Generic selectors
    Exact Matches
    Search in title
    Search in content
    Post Type Selectors

    Michelin two-starred Chef Riccardo La Perna heads for Macau

    Author: Jocelyn Chen

    The Macau outpost of the one-Michelin-starred 8½ Otto e Mezzo BOMBANA has retained its award-winning establishment since 2016. The group’s Shanghai location, on the other hand, with Riccardo La Perna at the helm, received two stars from the Shanghai Michelin Guide on its first entry. Needless to say, Chef Riccardo La Perna is one of the top Italian chefs for me.

    With two Michelin stars under his belt, Riccardo has decided to join 8½ Otto e Mezzo BOMBANA Macau after years of experience in Shanghai. He shared that after almost 10 years in Shanghai, it was time to make a change and take on new challenges. At this time, BOMBANA Macau needed a new executive chef and the Shanghai venue was on the right track with a talented professional team. He felt it’s perfect timing to seek out new possibilities.

    Writer Jocelyn Chen and Executive Chef Riccardo La Perna

    Five years have passed since I last wrote about BOMBANA. Riccardo and I have known each other for many years and I have always admired him, not only for his talent and skills, but also for his heartwarming personality, like the gentle Sicilian sun that shines upon everyone around him. I have visited Otto e Mezzo Shanghai regularly since its opening. The sous chef used to joke with me, saying that “Chef will kill you by food” when I was dining there. With the chef’s great hospitality, I remember being well fed by the restaurant creative cooking and refined delicacies.

    Not only does he genuinely care about the quality of the food and the dining experience, but he is also often able to pinpoint problems in the structure of the dishes during discussion. He promotes traditional Italian cuisine made of simple flavours, high-quality ingredients and characterized by a great sense of authenticity. He masters the minimalist expression of perfect complexity while presenting the flavours of the ingredients at their best. He does not go with the flow but sticks to his belief that good food is the way to go.

    Going to Macau and supervising Otto e Mezzo is a big change in life, but Riccardo shared that he is ready to take on any rising challenges. Unlike the megacity Shanghai’s fast-paced lifestyle, Macau is a cosy, small city with a lot of exciting things to do. There are still some regular customers from Shanghai who would come to Macau for him.

    Starters/ Olive Oil from Toscana and Sicily/ Mozzarella Mousse

    In terms of the range of ingredients available, Macau is like the Disneyland for chefs. Here, it’s much simpler to source Italian, French and Spanish produce, as well as some of the best ingredients from China. Seems to be a case of getting the cake and having it all? Apart from long-term good relationships with suppliers in Shanghai, Chef La Perna sources seafood from Japan, France, Italy, and Northern Europe by a smaller proportion thanks to the longer food seasonality in Macau. BOMBANA Macau features a menu that changes on a daily basis, which is made possible through the greater variety of suppliers and ingredients.

    When asked about what the top priority is in redesigning the menu, Chef La Perna said it was to make his diners feel satisfied experiencing BOMBANA’s time-honoured philosophy and his creative dishes while offering authentic Italian cuisine. Other things are relatively simple, given the wider choice of ingredients in Macau, hence more competitive price-wise compared to the Shanghai restaurant.

    Tuna

    Hailing from Sicily, Chef La Perna comes with a treasure trove of particularly outstanding seafood dishes. The Japanese red tuna with beluga caviar, and the seared scallop with black truffles and artichokes emulsion kicked off an excellent start. The lasagne was very impressive, which was made with firm, chewy vegetable pasta sheet richly layered with steamed scampi, chanterelles, scampi sauce and fresh herbs. A dish full of crisp, refreshing and umami flavours.

    Scallop/ Lasagna

    The cavatelli with sea urchin and blue lobster uses homemade cavatelli cooked in a seafood and shellfish broth which depends on what arrives that day. One of his masterpieces from Shanghai, the dish allows you to enjoy the familiar taste of the sea brought to life. The essence of the dish I believe, since I first tried it, has been the fish stock jelly, which is so delicious that it would be a lifelong heartache not to have tasted it. The main course—charred prime lamb rib with eggplant and mint jus—boasts timeless flavours and a touch of Sicilian red wine sauce, a way Chef La Perna expresses his hometown nostalgia.

