区内空间最宽敞的客房。酒店内除了星级寿司餐厅的入驻外,还有跟随宝格丽酒店在全球大放异彩的Niko Romito意大利餐厅。

Il Ristorante – Niko Romito位于40楼,狭长形空间让每一桌客人都能饱览东京的天地景色。餐厅色调延续酒店风格,将日意美学融合得淋漓尽致,藏红花色墙面与棕橘色系、香槟金的布品与家具,展现传统日本木制寺庙门窗概念的木制弧形天花板,屋顶上吊着穆拉诺岛手工吹制的玻璃灯,以及有日本艺术风采的金色网状柱面,整体低调内敛与说不尽的奢华。

Niko Romito的意大利料理就像时尚界的小黑裙,简约而又经典。他那修道士般的专注,好似意式料理界的「极简主义」艺术家。而说到常驻主厨Mauro Aloisio,对我们来说一点也不陌生,他原本是上海Niko Romito的驻店主厨。他曾在瑞士的圣莫里茨闯荡五载,后来又到米兰,在那里的宝格丽、Armani/Nobu以及Park Hyatt的VUN米其林餐厅留下了他的烹饪印迹,为期长达8年。此外,他也曾任职于日内瓦的四季酒店。在来到上海点亮星星之前,他更是拜访了Niko Romito的Abruzzo Accademia,去深究那现代意式料理背后的哲学与愿景。

(左) Mauro Aloisio (右) Niko Romito

Instagram@mauro_aloisio

跟Niko Romito的三星餐厅Reale有着截然不同的魅力,每一家Il Ristorante – Niko Romito都象是为你打开了一个意大利美食的新世界大门,展现不同大区的独特风味。每道菜品,虽然看似简单,但都融汇了最精湛的烹饪技巧,呈现出极简的美学。

在米兰,Niko Romitio的炸厚切小牛排(Cotoletta alla Milanese)让我欢欣鼓舞。但真正打动我的,是那盘经典的番茄意大利面。采用特殊技法在烤箱中让西红柿干燥,从而创造出一个丰富而集中的番茄酱,这酱汁完美地与面条结合,每一口都带给我深沉的酸甜余韵。帝王蟹配上Krystal鱼子酱的马铃薯,以及切片的和牛菲力,也没有让我失望。而最后的甜点,Amarena樱桃与ricotta起士冰淇淋,淋上由Modena工会认证的「tradizionale」传统红酒醋,是一场低调而奢华的味觉之旅。

此外,餐厅里的每一个碗盘、杯子,都来自有着三百年悠久历史的佛罗伦萨瓷器品牌Ginori 1735。与Niko Romito的极简料理相互映衬,宛如你眼前展开的一幅幅意大利的画卷。

番茄意大利面

帝王蟹配Krystal鱼子酱马铃薯

迷迭香切片和牛菲力

巴萨米克醋、Amarena樱桃与Ricotta芝士冰淇淋

位于45楼的宝格丽酒吧也值得一提,吧台后方主墙面上是意大利品牌Bisazza 定制的玻璃马赛克,呈现意大利花园场景,酒吧的地板采用威尼斯古老宫殿使用的水磨石,以经过耐久考验且经典的意大利工艺技术,将意大利式花园气氛延伸到室内外。酒吧外带有两个半露天露台,视野辽阔,可以远眺东京天际线,晴空万里时可以看见富士山。

在宝格丽酒店,不必匆忙地赶去晴空塔等满是观光客的展望台,在酒吧外的露台就可以欣赏到同样壮观的景色,还可以在宝格丽低调内敛又金光灿灿的环境中,跟酒吧经理Andrea Minarelli点杯经典Negroni,舒适优雅的欣赏最美好的东京。

位于45楼的宝格丽酒吧

酒吧经理Andrea Minarelli

文字: Jocelyn 华姐
图片: Bulgari Hotel Tokyo、Instagram@mauro_aloisio、Katherine Gu
分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 268

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:台湾地区新增两家三星;东京Florilège即将重新开幕

意名厨Niko Romito美食快餐店进...

关闭