【Bologna】Amerigo1934: Time is Everything

Located in the heart of Emilian Appennines, Trattoria da Amerigo was opened in 1934 in the fertile Samoggia Valley, perched in the middle of the Modena and Bologna hillsides. Half an hour’s drive from the center of Bologna, the restaurant serves dishes that remain rustic but are characterised by refined techniques and an elegant master of time. It has always respected tradition and has been one of the few members of the Premiate Trattorie Italiane.

I’ve visited many delicious restaurants with a Michelin recommendation, which is already a sign of quality and almost a guarantee for good food, but Amerigo is a true and veritable Michelin one star. Unlike many other trattorias, we started with a simple and tasty vegetable omelette, which instantly tamed my hungry stomach. Within just a few minutes after we sat down, the restaurant was already a full house.

@amerigo_instagram/Omelet

We opted for a simple four-course menu with a few additions. The appetizer platter was a stunner, including the roasted polenta with local pork lard, tigelle flatbread served with parmigiano ice cream and traditional balsamic vinegar, together with some crisp, pickled fresh vegetables. There were cold plates as well as warm plates, all traditional flavours, deceptively simple but handled with great pace.

Next up was al dente tortelli filled with Parmigiano Reggiano cheese served with local Mora prosciutto cooked in wood oven, as aromatic as it was enticing.

Amerigo’s tagliatelle with meat ragu became my favourite version. On the menu “100% Bolognese” was highlighted, and because the pasta was freshly made, it takes a few short minutes to reach al dente and moist despite being relatively thin. It was the first time I tried the traditional way of eating it – dipping with salted onion and ragu sauce – kind of like when we eat grilled sausages with garlic. Refreshing and a perfect match! I have tried different versions of this dish at other famous restaurants but Amerigo’s version was the one I would miss the most. Let’s say it’s another kind of obsession.

For the main course we shared the fried squash blossoms with zucchini and pomodoro, a vegetable-based dish completement by a hint of meaty flavours and a succulent, savoury blast. Each dish here emphasises the authenticity of the recipe and is a tribute to the land where the ingredients are grown. Commitment to quality ingredients is a must – the cheese must have been aged for a minimum of 36 months to appear on Amerigo’s table.

the appetizer platter/tagliatelle with meat ragu

Even the milk & cream gelato was topped with balsamic vinegar(Aceto Balsamico Tradizionale di Modena D.O.P.). My other half ordered the traditional egg gelato, so rich and creamy that he couldn’t stop raving about.

However, the town is super small and you can literally finish the tour in eight minutes, so come for lunch if you are not planning on staying the night. But if you do, Locanda Amerigo offers a convenient and elegant stay in its renovated rooms with unique retro touches – even if you don’t love it, you do not want to miss their famous breakfast the next day.

Third-generation restaurant that honours time and tradition

The cuisine champions tradition and is characterised by the simplicity and authenticity of its ingredients. In addition to using finest local produce, Amerigo adopts a menu that focuses on what various seasons have to offer – a good proportion of dishes change from season to season. Over the years, the restaurant has gained an international reputation for the flavours and aromas of its fresh mushroom and truffle dishes.

The third-generation owner Alberto Bettini carries on his philosophy with sustainable production and homegrown ingredients, together with truffles, mushrooms and game from the Apennine forests, constituting the backbone of the restaurant’s menu. Flavours are rediscovered in new “old recipes”, in a fine balance between rusticity and elegance.

Amerigo has, since 1934, been one of the most important gastronomic points of reference for the valley. With only a 20-minute drive from Bologna, Amerigo 1934 is well worth a visit if you are looking for Michelin-standard craftsmanship.

Amerigo’s owner Alberto Bettini@amerigo_instagram

-END-

Article/Photo: Jocelyn 华姐

Share your love
Default image
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 176

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Classic trattorias near Milan that are worth a stop

In Italy, apart from Michelin-starred restaurants, there are also old-fashioned yet popular restaurants that locals love to visit, though they...