    Cavatelli/ Te Mana Lamb

    Chef La Perna’s cooking adheres to minimalism, using subtraction to bring out the best in the ingredients, just as his favourite Japanese cuisine. One of the keys to increase complexity is the stock, as in the case of the black truffle tagliatelle cooked in a vegetable stock, adding complexity and subtlety to the overall flavour portfolio. With all these years searching for best flavours around the world, I would like to think that Chef La Perna makes the best version of white truffle pasta and I just LOVE the way he shaves truffles.

    Tagliatelle

    Strictly speaking, Chef La Perna has redefined food with sophistication and soulfulness, and he crafts truly touching flavours that can evoke the purest feelings from the heart. I have visited most of the three Michelin-starred restaurants in Italy, but often Chef La Perna’s dishes come to my mind. His cooking is a heart-soothing magic.

    Talking about the difficulties of joining a new restaurant, he said that the first thing to do is getting to know everyone in the kitchen and finding the right spot for each of them. Although it’s only been a month and a half since the reopening, he felt the whole team had been working together for a long time. “There’s a lot of pressure, but we’re working as a team,” he said.

    Lemoncello Sgroppino/Black Truffle Gelato

    BOMBANA Macau is equipped with an enviable team: General Manager Marino Braccu, the former General Manager of BOMBANA Hong Kong; Nancy Wang, one of the best managers from Shanghai’s fine dining scene; Weekie Lee, the former dessert chef at L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon in Shanghai.

    General Manager: Marino Braccu/ Restaurant Manager: Nancy Wang

    Chef La Perna’s BOMBANA Shanghai has always been an irreplaceable restaurant in my mind. It was great to see him in Macau and so many familiar faces working alongside him. Led by such a strong team and driven by Chef La Perna’s enthusiasm and passion for Sicilian food, 8½ Otto e Mezzo BOMBANA Macau is bound to collect more stars from the Michelin Guide. I’m told the restaurant has been fully booked for two months ahead since reopening and is undoubtedly the best Italian restaurant in Macau.Looking forward to seeing Chef La Perna usher in another career peak in Macau.

    -END-

    Author:Jocelyn Chen
    Photo:Emily Yang
    (Visited 122 times, 1 visits today)
    Read previous post:
    Still Waters Run Deep: Chef Xu Jingye and Lingnan Culture

    The restaurant came to Shanghai last summer and has undergone two renovations in between, but I have already tried its...

    Close

【Jocelyn专栏】二星主厨Riccardo La Perna前进澳门,重温让人拭泪的美味

作者:陈庆华 Jocelyn Chen

澳门的8½ Otto e Mezzo BOMBANA从2016年开始坐稳米其林一星之列,但一直未能再上层楼,而Riccardo La Perna掌厨的上海店,第一次入榜就在上海米其林榜上拿到两星,Riccardo在我心中也确实是最顶尖的意大利主厨之一。

在上海发展多年后,这次二星主厨Riccardo来到澳门,想必能让澳门8½ Otto e Mezzo BOMBANA多挂几颗星星。他告诉我在上海待了近10年后,觉得是时间做出改变,迎接新的挑战。正好澳门BOMBANA需要新的主厨,而上海BOMBANA已步入正轨,也有非常优秀的员工,他可以去寻找新的机会和挑战。

作者Jocelyn Chen和行政主厨Riccardo La Perna

距离我上次写BOMBANA相关文章已经是2017年。Riccardo与我认识多年,与我有深交,我一直很欣赏他,除了他的天份,还有他那一颗如西西里岛艳阳一般的热情之心,时常温暖身边的每一个人。以前去吃饭的时候,副厨总打趣地跟我说,“Chef will kill you by food”,这句话完全体现在他身上。上海BOMBANA开幕第一年,我就经常造访,主厨慷慨激昂的真性情以及热情的喂食,常常让我饱到登天。

他不只发自内心真诚地关心客人吃得好不好,也非常有天份,跟他讨论一些厨师菜品,常常能够一针见血的指出菜品结构问题。他自己的菜则非常轻盈,表面看来不复杂,但实际上入口却是另外回事,食材原味发挥极致,是完美复杂度下最极简的表现。他不随波逐流,坚持自己的信念,坚持好吃才是王道。现在来到澳门掌管BOMBANA是人生中很大一个变化。他对来到澳门这件事也很开心,乐于迎接挑战。聊到生活方式的改变,他说澳门是小而舒适的城市,不同于上海。现在还会有一些上海的老顾客会来澳门光顾BOMBANA,他以开放心态观察澳门的优点,对比上海的快节奏,生活更放松和安逸。

