Bringing Childhood Memories Back: At-home Dinner Party by FIRE.

At-home dinner parties are part of my childhood memories. There would be two or three tables at home. Sometimes it would be my mother’s signature dishes that made her busy all around. Sometimes it would be catering. My father would be shuttling between relatives and friends with drinks in their hands. Even though my father has left the world many years ago, that image is still deeply rooted in my heart. Interacting on the dinner table somehow became my guide to start my adult life. However, the time and strength consuming at-home dinner parties gradually receded when seeking the world’s top cuisine became a profession. This time I was invited to an at-home dinner party in Taipei. It not only amazed me by the depth of the food, but also deeply touched me with the friendship conveyed by the food.

Home is a person’s most private place. To invite a person to dine at one’s home, equals letting him into one’s heart. It is real hospitality that’s built on the foundation of trust. The invited person must be a true friend of the homeowner. My parents’ are businessmen, so I have been used to entertaining guests at home since I was a child. I still have the impression that the guests are all mellow and tipsy by the end. As a child, it was a love-and-hate thing. I love the atmosphere, but when it’s too late for me, it seems too loud. No matter what, the at-home dinner parties carried. When my father was still with us, that was our life.

James and Maggie, Owners of Fika Fika Cafe

After I moved to Shanghai, I lived in a compound with a nice environment. Meeting friends through food became a way for me to make new friends. There were many foreign neighbors in Shanghai, so some Chinese dishes that don’t require complicated skills are good enough. That’s how I gradually established my life circle in Shanghai.

However, in recent years, at-home dinner parties have become less popular in Asia, which may be due to the fact that urban households are getting smaller and smaller, and people tend to dine out more and more often. I have always liked to entertain guests at home, but since I took “being a gourmet” as a my career, my life and work are inseparable from food. In addition, I have a higher standard for home banquets and an obsessive-compulsive personality and all that makes me not feel like entertaining guests at will.

My emotions were all brought back by the at-home dinner party held by the owner of Fika Fika Cafe in Taipei, James in mid-October. I received the invitation a month before the banquet, and I was told about the location only few days before. I called the host after arriving at an inconspicuous factory in Nangang, then the iron rolling door slowly opened, and the host’s figure slowly emerged. There is some mysterious fun in the whole thing.

There is an open kitchen in the roasting factory and a seat for six people in front of the board. In addition to the couple, James and Maggie, there is also a helper. The highlight of the kitchen is Josper, an oven imported from Spain. It uses charcoal fire and the temperature can be as high as three or four hundred degrees. There is absolutely no smoke in the restaurant. The price of this oven is USD 19,400, and it usually only appears in restaurants. It shows the owner’s attention to food and the familiarity with fire. Almost all the dishes in the dinner are delicious. I secretly put Josper on my wish list.

@fikafikajames_instagram

Every guest has a menu of James’s family dinner, but in advance they can’t understand what kind of dishes will be served by the text alone. After tasting, each and every dish is wonderful. The appetizers alone are amazing. The first one, grapefruit nine-hole abalone, has absorbed the flavor fully and is still soft and tender. The fresh and sweet taste comes with a refreshing grapefruit fragrance. The second one, Taiwanese Ceviche is made with Hokkaido scallops, mixed with hornet orange and fermented bird hot peppers. The sincerity of the owner can be seen by how delicate and precious the ingredients are. The Middle East roasted red pepper sauce is also very authentic. The red pepper skin is charred and then torn away before pureed. I always look forward to it when I have a chance to transfer in Dubai. James made it even better with his fine skill. Muhammara on the charcoal-grilled baguette makes the whole experience even more charming.

Taiwanese Ceviche/Muhammara

The main course is even more amazing: neritic squid grilled with the caviar yogurt sauce. The squid is extremely fresh. The tentacles and the body are grilled separately. The doneness is perfectly presented by how fast the grilling is. It comes with caviar and yogurt sauce with salmon roe, while the tentacles are grilled crispy! The grilled fish is a fresh rosy seabass that is delivered directly from port by a familiar fishing boat. The whole flavor of the ocean is sealed with a special grilled fish mold from Basque Countries, Spain.

Neritic Squid Grilled with the Caviar Yogurt Sauce/
Grilled Rosy Seabass

Upcoming is the astonishing roast of seasonal vegetables. Zucchini, tomatoes, potatoes and pearl onions are as crystal clear as jewels. The colorful fresh vegetables with charcoal fragrance makes it impossible to stop. The loofah grilled aside is so sweet that it seems unreal. This will be branded in memory. The steak is also one of a kind. The charcoal-grilled Wagyu sirloin has perfect doneness. The owner grills the sirloin, which holds less fat, crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. The steak is full of juice and aroma. Every time a dish is served, all guests exclaim again and again, as it never stops getting better and better.

Roast of Seasonal Vegetables/Grilled Loofah/Charcoal-grilled Wagyu Sirloin

James’s cooking skills will certainly make many restaurant chefs ashamed. In fact, his “non-business” staff meals have long been well-known in the industry. This is a family banquet that can’t be asked for. It’s like a table of power. You can’t just make a reservation and take a seat. Only those who are invited get to enjoy it. It’s so worth an article to show it off.

“Non-business”Makanai(Staff Meal)@fikafikajames_instagram

When it gets back to the essence of at-home dinner parties, it’s still about the host’s willingness to open his heart. The guests can get to know the host better, so the host and the guests can all have a good time over food. Maggie and James’ family banquet is not only delicious, but also delicate. For example, the day when I went to the banquet was just after my birthday, when the host brought a birthday cake to celebrate my belated birthday after the meal, I was deeply moved. Their kindness of treating me as a close friend, made me become a tipsy adult just like one of those in my childhood memory.