Close

【博洛尼亚】Amerigo1934:时间是一切

1934年开业的博洛尼亚传统菜Amerigo,位于艾米利亚亚平宁山脉中心地带,位于摩德纳和博洛尼亚山坡中部肥沃的萨莫贾山谷中,距离博洛尼亚市中心半个小时车程。看似粗矿,实则细致,时间的控制很微妙,是意大利少数几家最讲究传统餐厅联盟Premiate Trattorie Italiane的成员之一。

我拜访过的许多美味讲究的小馆子大多都是米其林推荐,但是拿到星的还是少数,Amerigo就是少数的一星店。不同于大多的小馆子,Amerigo一开始便递上了简单美味的蔬菜蛋饼(Omelet),让饥肠辘辘的我顿时平衡了血糖,入座没有几刻,餐厅便已经座无虚席。

@amerigo_instagram/蔬菜蛋饼Omelet

我们选择了简单的四道菜单,另外再加点菜品,前菜拼盘就让人惊艳,烤玉米糊(Polenta)铺上本地猪的Lardo(猪油)和传统Tigellet扁面包配Parmigiano冰淇淋和传统香醋,搭配爽口的腌制新鲜蔬菜,都是老味道,前菜有冷有热,看似简单却要注意速度。

接下来起司饺也不在话下,意大利饺包入Parmigiano Reggiano起司馅搭配经过木炉烹煮的本地Mora火腿,柴火的香气饱满,Tortelli充满嚼劲,让人食指大动。

品尝过最喜爱的肉酱意面版本,菜单上还特别强调100%(tagliatelle:100% bolognese)。新鲜的面体依旧湿度饱满,虽然面体较薄,但依旧充满嚼劲,看得出捞起速度有多快。也是第一次体验他们所谓的传统吃法,拿着沾盐小洋葱,跟肉酱面,交错品尝,约莫就是我们吃烤香肠加大蒜的意思,如此更加解腻开胃。之后再食其他名店的肉酱面却独独怀念Amerigo的版本,需要一些强迫症才能理解的执着。

主菜我们分享了烤节瓜(花)以及经典的番茄肉馅,以蔬菜为主、肉类为辅的佳肴,整体菜品鲜甜美味。每一道菜都强调正宗做法以及取材于本地产区,还有食材的陈年Cheese必须达到36个月。

前菜拼盘/肉酱意面

连最后的传统牛奶冰淇淋上面使用的也是传统酿造的老醋(Aceto Balsamico Tradizionale di Modena D.O.P.),另一半选择了怀旧的蛋黄冰淇淋,他也是赞不绝口。

不过小镇超级迷你,大约8分钟就可以看完,适合中午用餐。如果待在餐厅的旅店过夜,房间走仿旧风,可能不是人人爱,隔天还可以享受他们知名的早餐。

「出菜速度讲究,又沉淀的三代的餐厅,时间是一切」

菜肴尊重传统,成分的简单性和真实性。除了使用最好的当地食材之外,Amerigo还关注季节,以当令食材为主,相当比例的菜品会随着季节的变化而变化。多年来该餐厅以新鲜蘑菇和松露菜肴的风味声名远播。

第三代主理人Alberto Bettini透过可持续的生产、种植的食材来支持他的理念,这些与来自亚平宁山脉森林的松露、蘑菇和野味,是餐厅菜单的支柱。在新的“旧食谱”中重新发现,在质朴和优雅之间取得平衡。

自1934年开始,Amerigo一直是山谷中最重要的美食据点之一。如果来到波隆那城,只需开车二十分钟,Amerigo绝对是值得专程而去的匠人小馆。

Amerigo主理人Alberto Bettini@amerigo_instagram

-END-

文字/图片:Jocelyn 华姐

分享你的喜爱
默认图片
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 159

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:Netflix纪录片主厨的餐桌回归;2022广州米其林指南发布

Netflix纪录片主厨的餐桌回归;20...

关闭