依次:开胃菜/来自托斯卡纳和西西里的橄榄油/马苏里拉芝士慕斯

澳门食材比上海有更多选择,澳门对厨师来说就像是迪士尼乐园。对西餐厨师,这里能简单地进到意大利、法国、西班牙的农产品,当然也能进到中国内地的优秀食材,根本是鱼与熊掌都可兼得。他很兴奋在澳门可以得到全世界的优秀食材,非常幸运。他过去在上海,长时间和供应商保持了良好的关系。他说整体而言他得到的是更长的时令。而海鲜渠道主要来自三个地方:日本、法国、意大利,少部分来自北欧。光看澳门BOMBANA的菜单就知道,或许是食材的供应商更多,品项更丰富,让其菜品可以天天都有变化。

问到主厨Riccardo在重新设计澳门店菜单的首要任务,他说就是让食客满意,并且让他们体验BOMBANA一以贯之的哲学和他自己的创意。餐厅必须提供地道的意大利美食,这些是最重要的。其它相对简单,他提到说这里有更多食材选择,相比于内地的价格,这里更具竞争力。

蓝鳍金枪鱼

Riccardo是西西里岛人,他的海鲜料理自然表现的特别出色,前菜日本蓝鳍金枪鱼搭配鱼子酱,黑松露嫩煎扇貝搭配洋薊汁就已经足够优秀。这次让我印象深刻的是他的开放千层面,使用蔬菜汁的绿色面皮,里面有蒸鳌虾,配上鸡油菌、鳌虾酱汁和香草。味道爽口非常鲜甜甘美,面皮恰到好处有劲道。

扇贝/Lasagna

海鲜猫耳朵面搭配海胆与蓝龙虾,海鲜则视当天到货的海产而定,自制猫耳朵在海鲜汤里煮过,拥抱整个海洋的味道。这道料理是他在上海的成名作,我当时就称,其中海鲜猫耳朵的精华是鱼汤冻,鲜美至极,若没吃过真会是一辈子遗憾。而主菜碳烤小羊排搭配茄子以及薄荷经典而隽永,酱汁悄悄地加入来自他故乡西西里岛的红酒,也是属于他的乡愁吧!

海鲜猫耳朵面/烤羊肉

Riccardo的烹饪原则就是极简,善于使用减法,有如他喜爱的日本料理一样,展现食材本身最好的面貌。而提升料理复杂度的关键其一在于高汤,如黑松露意面也是使用蔬菜高汤煮过,味觉上的复杂度更高,也让整体味道更细致、鲜美。走遍世界,我心目中第一名的白松露意面也属他做得最好,而他刨松露的魄力无人能及。

Tagliatelle

严格来说他是高级版、精细化的灵魂料理,妈妈的味道能唤起心中那份最单纯的感动。简言之,他的料理能够打动人心,说是感动到让人拭泪也不夸张,我拜访过意大利大部分的米其林三星餐厅,很多时候还是会想到Riccardo,他的菜就是有抚慰人心的魔力。

与他聊到重新开始一家餐厅的困难,他说刚开始要开始熟悉彼此,找到对的感觉,找到每个人在厨房中的适合位置,每天了解多一点。虽然重新开业才一个半月,但他感觉整个团队已经一起工作了很久。“我们有很多压力,不过也非常努力。”他说。

Lemoncello Sgroppino/Black Truffle Gelato 黑松露雪糕

澳门BOMBANA有令人羡慕的团队,香港总店的前总经理Marino Braccu他目前是澳门店的总经理,上海Fine Dining圈最优秀的经理人之一Nancy Wang、前上海L’atelier de Joël Robuchon甜品主厨Weekie Lee等,简直是美食圈的复仇者联盟。

总经理:Marino Braccu/餐厅经理:Nancy Wang

上海8½ Otto e Mezzo BOMBANA在他的掌厨下一直在我心中是无可取代的餐厅,这次很开心能在澳门见到他,以及看见许多熟面孔与他并肩作战。这样优良的团队,以及在他爽朗与热情的西西里风格带领下,相信澳门8½ Otto e Mezzo BOMBANA能摘下更多的星星,听说重新开幕两个月内订位已满了,毫无悬念是澳门最佳的意大利餐厅。也期待Chef Riccardo迎来他事业上的另一个高峰。

-END-

作者:陈庆华 Jocelyn Chen
摄影:Emily Yang
分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 156

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:庄司夏子荣获2022年亚洲最佳女厨师;2022英国爱尔兰米其林指南出炉

日本东京庄司夏子荣获2022年度亚洲最佳...

关闭