-END-

Author:Jocelyn 华姐

Photo:Jocelyn 华姐/instagram

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 191

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
INITA Taipei: Italian Cuisine Infused with Osaka Comedy

Kuni San’s appetite for cooking increased after he watched a Japanese cooking show when he was young and he has...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】勾起儿时回忆,以火会友的家宴

家宴是儿时记忆一部分,在家摆上两三桌,有时由母亲烧得一手好菜,忙里忙外,或叫外烩,而父亲则穿梭于亲友之间杯觥交错,即便父亲已经过世多年,那景象仍深植我心,以食会友似乎成为成年后的我展开人生路途的指引。然而当求全世界顶级美食成为职业后,耗时费力的家宴逐渐退去,但这次在台北受邀的一场家宴,那美食的深度不仅让我惊叹,也再次被以食传达的友谊之情深深感动。

家是一个人最私密之处,而邀请一个人到家里吃饭,等于是接纳其进入心房,是真正的款待,建立于信任的基础,受邀的是主人真正的朋友。因为父母做生意的关系,我从小就习惯家中宴客,宾客最后各个酒酣耳热的印象还在,对小孩子而言则是又爱又恨,一方面喜欢那热闹,晚了就嫌吵,无论如何,家宴如常,父亲还在世时,那是我们的生活。

Fika Fika Cafe主理人夫妇James和Maggie

到上海工作后,入住的社区环境很舒服,以食会友也成为我结交朋友的门路,且外籍邻居居多,只要一些雕虫小技的中菜足以逐渐在上海建立生活圈。

然而近几年在亚洲家宴风气渐淡,可能是都市住家面积愈来愈小,又趋向外食之故。我本来就是喜欢在家中请客的人,但自从成为美食工作者后,生活工作都离不开美食,加上对宴请的标准更高与强迫症个性,不愿意随意宴客。

十月中参加台北Fika Fika Cafe老板James的家宴,又勾起我对家宴的情感。赴宴前一个月收到邀情,几天前才得知地点,当天到了南港一处不起眼的厂房后通知主人,不一会眼前铁卷门缓缓拉起,主人身影跟着缓缓浮现,整个过程有一些神秘的趣味。

烘豆厂中有一个开放式厨房,以及一个板前六人座位,除了James与Maggie夫妻之外,还有一位帮手,厨房重头戏当数西班牙进口的炉灶Josper,使用炭火,温度可高达三四百度,餐厅完全没有烟味。这套烤炉要价人民币139,000元,通常只会出现在餐厅里,足见主人对美食的讲究,加上与火之间的熟悉,席间几乎所有菜色都美味至极,内心里暗暗将Josper列入梦想清单。

@fikafikajames_instagram

James家宴宾客人手一张菜单,但事先光凭文字不会理解端出什么样的菜色,实际品尝后却道道精彩,光是前菜就让人惊艳,如第一道柚子九孔鲍鱼,鲍鱼入味又软嫩,鲜甜带有柚香的清爽。第二道台式Ceviche是使用北海道大干贝,拌上马蜂橙与发酵鸡心辣椒,光是食材不惜重本就可看见主人的诚意。中东烤红椒酱(Muhammara)也非常道地,红椒外皮烤焦后撕掉打成泥制成,我在迪拜转机总是期待,James的手艺更胜一筹,搭配的炭烤法棍更是迷人。

台式Ceviche/中东烤红椒酱

鱼子优格酱烤透抽,透抽新鲜至极,脚与身体分开烤,炭烤速度快,能保有完美的熟度,搭配鱼子粉与含有鲑鱼卵的优格酱汁,而脚的部分烤的酥脆!烤鱼是使用一大早熟识的渔船订购上岸后直送的新鲜红喉,使用巴斯克地区专门的烤鱼模具,封锁海鲜的原汁原味。

鱼子优格酱烤透抽/巴斯克烤鱼

接下来的烤当季蔬菜让人惊艳,节瓜,西红柿,马铃薯以及小洋葱,简直如珠宝般晶莹剔透,色彩缤纷的新鲜蔬菜带着炭香,让人不经意一口接一口。而另外火炭烤的丝瓜,甜美的不真实,让人烙印在记忆中。牛排也是一绝,炭烤和牛沙朗有完美的熟度,主人将脂肪少的沙朗部位烤的外焦内嫩,肉汁饱满,香气满溢。每次出菜都让人惊呼连连,正所谓高潮迭起。

烤当季蔬菜/炭烤丝瓜/炭烤和牛沙朗

James的厨艺必定会让许多餐厅主厨汗颜,其实他“不务正业”员工餐早就在业界知名。这是一场可遇不可求的家宴,简直如同权力的餐桌,不是订位就可以入座,只有受邀的人才有福一尝,值得书写一番加以炫耀。

“不务正业”员工餐@fikafikajames_instagram

但回归家宴的本质,仍在于主人愿意敞开心房,让客人也可更认识主人,透过美食达到宾主尽欢的效果。而James与Maggie的家宴不只有美食,对待家宴的细节处也做的面面俱到,如我赴宴当天生日刚过,饭后主人还端出生日蛋糕替我庆生,让我深深为之感动,待我如挚友的用心,让当晚的我也如儿时记忆中那酩酊大醉的大人。

-END-

文字:Jocelyn 华姐

图片:Jocelyn 华姐/instagram

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 191

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:泰国米其林新增5家一星;西班牙新增2家三星

2022拉丁美洲50佳榜单公布 Cent...

关闭